We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Break!!”
Review of Sellas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sellas Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Poole UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Great Break!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Flew out of Bournemouth with Thomsons for this one, we are usually independent travellers but the deal with Thomsons and the Sellas Apartments plus the reviews persuaded us it might be worth a go. We are so glad we did, probably the best value and most enjoyable holiday we have had for some years. Everything was right about this place, the staff, service and position couldnt be bettered. At the end of the lane we could go straight across and it was 150m to the beach, turn left to the Canal Damour and lots of eateries or more great swimming. Turn right and your into the strip if you want things a little livelier. We ate in a different restuarant every evening and never had a bad meal, noteable meals where the steakhouse across the road from the apartments, Three Little Pigs, The Konaki Taverna in the Canal D'Amour is the best greek food I have ever had but you sometimes have to wait for a table. Also the Village Taverna in the strip is very good. We ate Greek every night and were delighted. We went in late September so temperatures were 28ish during the day but did get a little chilly at night. That time of year you do need the mosquiti plugs and repellant though. As I said before the Sellas is clean and friendly, it has everything that I would want from a greek holiday and we will be returning.

Room Tip: You do share a balcony with next door, we were ok as next door was daughter and other half.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigelgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    94
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
60
140
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Travelled late September for some r+r.
Great flight with Thomson, early set off and flight half an hour quicker than expected, arrival at Corfu, baggage there in a flash, rep waiting for us, all on board the coach, totally hassle free. 90 minutes transfer.
Great welcome from Malcolm the rep.
First impression arriving in Sidari at night were oh no it's Blackpool! Really needn't have worried as the location of Sellas is perfect. Woke up to a peaceful, quiet, scorching hot sunny day.
All rooms overlook the pool. Breakfast very relaxed and there until at least 10 am if you want a lie in. Simple though, bread or toast with boiled eggs, ham, cheese, peach jam, apples, orange juice, pg tips tea and coffee. You do have the option to purchase cooked breakfast.
Walk down the track and go right to Sidari strip and beaches, (only a few minutes away) lots of tourist shops and supermarkets, very cheap. We ate a Greek salad with our bottled amstel or mythos at castaways on the beach, they have a loo and free sunbeds if you want to use the beach there. Beer was 2.5 euros for a big ice cold bottle with a chilled glass, went to mojito bar one day the bottles were small for the same price. Steer clear of the watered down 2 euro pints.
At night the strip has loads of tribute acts, football showing, etc not my scene.
We went left from Sellas and ate in the Greek tavernas, ( literally next door) the family and the first one closest to Sellas the greek ? being wonderful,,,sooo cheap you can get a moussaka for as little as 4.50! Gyros for a snack only 2.50.
Memories on the strip is also wonderful, thanks for the free shots guys!
The staff at Sellas as everyone has rightly said are superb, they make you feel so at home and welcome and NO you do not need to drink in their bar for this courtesy. The prices are just the same as all the other bars in the town.
Room was perfectly adequate, fridge, kettle, twin beds, small bathroom.
Balcony.
The room was cleaned 6 days out of the 7, perfect!
Beware of the mossies they got us!
The pool is spotless if a bit chilly, ( it was the end of September) tried to tempt George in there,,not a chance.
Walk passed the apparently awful 3 little pigs restaurant and you are heading to canal d'amour, stunning!!! A few small beaches but lots of great places to sit and take in the views just a bit spoilt by noisy eastern Europeans at times when you want total peace.
We walked miles in both directions, right on the main beach we passed a campsite and headed up to a monastery, some great houses up there and a tiny secluded beach.
Walk through canal d'amour, peroulades, area to sunset beach (sun only on it in the evening) we walked up through the olive groves to cape drastis, long haul but worth it, to our delight we got a boat trip back to Sidari. Just us 2 and the great captain who took his time showing us all the coves of the canal and told us lots of history.
Went to Corfu town for 10 euros each on a coach trip one evening, it's very pretty but if you are a regular to Greek islands not essential also very expensive to eat or drink there, you will get ripped off, beware. A stroll through canal d'amour and the villages is just as quaint and "Greek".
Weather was great for the time of year, rain and thunder on our last day, chilly in the evening, you need a cardigan. No need for AC in the room.
I can see why people return to George's Sellas!

Room Tip: room 204 was great for us on the second floor with balcony, just go down the steps to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piratepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We just spent a week at Sellas having picked it from the great reviews, We were so well looked after by the staff- George, Mimosa, Lauren, Chef, groundsman and chambermaids. They all had something special, that together made for a very special team. The hotel is in a perfect position that gave us the benefit of a rural feel but close to everything on offer. We ate lovely meals at the hotel and found the rustic breakfast to be quite enough. The bar service could not be bettered and we felt so relaxed in the evenings sitting on the verandah with lovely music and good company, in such beautiful surroundings. George even put the Scottish football match on for us -what a place to watch them win!! We look forward to joining the ever growing band of returnees to our home from home in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My friend and I just arrived back after spending a week at this lovely location. Apartment was lovely, cleaned every day and staff couldn't do enough for us. Great location as a couple of mins away from centre but lovely quite hotel. Many thanks for great week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maybelline12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

4th time in sidari and 2nd staying in Sellas, George, mimosa and Lauren are lovely people more like friends than just staff! Helped with everything when my son was ill, lovely pool and gardens, good food and drink and the location couldn't be any better really, 5mins from Canal d Amour or 5mins from the nightlife, Jason & Mckenzie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHarrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from the sellas, we stayed from the 23rd August until 6th September.Overall we had a fabulous stay and would definately return.

Location

The location is excellent, you literally walk down the path from the hotel and you are at the beginning of the strip or you can walk directly opposite where the three little pigs restaurant is and walk over the bridge and you are at canal d'mour so you have the best of both worlds.

Rooms

The rooms are very clean and basic which is expected for Greece but like I said very clean which is the main thing as we dont go on holiday to stay in the room. We paid for air conditioning which was 40 euros per week but was well worth it as we only had 4 mosquito bites between us during the fortnight.We stayed in room 205.

Pool

The pool area was well maintained and kept very clean during our stay, it never came overcrowded and you could easily get a sunbed everyday without going down early in the morning.

Breakfast

We were bed and breakfast and the breakfast was ample for what we wanted. It consisted of toast,boiled eggs, ham, cheese,cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice.

Resort

The resort of sidari is wonderful but I'm not sure if there is enough to do for us for 2 weeks but regardless of that we really enjoyed and would definately return for a week. Had some great meals but the place we ate for most of our stay was at memories on the main strip. Did not have one bad meal and they are lovely people aswell. Would definately recommend to eat here.

Beach

The beach was great and as we ate at memories we could have free sunbeds all day which was great.Loads of watersports on beach at decent prices.

Bars

We saw a few tribute acts and the best bars we found were palazzo bar especially to watch the football, sugar bar and cargos.

Summary

Thanks to George,mimosa and Lauren for a fabulous stay at the sellas and we would most definately return without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellywestall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two week stay at the sellas hotel returning for the second year. We love this place. Some of the reviews on here are a load of rubbish. The staff are fantastic, George, Mimosa and Lauren all work very hard. Take the time to get to know them, they treat you like friends. The chef also does lovely food.Nothing is too much trouble and my husband and I were made to feel very welcome. The rooms are clean as is the pool and bar area. The location of the hotel is excellent just a short walk to the main strip but far enough away not to get the noise. It is also only a short distance to the canal d'amour. Overall another brilliant holiday here and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doowops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#12 of 39 in Sidari
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 39 in Sidari
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smartline Mimosa
Smartline Mimosa
#10 of 39 in Sidari
582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stema
Stema
#3 of 39 in Sidari
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sellas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sellas Hotel

Property: Sellas Hotel
Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#15 Family Hotel in Sidari
Hotel Class:2 star — Sellas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sellas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sellas Hotel Corfu
Sellas Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing