We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday weve ever had”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanali Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2009

These apartments sit right at the beach with an amazing view. The staff couldnt do enough for us, especially Jenni ,Spiros ,George ,Costa who were all very friendly with us.Food was excellant in the Aquarius pool bar and the Greek night was excellant.Enjoyed holiday that much we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

The kanali hotel was great, very clean and a great view of the beach. We tried a few resturants when we was there and the best ones were the nicholas and The sailors the staff were very good with us and the children. We r going t bk for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RothwellMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having decided that we wanted to holiday in Corfu this summer, I researched possible places to stay and was so impressed with all the previous reviews of the Kanali Apartments. Such consistent excellent reviews are almost unheard of. Based on all the glowing reports we booked up and had a 2 week holiday there at the beginning of August. We were not disappointed.

The location of the Kanali Apartments, and the Aquarius Restaurant attached, is fabulous. Our balcony overlooked the stunning bay and rocky headlands of the Canal D'Amour area. What a sight to wake up to every morning! We could even hear the gentle lapping of the sea from our apartment.

The apartments position on the more picturesque outskirts of Sidari, along with it's friendly family atmosphere, is what sets it apart from the rest. Sidari itself, like so many other tourist resorts, is overly commercialised, but staying at The Kanali provides you with "the best of both worlds", especially if you have people of various ages / needs within your holiday party. The Kanali attracts families and mixed groups, and was the perfect environment for our 10 year old son to make holiday friends (with it's nice swimming pool area; proximity to sea and small beaches; and family run bar / restaurant).

We were made to feel really welcome, right from the moment we arrived and were met off the coach and greeted so warmly by Jeni, the Kanali Manager. Spiros, Perry, and their extended family, are the perfect hosts. The Aquarius Restaurant, on site, is excellent (probably one of the best in Sidari), with Spiros' Mum's homemade Greek specialities hard to beat - and not forgetting that wonderful view.

The Kanali lived up to it's high acclaim and I have no hesitation in adding to all the previous recommendations. Although this was our first visit, it is hardly surprising that so many of the guests return year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I was expecting to be sitting and writing a long review about our trip to the Kanali but the previous reviewer has done it all for me.....it's all true.

I will add a few specific comments about our stay though.

Not all the apartments have a "direct" sea view. We were in an apartment in the block that houses the reception. This is at a right angle to the main block and while you can see the sea from the balcony the direct view is of either the car park or the hotel next door. This isn't a complaint, just an observation.

All the other comments regarding the hotel and staff i would agree with completely.

With regard to tavernas i would put in a mention for "Romanas", just off the lovely village square behind the church.

With regard to Sidari, it is certainly not quaint or picturesque. However, we have a 15 year old daughter and we usually went to a bar on the main strip for a drink (coke for her) at about 8pm. She enjoyed seeing the first of the evening revellers parade past before we went to eat. We were usually walking back to the hotel at about 10.30pm and while things were lively by then we saw no drunkeness or trouble. There might be some of this later (?) but in the early evening it is perfectly ok for young families, indeed there were many local families out and about too.

All in all we had just the kind of holiday we were hoping for after reading the reviews and i would recommend the Kanali for a friendly and relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Well where to start! Arrived at the Kanali at about 9pm (the transfer is 2 hours but you soon forget that when you arrive) to meet Jeni waiting for us with her truck to ferry the luggage up the path to the apartments. Straight away she made us feel special and she was so excited to show us the view from our apartment. And boy what a view! We had a two bed apartment on the 2nd floor and the view over the sea with Albania across the water was to die for. All apartments have the sea view too. To see the red sun rise over Albania EVERY morning was such a treat. The apartments are spacious, having two bedrooms, a small kitchen area with a table and chairs and a TV in both bedrooms. Bathroom fine with a good shower giving plenty of hot water. The apartments are a little dated but they were airy and clean. Air con was 7 euros a day but worth it! Maids come in every day to empty bins and sweep up, change bins etc and clean towels and bedding every other day. No complaints there at all.
The staff at the Kanali are amazing. So customer centered. NOTHING is too much trouble. Spiros, Peri, Jeni, George and Costas were lovely. Spiros is such a gent. Quiet and unassuming but with an eye on everything, Peri was such a gracious lady who went out of her way to speak and make you feel welcome, Jeni, well she is a star. i dont think she ever sleeps with all the hard work she puts into the Kanali, her Cafe and her dogs! Her Cafe is just over the bridge and to the left and serves gorgeous cakes, including her homemade cheescake! George and Costas worked the bar in shifts and obviously enjoyed their work and it showed in there fantastic service, they always had time for a chat and a laugh. I have never stayed somewhere that made you feel so welcome and at home.
The Canal d'Amour is off the beaten track to Sidari, which for us was great (Sidari strip is about 15-20 mins away). Wasnt a fan of Sidari strip or its beach but the Canal area has more than enough places to eat and drink and the 3 beaches near to the Kanali were perfect. There is the little cove to the right which looks just like a postcard, the tiny beach right in front of the Kanali where you could walk out to the two 'rocks', or the bigger beach to the right which had pedelos etc and was a longer stretch of beach. We felt no need to go near the main beach at Sidari.
Locally to the Kanal i would recommend the following places to eat, the Aquarious attached to the Kanali, Sympiosa, which was just over the 'bridge' and to the right (opposite the 3 little pigs), the Konkali (best Tzaziki i have ever had), the Pizza place just round the corner, fab oven baked pizza, the 3 Little Pigs was very nice food but was rather bustling and busy, but never had to wait for food and the belly dancer was good fun. The little gem we did find for lunch time was Litskas place, again over the bridge and turn right at the 3 Little Pigs. She serves Gyros at 1 euro 90 and they were lovely. We, as a family of 4 ate there one lunchtime for less than 10 euros!!
We found the Canal area very reasonable and our money went a lot further than we thought it would. Drinks all reasonable as was food. Never spent more than 50-60 euros on 2-3 courses and drinks (and sometimes we spent less!!)
The trips to Paleo, Corfu Town and the boat trips all reasonable prices and well worth doing. The only thing i could have asked for better would be the travelling time to Corfu Town by bus, usually about 1 hour 30 mins. Would probably be better if you hire a car as makes life so much easier.
Absolutely loved this place and will return. Kids had a ball and made so many friends. As i said, when we left we got hugs from everyone which made me cry (and I have NEVER done that before LOL). Cant wait to come back!!! Thankyou everyone at the Kanali for making this the best holiday ever!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixx999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

kanali appts are exellent,the view from our balcony was out of this world.everyone in and around kanali were very welcoming and kind it was very relaxed and laid back,our 6yr old grandson enjoyed the pool and the beach,pedloes he could walk right out into the sea as it was very shallow which is great for kids.jeni was very helpful and had a cake made for my husbands birthday which was on kanalis greek night fantastic.thanx xxxxx

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

If you get chance to go, you must !! We stayed in a 2 bed apartment. Huge, clean and the views over the sea and mountains are breathtaking.
Steady 10 mins walk to all amenities in Sidari. Great restaurants, good food, lots of shops. Day trip to Corfu town a must, very pretty cobbled streets and lovely harbour.
Jenny and Spiros welcome you like old friends, Jenny is amazing, nothing is too much trouble. The Greek night at Aquarius is not to be missed, brilliant night.
Probably one of the best places we have been for the budget, waking up to those views will stay with you forever.
Thanks Jenny and Spiros for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
15.7 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanali Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanali Hotel - Apartments

Address: Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Kanali Aparthotel Sidari
Kanali Aparthotel Hotel Sidari
Kanali Hotel - Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing