We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post Card Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanali Hotel - Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanali Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Rhymney Valley South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Post Card Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Have just returned from 1 week at Kanali booked late and this is one place my wife didn't want to leave,from the moment you get off bus Nikos waiting to take cases to reception to the minute you leave, all the staff in the hotel are brilliant .The quality of the food in Aquarius restaurant is excellent and service as George says Fantastic!! Spiros&his wife,Nikos & Kelly(wife)and all other staff make everybody feel special and nothing is too much trouble for them,even down to large bottles water delivered to your room for only 20 cents more than carrying from supermarket.When you open the bedroom curtains and see the fantastic views you are realy looking like as if you are in brochure,it is only a very short stoll to plenty of restaurants and we enjoyed a few lovely lunches at Churchills & Sea Breeze on main strip,but every other meal was at Aquarius with Spiros marking card so if you ate 4 meals there your 5th was accompanied by 2 full bottles of one of the best wines free as part of their 10th year anniversaryalso they were very generous with some other drinks.We cannot recomend this hotel enough to do justice for a fab week Thank you all for a !!FANTASTIC!! time definetly returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wyndham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

I went to Sidari for a week with my girlfriend and stayed at another hotel. We ate at most of the restaurants in town and this place offered by far the best food, atmosphere and service. We stayed in the Aquarius restaurant until 2am one night just chilling and drinking cocktails and never did we feel rushed. The sunset views are stunning, not to be missed. The location is superb too, close enough to the main strip but a few hundred yards off anything loud.

I had some amazing seafood and my girlfriend tried most of the local dishes... they were all superb. The owner remembered how I liked my food and it always came out better the next time.

The greek night was well organised and definitely a highlight of our trip. We once were presented with a bill missing half the stuff we'd ordered; when I pointed this out and went through the extras we hadn't been charged for, we got a round of free cocktails.

If we were going back to Sidari again this would be the place we'd stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toucheroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Well, what can I say? It was love at first sight! The Kanali is everything we’d hoped for and more.

When our transfer bus dropped us off at The Kanali, after an hour and a half journey from the airport, we were met by a very polite young chap with a truck, who took our cases along the short track for us in order to save wear and tear on our baggage (and our arms!) This service is also repeated when you leave at the end of your stay, which is a nice touch.

In reception we were warmly welcomed by Nikos, who greeted us like old friends even though we’d only just met. We later discovered that Jeni is no longer the manageress at The Kanali due to her other commitments (Jeni’s café and the dog rescue centre), however, she’s still involved with the bookings and emails. The reception area was beautifully clean and Nikos explained we could have a free safety deposit box whenever we wanted. There’s a bookcase full of holiday reading material, free to use as & when, and the First Choice notice boards are located on the wall with all the flight info and schedule for when the rep would be on site.

Nikos then took one of our cases, mine as it happens, and led us up two flights of stairs to our apartment - 304. He helpfully explained a few things about the electricity supply, the user name and password for the on-site wi-fi (we’d taken a laptop with us) and showed us the folder full of useful information which was on the kitchen table.

As soon as Nikos left we turned around and saw what a stunning view we’d been given. It was utterly breathtaking. The apartment was absolutely brilliant – everything we needed for a great stay. We’d been allocated an apartment with two bedrooms, enough for 4 people, even though there was just the two of us!

Both bedrooms overlooked the sea. There was a twin room, with two single beds linked together, while the main bedroom had a double bed. Both bedrooms had a phone, tv bedside lights and cupboard space along with a mirror and dressing table. Both bedrooms also had their own sliding doors leading onto the balcony.

As we were on the top floor, directly below the roof, the ceilings were slanted and wooden, with a gloriously rustic feel. The balcony was large, with a table and 4 chairs and a line for hanging out the washing. House martins and sparrows (in May) were chirping and swooping around making nests under the roof tiles, which was a joy to watch.

The bathroom was equipped with shower and plenty of freshly washed towels (as well as a couple of essential toilet rolls!) There was enough shelf space for toiletries and a very useful hair-dryer.

The kitchen was basic but more than adequate for our needs, with a kettle, fridge, 2-ring stove & oven, dining table & 4 chairs, and enough cutlery and cooking utensils for 4 people. Tip: the smoke alarm can be a bit sensitive, so if you’re making toast it might be a good idea to open the kitchen window.

The main wardrobe was in the hallway, with easy access from both bedrooms and had plenty of hangers as well as two drawers at the bottom, and in there we found more pillows and clean towels. Bins are provided I the kitchen and bathroom. Tip: remember not to put toilet paper down the loo!

There’s no lounge in the apartment but there’s actually no need for one. It’s sheer bliss to watch tv from your bed and there’s always the balcony for sitting and chatting or having a bite to eat.

On the topic of food, we were travel-weary on arrival so headed to The Aquarius Bar & Restaurant next to The Kanali as it was the easiest option. Spiros and the team were the most fantastic hosts anyone could ever hope for, and to be frankly honest we were spoilt rotten. The food was sublime (strawberry cheesecake to die for), and nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment on Saturday night was the delightful Nikos and his band, playing a range of cover tunes in the upstairs bar. Needless to say, that’s where we ate most meal times as it soon became addictive.

Five Minutes walk away is the much advertised Canal D’Amour, with breathtaking scenery. In the heat of the day, small lizards scuttle about on the pavements and into the dense shrubbery.

Sidari town is just a 10 – 15 minute stroll down the road (depending on how distracted you get en route). Half way there we felt we just HAD to pop into Jeni’s café and say ‘hello’. We were made extremely welcome by Jeni and we even made a fuss of Bella, a rescue dog who chooses to pop by every now and again. Jeni’s cheesecake is an absolute must!

As you stand on the balcony of the apartment you can see a swimming pool just below you, but that one belongs to the apartment block next door. The Kanali pool is to the left as you look out on the sea – between the apartment block and the Aquarius Restaurant. Plenty of poolside sun loungers for everyone.

Cleaners seemed to pop round on an almost daily basis, ensuring clean towels never ran out and bins were emptied before getting too full. The entire site was spotlessly clean.

We didn’t bother with the welcome meeting, but Alison (First Choice Rep) made sure we had all the information we needed about excursions and departure times by pushing notes and leaflets under our door during our stay. When we wanted to book an excursion, we simply spoke to Nikos on reception and he immediately arranged for us to meet her in the bar for a chat later on. It couldn’t have been simpler.

We chose to book an excursion on the Wednesday called “Simply Corfu” but after 11 hours on a hot bus (little or no air con) I was far too tired to attend the fabulous Greek Night at The Aquarius, which I’d been looking forward to all week. Hindsight is a wonderful thing….

Mosquitoes WILL be an issue for many people, however, by sensibly using an insect repellent spray and covering up in the evenings, and by using plug-ins in the apartment at night, most of the discomfort can be avoided and it really isn’t much hassle. Most of the shops nearby are fully stocked with mosquito coils (for burning on balconies), citronella candles etc etc…You may find that using a product such as ‘after-bite’ as soon as you spot a nibble will prevent any itching and potential swelling.

We happened to arrive just prior to a storm, and the wind can really blow hard on Corfu. It really howls at times, and this can keep you awake if you’re a light sleeper. Also, when it rains it’s a full-on downpour, however, it soon eases off and if you find yourself out when it rains just nip into the nearest shop to keep dry. The shopkeepers won’t mind at all.

We were VERY unlucky with the weather as it happens, it was very windy and quite chilly during most of our trip, and it poured with rain most of the week, but that’s just the luck of the draw. We’d have loved to have gone in the sea but it really was too rough most days.

On our last day the rain was so torrential that the apartment began to flood under the front door! Luckily we threw our towels down and managed to stop it reaching the bedroom. Later on, after we’d braved a dash to the Aquarius Restaurant, we discovered that some kind person had put a thick towel down on our doorstep to prevent any more water getting in under our door. Tip: if it does rain during your stay, be careful where you walk as pot-holes in the roads quickly become mini-ponds.

We would dearly love to return to Corfu, and wouldn’t want to stay anywhere other than The Kanali – however, we won’t be doing so in May again as the weather is too unpredictable.

Corfu is a smoker-friendly island, and non-smokers may find it irritating in bars and restaurants when others light up, especially after being used to the UK being a non-smoking zone in public buildings.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank panda762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Just returned from 1 week at the Kanali. Agree with most comments posted by others: clean rooms, great views, friendly staff etc, etc but need to add that mosquitos and wasps were a problem here. I accept that this could be due to the time of year but as someone who suffers when bitten (I notched up 16 bites in the week!!) I could have been better prepared if I'd known before travelling.......but nothing I had with me or bought in Sidari worked anyway; they were resilient blighters. And the wasps were a nuisance too (although no-one got stung) constantly swarming around you regardless of whether you were eating or not. We also spotted a number of wasp nests on the hotel balconies. Must also mention that whilst this hotel is in a fairly quiet spot, we did experience noise/loud music until the early hours from the next door hotel. And please also be aware that air conditioning is only available until mid September, so regardless of temperatures after this point, it will remain switched off. Nightimes could therefore be a little uncomfortable, especially as windows couldn't be left open due to the mosquitos.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarsog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

On arrival welcomed by Jeni to transport the cases up the road to our rooms, which were as clean as ever with wonderful views over the Canal D'Amour and Albania in the distance,fully equiped and what a view! Unpack and up to the Aquatius restaraunt where the owner Spiros with his family, helped by George and Costas look after all our needs with excellent service and tasty dishes of all types of food fresh ingredients and cooked to order.The relaxed atmosphere of the staff and the wondeful views ensure that we are in the holiday mood from the start! The two weeks fly by, a cople of trips out to Kasiopi, another to Corfu Town. Wonderful relaxation. Looking forward to another visit in 2010!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I booked the Kanali Appartments with first choice last minute. I was warey of the local night life and the usual drunken english mob that follow but was assured that Kanali was far enough out the way.
The hotel was very well run and kept very clean by the cleaners. It was nicely situated right on the beach and within easy reach of several restaurants a couple of which overlook the sea but the majority of are situated on a road. The best restaurant we ate at was the Face Bar which is about a 5 minute walk.
As per the previous reviews, Kanali is basic but it is comfortable enouh for a week or two. I would highly recommend it for a cheap gettaway.
Beaches were awesome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_auton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Just got back from our yearly getaway. This year we went self catering at the Kanali aparthotel in sidari which we found to be much better than anticipated! We had read reviews before we went but you never know until you get there. When we arrived fairly late into the evening we were met by Jenny who gave us a lift to the apartment. (The apartments are down a little lane which is very bumpy and not good if you wear high wedges like I did!) The apartment was a good size with spacious bedrooms and a ok kitchen/breakfast room. The only downfall was only one wardrobe between four people, which was a bit cramped. The hairdryer supplied isn't very powerful so I would take one with you unless you dont mind it taking forever to dry your hair. The views over the ocean were idyllic, just like off a postcard. The beauty of the canal d'amour is there to see every morning. Any problems and things got sorted quickly, we reported to Jenny that our air conditioning was leaking one afternoon and it was fixed by the next day. The staff in the bar/restaurant were always bright and chearful (even if they'd been up late drinking with the customers!) They were also brilliant with our three year old daughter and always made her laugh. We did go down early in the morning to lay out towels, but if you dont mind being away from the pool a little bit there are always plenty of sun beds around. For a good meal out in the evening I would recommend Konaki? which is about a three minute walk away and does the most delicious meals. In the daytime if you take a walk to the main strip of Sidari it is about a 10 minute walk over a place called stinky bridge! you'll see where it gets the name from! just over the bridge is a little dime called `The Fruit Press', they sell smoothies, thickies, paninies, sandwhiches and american style pancakes, all of which are delicious ( if you don't go here you dont know what you're missing!) The lady who runs it (Julia?) is always happy to help and nothing is too much trouble so make sure you try this place out as you wont regret it. We travelled with First Choice and the rep was absolutely lovely, the friendliest we've ever had! If she decides to do another season out there then you'll be in good hands.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Circa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#3 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#13 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanali Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanali Hotel - Apartments

Property: Kanali Hotel - Apartments
Address: Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sidari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Kanali Aparthotel Sidari
Kanali Aparthotel Hotel Sidari
Kanali Hotel - Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing