We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation in a good location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanali Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic week ,staying at Kanali Apartments,it was our first time in this area of Corfu and we were really impressed with the accomodation ,the view from our apartment ,overlooking the sea was wonderful and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Many of the guests have returned several times and I could understand why ,it is suitable for family groups or couples ,we certainly hope to go back before too long.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DUKEpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

I have not done a Tripadvisor review before despite having travelled the world over. Normally you would expect good service and ok facilities, it is what travel copmanies have made thier name on, and so poor service or accomodation are rare events these days. so why review the Kanali Appartments as my first blog? - Simply the people. From Nickos who gets the bags, ( and owns it and is one of the best Guitar players I have had the privalige to hear!!) to Spiros, George and the whole family restaurant team, who want to help and exude friendship, this is a family concern with the extra mile guarenteed. The appartments are good for 3 star, but not luxorious although cleaned very well each day. The location is amazing - but I guess that depends on what you like? Right on the beach with postcard views, clear blue sea and only one or two people on the beach to share the experience with ( only been in sept and May - so may be different in August!).
Sidari is a little bit complex as a resort. It is full of brash (but good) bars on the main strip, with tribute bands and cheap coctails, but that is only part of the Sidari story. There are also lots ( 10 plus) of good traditional greek Tavernas with amazingly good food for a small town, without bigging up the Kanali, the Aquarius is on of the best in town. Sidari is not too glitzy, but has a truth and authenticity which despite the razmataz shines through. It is a rough diamond, but still a diamond.
What do you want from a week in the sun? If it is culture then this is a good launching pad - trips around the whole island from travel shops within minutes - the big red bus is a must for culture! Serenity - go west half a mile , brash nightlige - go east half a mile. happynes stay put.
My wife and I will be back- maybe we will see you there.
Perfect

Thank you Nikos, Spiros and George you make Corfu unforgetable

Room Tip: go high - 3 floor views are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colin_james49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We just got back from a fantastic week at the Kanali Apartments Sidari Corfu where they exceeded our expectations in all areas.
We had a studio on the top floor which had three beds, cooker toaster kettle fridge and lovely wooden beams on the ceiling and you get the free use of a safe deposit box in the reception area. Our room was kept spotless by the best cleaners we have every come across on holiday and the view from our balcony was spectacular .
There is a lovely swimming pool and loads of sunbeds surrounded by very well kept gardens. The Aquarius Restaurant and Bar which is at the other side of the swimming pool is where we had most of our meals served by Kelly, George and Speros who could not do enough for us and made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. The food was amazing if you are in Sidari you really should give it a try and it is a really romantic setting with the view over Canal De Amour and I had the best cheesecake I have ever tasted in my life..
We went to a quiz night which was good fun and Nicos the Hotel manager got the band he plays in to play for us one night which was great we were all dancing and singing and Spiros and George gave us a demonstration of Greek Dancing. We both really had a great time and can;t wait to go back and see them all again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank partyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This was our second stay, the previous year was our first, and hopefully it won't be our last! Kanali Hotel is such a wonderful place, I really couldn't fault it. Our room, even though basic, was ALWAYS clean and tidy and the view from our big balcony could have been off a postcard! The location was perfect, right on the sea front, close to all the shops, restaurants and bars but far away enough to get a good nights sleep. The staff were AMAZING and they were the main reason we went back, they were all so welcoming and friendly. By the second night they could remeber all of our names and would be happy chat, have a joke and give us tourist information. I had my 21st birthday while I was over there and they decorated the restaurant with balloons and banners and went out of their way to make it a very special evening. The swimming pool area is very nice too, the pool is big and clean and there are lots of sun beds, both by the pool and on a nice grass area to the side. Also the food from their restaurant 'Aquarius' is top quality, we ate there almost every night! The best food we found for miles around and at very good prices too. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahrawlings89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My husband and I have been going to The Kanali for two years and have booked to go back again this year (2011). The Kanali is beautifully situated overlooking the sea towards Albania. The views from the balcony are just stunning. The studios/apartments are extremely clean and the towels and bedding are changed regularly. The studio we had was well equipped - fridge, cooking utensils, mini oven, kettle etc and there was a hairdryer (one less item to carry abroad!). On arrival you are met, usually by Nikos at the bottom of the lane and he drives your suitcases up to the apartments - it is only a short walk to them. The Kanali is situated in the Canal D'Amour area and it is only a 10-15 minutes walk ( unless you get diverted, as we often did, to Jeni's Cafe which sells the most amazing cheesecake and a coffee or beer - she also makes great sandwiches and if you call in before you go on a trip around Corfu, she will make some up for you) to the main Sidari strip where there are a host of bars, restaurants and shops.

As with most Greek apartments you will have to buy your own loo rolls, but this is readily available at the mini supermarket at the end of the road. To the left hand side of the apartments there is the pool which is extremely clean, it also has a kiddies paddling pool. Again the views from the pool were lovely, looking directly over the sea with Albania in the distance. There is never any rush for the sun beds either.

The Aquarius Restaurant and bar ( right by the pool) is absolutely fantastic, when Spiros opens the big glass doors it is a truly stunning view directly overlooking the sea and the bay. This restaurant is open to anyone (not just Kanali guests). The food is truly amazing and freshly cooked. The menu is varied (Greek, Italian, English etc.) with lots to choose from. We had the Greek menu every night (try their greekburger filled with feta cheese with the local Mythos beer!! and the moussaka is to die for.....) Nikos and his band played a 60's/70's night in the upstairs bar (once a week) he was really good... The Greek Night was also very good as was the barbeque. Spiros, Georges, Nikos and families were exceptional. Their customer service is second to none and nothing was too much trouble. Even if you are staying elsewhere in Sidari, you really must try the Aquarius Restaurant, I think it is the best in Sidari.

The Kanali apartments are highly recommended by us and we are really looking forward to seeing Nikos, Spiros, Georges and families again...Yammas guys!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi_UnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We chose this destination purely from the reviews from trip advisor and we weren’t disappointed from the off. We booked through Thompsons although on rechecking to go back in 2012, the hotel was not there. On a search around it is on First Choice who are the same group. Weather for October was very good which was a bonus. We arrived at night which gave us an extra day at the complex which i would advise taking as you still lose the day on arrival but get the extra day as mentioned. Taking the early flight out means you arrive at 5ish in the evening and leave early on your last day.

We were met off the coach by Nikos (Hotel Manager) who takes your bags from you to take to the hotel; the drop off point is a short 100m walk to the hotel. Nikos then allocates your room, escorting each couple with a quick brief on what’s what in the room. The views from the Apartments are to die for, we were in room 106 on the ground floor, and the best views are on the second and third floor. If you require double beds, if there is an option on the site when booking, request it there, if not try emailing direct requesting the beds from Nikos. The rooms have everything you need for a self catering holiday although we ate out each day. The apartments are undergoing there first major face lift since being built in 1988 during the closed season and i can’t wait to see what they do, although to be honest, they don’t need it.

The location of the apartments have the best views in Sidari, the majority of all travellers come here to see the Tunnel of love which is about 50m from the hotel.

The Aquarius restaurant do a massive range of English, International and Greek dishes. We did eat out in a few places in Sidari but none compared to the quality of food and service that Spiros and George provide. The majority of the fresh vegetables is provided through Spiros who grows it all himself and is picked on the day. It really is a first class restaurant, on speaking to Spiros, we enquired as to why they didn’t do full or half board there, apparently they have asked first choice but they said no, i do hope they eventually sort this as it would definitely be the option we would take when we return in 2012. Nikos has a band that do entertainment one night a week along with the Greek night, both are well worth going to.

Sidari itself is a quaint little resort for those that want to avoid all the hustle and bustle of a busy nightlife, don’t get me wrong on the main strip it has a vast amount of bars and restaurants but is not as big as Kavos for those that have been. There are a few English restaurants for those that don’t want to go off the beaten track of food, but all restaurants do provide some range of English food.

Car, Quad and bike hire is available all around the town at very cheap prices, with 2 garages to fuel up at. There are various supermarkets of all sizes around, the 2 main ones are just on the outskirts of the town at the end of the main strip, but you can get all you require shopping at a few of the smaller ones if you don’t fancy the trek.

There’s plenty to do on the island with the tours available, do ensure when you book you ask if it includes returns, as we heard stories of people that had booked and assumed everything is included and found out they had to pay again to return. Also, a few of the tours, you have to make your way to the pickup points as no transport is provided. As long as you ask all the right questions you won’t get caught short.

Should you decide to go to the Kanali apartments, you won’t be disappointed; Nikos, Spiros and George plus the back room staff do more than is expected of them to make your stay well worthwhile. During our stay, there were a lot of people there for the fourth or fifth time and you will see why should you go.

Spiros, George and Nikos, thanks for a wonderful holiday and we will see you again in 2012!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shortie72uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

as with the previous comment, our shower curtain was a mess, it should have have been thrown away. our bathroom flooded aswell when we had a shower, when we spoke to other guests, they said theirs did exactly the same, our room was on the top floor of the block.the rooms felt damp due to the wet weather so we put the oven on to warm everythig up, instead of a/c we should have been offered heating. the staff & meals at this hotel were absolutely fine. the weather was attrocious, it rained torrentially almost everyday, good job we took umberellas over with us. we literally plodged everywhere. the daytrips we went on were very poor, we went to one place where it was so small, you could literally walk round in an hour. we were dropped off at 9.15am, then picked up at 5.15pm, we hired a quad & rode aropund the island for something to do. another trip, we got dropped off & were asked if we wanted to go on a boatrip, we were charged 7 euros for about half an hour to look at 2 or 3 caves. the buses were squezed around the streets & very tight corners indeed. there was a lot of fly tipping on the streets & abandoned cars left rotting. a couple who we met told us they were eating in churchills & mice were running around their feet whilst they were eating. the canal absolutely stunk, we watched 2 rats at the side of it running around. it was very quiet as coming to the end of the season & there werent many people there. we hired a car, we paid 25 euros but just around the corner we saw them for 18 euros. we put 20 euros worth of petrol in, the greek people cut you off on the road & are quite dangerous, we were glad tohand the car back. the entertainment in the apartments was a quiz one night which we enjoyed, the other was nikos the receptionist & his band which was good. there was a problem with mosquitos & flies, we used various repellants but to no avail. as did other guests who we spoke to who found they had the same problems. we met some very nice people when we were there, we never had our bathing costumes on the whole week we were there & we didnt sit by the pool either as it was too cold, there was only once that we saw people sitting pound the pool the whole week we were there. we did visit the main strip which was about 15 mins walk away, there was a little bit more to do & see here, but october is too cold & wet & almost everywhere was dying off or closed down. i have been to turkey many times & fancied a change but was very dissapointed with this holiday as it does not offer good value for money like turkey does & the turks go out of their way to speak to you. greece was more for an older generation as there were a lot of over 60s & 70s when we were there. if we had been looking forward to this holiday for over a year, we would have been so dissapointed, but it was a spur of the moment holiday as we have already had our main holiday in ichmeler turkey this year which was excellent, i hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
15.7 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanali Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanali Hotel - Apartments

Address: Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Kanali Aparthotel Sidari
Kanali Aparthotel Hotel Sidari
Kanali Hotel - Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing