We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sidari Holiday”
Review of Stema

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stema
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sidari Holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Had a great holiday at Stema with Thompson. On the bus on the way there we were getting a bit worried as some of the hotels didn't look that nice and those that were had pools right on the road so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, Stema is definitley the best hotel in Sidari. It was about a 5/10 min walk from the main strip so you weren't disrupted by the noise of the bars etc but were close enough not to feel secluded. There were 4 of us in a one bedroom apartment but there was plenty of room and there were 4 beds rather than a sofa bed which was good. The hotel was family run and the staff were really friendly and they made a real effort to get to know you. They had a few of nights on, bbq, bingo, quiz - we only went to the bbq but heard good things about all. The pool was big and you could always get a sunbed.

We weren't overly impressed by Sidari it'self, the beaches were very narrow and not attractive at all. The main strip with bars and restaurants was ok but overly tacky, most bars had tribute nights on every night and the restaurants were very geared towards British tourists, although stating traditional Greek food everything was served with chips. Although this is the same in the majority of tourist locations it seemed overdone somehow. The rest of Corfu is beautiful so it's worth hiring a car or mopeds to do a bit of exploring.

We found a really nice restaurant on the beach front a close walk from the hotel which did do traditional Greek food called Kavvadios and also a local Greek/Italian restaurant just off the strip callled Romano's which was really good (massive portions!) It was however a lot cheaper than we expected with the Euro and Greek economy, we were getting a two course meal with wine for 15 euro each and all of the bars give you 241 drinks instead of free shots if you ask.

We took a tour into Corfu town one night which was worth it. The old town is beautiful with lots of very quaint streets and shops. There are loads of Jewellery shops and gold/silver is quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    71
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
152
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We booked to stay at the Stemma after reading the reviews on here, and found an amazing deal with Thomson - we were hoping not to be disappointed and we certainly weren't. We were the last drop-off, and after looking at some of the other hotels in the area which all looked quite small and basic, we were getting a bit worried but had no need to. Stemma is about a 10 minute walk from the main street of Sidari down a gravel track and when we pulled up we were very pleasantly surprised. The pool was HUGE, and considering it was the middle of the day there were loads of free sunbeds and the pool was practically empty! Paula showed us to our room which was very spacious and clean, with well-equipped kitchenette. Air con was 40 euros a week but we didn't need it really, although it got hotter in the 2nd week.

The hotel and pool were kept immaculate throughout our 2 week stay - towels are changed every other day, and cleaners are there every day except Sunday. Cocktails at the hotel are lovely, and most of the food we had there at lunchtime was nice, and no more expensive than the restaurants.

Sidari itself is a nice place, nice beach and the Canal D-Amour end is very pretty, and brilliant viewpoint to watch the sunset. It can get quite lively in the evening but Stemma is well away from all the noise, and there are plenty of other quieter bars and taverna's to go to. It's quite an english resort with most places doing english breakfasts etc, but all the restaurants do greek food which is all really nice, and there's loads of variety; chinese, italian, indian etc. Most annoying thing is the people who stand outside the restaurants and bars and try and get you in - we found that walking around during the day to decide where to eat in the evening worked well, as you can look at the menu's in peace! Didn't really have any bad experiences with food, but the best places are definately China Town, Bed bar, Calypso and Mediterraneo.

Would definately recommend this holiday, particularly the Stemma, it's the nicest hotel in the area with the biggest pool and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen83Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This hotel was excellent - we have stayed at others in Sidari but this one is the best. We would return again tomorrow if we could !

We had a two bed apartment with two balconies and it was larger than expected, clean and very comfortable. Air con was available at 35 euros a week but we didn't need it. We cooked breakfast in our room and there was adaquate crockery etc.

Complex was exceptionally clean - very friendly atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Ideal for trips into Sidari - ten min walk but we had a car so went all over the island. Pool was cold but clean with plenty of sunbeds. The hotel did food which was very reasonable and very good.

Great place to stay - we would always recommend it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shharleys28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Very clean, modern apartments. Pool lovely, also had smaller shallow childrens pool. Brill location. just out of the main town so quiet but only a 5 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley74shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Went in July with friends and their families. Not usually a beach holiday person. Read reports before going but could not have expected that this would be as good as it was. Rooms were basic but clean. Pool was great. Location was just far enough away from the centre to not get any noise. Everyone was very friendly. Had a GREAT TIME and would recommend this to anyone. Went to BED and FALCON BAR everynight. Food at the Shipwreck was great. Owners were really really nice. Recommend the Greek Night at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richiewoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Spent 2 weeks at the Stema Apartments in Sidari in September and had a fantastic holiday. The apartments were lovely and spacious and very clean. The pool, apart from it being cold no matter what time of day you went in it, was lovely as was the surrounding area. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and welcoming. We were greeted when we got off the coach, walked to our rooms and Costa carried my heavy suitcase up the stairs! Paula waved us off when we left at the end of the holiday as well. The apartments were set back from the road, about a 10 minute walk to the main high street for the bars and restaurants and same for the beach. So many lovely restaurants to choose from, our favourite was Memories and would highly recommend going there. We had a day at Aqualand which is near to Corfu Town, we booked this through a company along the High Street which was half the price of the Thomson excursion!
We’ll definitely be returning to Sidari and staying at the Stema again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have just returned from stema 2 for the second time, had a fantastic holiday which was made all the better by the friendly people who own and work there, Niky , kosta,kosta and paula thank you for a fab holiday.
See you all again soon. x

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.8 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#9 of 39 in Sidari
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#4 of 39 in Sidari
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#17 of 39 in Sidari
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#11 of 39 in Sidari
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stema

Property: Stema
Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#8 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stema 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stema Hotel Sidari
Stema Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing