We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful long weekend with our adopted family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal D' Amour Village
Ranked #3 of 10 Sidari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A wonderful long weekend with our adopted family”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Spent a long weekend in Sidari from 7th to 10th October and again visited our adopted family, the Manessis's for a short relaxing break.

We were given a room in the A Block downstairs with our own little grassed lawn area, perfect when you woke in the morning to sit out with your coffee and look out to Albania....

The Manessis family again, were wonderful and looked after us well.... and we even had Maria the mum cook a beautiful sunday lunch for us all which was perfect.....

Big Spiros was his usual crazy self although he was much more relaxed as the resort was now beginning to close for the season and they were very happy to be finishing for a few months and spending time with their families....

Christos was also his usual happy friendly self and there for the holidaymakers with any queries or problems they had, he was also at the helm at the bar during the day and most evenings too.

The resort at this time of year for me was wonderful, relaxing and quiet and peaceful, this was a first visit for us in October but we thorougly enjoyed being able to spend more time with friends.

We are now booked to return for two weeks in July to enjoy the wonderful hospitality that Christos, Spiros and the rest of the team provide to holidaymakers year upon year.

A wonderful apartment complex with wonderful hospitable people.

Roll on July 2012 unless we can get back sooner xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    43
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
55
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in the pink block of apartments , in a double room which was quite spacious and had basic facilities which didn't matter as we didn't spend much time in the room. The maid service was really good and friendly , and came daily to clean the room which was a bonus! we went at the back end of August when there was a slight heatwave , so Air con was a must even though it was quite pricey. (If you fiddle with the remote you can take it off the timer and make it colder so you really get your moneys worth)
little Spiros ,the manager was really friendly and didn't hold back when it came to introducing himself and making us feel welcome , and big Spiros the waiter/ barman was fab! so friendly and such a brill guy ..good taste in music too haha.
The pool area was clean and there was no rush in the morning to get sun loungers, everything was very laid back which is great if you're feeling a little tender after the night before!
Personally, I found the hotel bar too quiet and chilled as I like to party but the atmosphere was okay if you just want a quiet night.
For the yummiest food I would recommend going to Konaki , a little greek taverna , to get there you turn right just as you head out of the hotel , before the stinky bridge , it is only small but the beef sofrito is to die for! Other great places for food were three little pigs ,greek village (down the main strip ) and cactus jacks do the best chicken skewers!
For breakfast churchills , and seamonkeys provided lovely , value for money full english with great service.
best clubs were sugar bar , calypso, bed bar (great when they do beach parties!) and ice bar (foam party was wicked!!!) (barter with the reps outside though , they can get you drink deals - free shots , free fishbowls etc )
ONE FOR THE ROAD OFFERED GREAT LIVE ACTS/ ACOUSTIC BANDS IF PARTYING ISNT YOUR THING , the staff were a great laugh and may even bring you a fishbowl on the house!
if you see rocketman , dance with him! hes great!
Anyhow , im getting a little carried away now , Great location , fabulous views , varied nightlife , would definatley go again!

the only downside was the mosquitos! take plenty of repellent and eat lots of garlic (preferably tzaki!)

Room Tip: block a , the yellow block is more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked our flights independently and booked our apartment through Travel Republic. Having stayed in the Canal DAmour area before, we knew the location of these apartments. We followed the signs for the pool one day and I liked the look of block B, a pink building and decide that we would stay on our next visit.
We arrived at 1630 and we were greeted by Christos as if we were old friends! We also met Spiros and he was also pleased to see us. I had emailed Spiros with questions before we travelled and he was very helpful and reassuring, so I felt we had a relationship already.
We had a drink at the bar and then went to our apartment, there was no rush and we were allowed to go when we were ready,
The apartment was on the ground floor with a balcony overlooking the car park. Two bedrooms, kitchen and shower room. The shower was basic but serviceable and all the rooms were really clean. The car park can be a bit noisy in the daytime because it is gravelled and coaches use it when bringing tourists to the Canal DAmour but the windows are double glazed which keeps out most of the noise. During the night it was quiet.
The pool area was very good, a grassed area with a large pool and a children's pool on a raised level. The pool area overlooked a small cove and there was easy access to it. We relaxed on loungers by the pool and swam in the sea from the cove, GREAT! Best of both worlds!
The pool bar and snack bar was run by Big Spiros who was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There's a good range of drinks available at the bar and a good choice of reasonably priced food at the snack bar. The breakfast menu was a little bit confusing because there were lots of choices, with juice, with tea, with toast? 1 sausage? Two'? 1 bacon? Two? Once we figured out the best value it got a littleceasier to choose. The Greek dishes were very good. We sometimes took breakfast there and sometimes a late lunch, it isn't open in the evening.
We didn't spend all our evenings there as the bar seemed a little too quiet and the entertainment wasn't the best. There were quizzes, bingo and other things going on but the "DJ" quite frankly had no sparkle and we didn't think he was entertaining.
As with most places the events were advertised to start at a certain time but invariably didn't leaving us feeling that we were just there to order more drinks before the start, a bit disappointing.....
We saw Christos every day and he would always speak to us, we thought from reading other reviews that maybe he would be "off" with us because we didn't spend all our time there, but he was always pleased to see us and we weren't made to feel uncomfortable in any way.
These apartments are well situated at he start of the Canal Damour area,close enough for the "strip" but far enough away from the noise for quiet nights.
The safe in the room was payable locally and cost us 15 euro for the fortnight and we received 5 euro when returning the key. Aircon was payable locally but we did not use it even though it was easily 30 degrees during the day and very warm at night. The apartment has shutters to keep the room cool in the day and we were able to get a through breeze at night. I did feel like some reviews that it did seem to be about the "extras" but it is a business after all and the rates are good value! Paying for the safe and aircon would only bring the price to the same as other properties that include these, you get what you pay for.
There are certainly a lot of nozzles in Corfu but with plug ins for the rooms and repellant we were able to enjoy our time there with only a few bites.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and hope to return, we feel we made friends with Christos and the 2 Spiros, the maids were also very friendly and Maria and the other lady in the shop were also very friendly. When I returned the key on leaving Maria was anxious that we had enjoyed ourvstay and made sure we were happy with the cleanliness of the room.

N

Room Tip: Block B has the sun all day block A is above the bar and shop and doesn't appear to get the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shansam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Many thanks, although we did not stay around the pool all the time as we had friends elsewhere we enjoyed the apartments. I thank Christos for his kindness and was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and tidy . I did think the air conditioning at 49 euros for a week was a little expensive but we could not do without it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is nothing like the photos on web site and travel agents. But buy far the worse thing is the owners they are rude offensive and nasty all they want is your money. If you dont use there small pool or bar they become very rude. Happy to take our money 84 euros for air con that didnt work then when we asked them to look at it it was our fault. The rooms were not cleaned properly . The towels had holes in them. And the rooms smelt stale and old. I have been to Greece many times and this is the worst apartments.But I had a fantastic holiday i would not let this nasty family spoil my well earnt break just went to much nicer places to spend my money.Dont go there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We agree with all the positive previous reviews for Christos apartments. Christos and his family and staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful when needed. The apartments are in a fantastic location with lovely beaches close by and lots of bars and restaurants near enough to walk to. We are looking forward to returning there next year.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JGAF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very friendly,clean and great value. We even had the apartment above the bar with the neon signs on our balcony! No problem with noise at all, the double glazed doors are excellent. Very close to main strip of sidari if you want it but far away enough if you don't. Only about 5-10 minute stroll. Hired a quad to explore the island which was great fun! Went to sunset beach which was beautiful. The swimming pool area is great, pool & area is clean with lots of beds & great bar there with snacks. Much better than we expected. Also you overlook a little cove & the sea from the pool area. Such a fantastic holiday so sad to come home. I would go again & I don't usually return to the same place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmynAdamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#16 of 39 in Sidari
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#9 of 39 in Sidari
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal D' Amour Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal D' Amour Village

Property: Canal D' Amour Village
Address: Canal d'Amour | Peroulades, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal D' Amour Village 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Canal D' Amour Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal d`Amour Village (Christos Apartments) Hotel Sidari
Christos Apartments
Canal D' Amour Village Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing