We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lagoon Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 12 Sidari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just got back yesterday, after spending 2 weeks at the Lagoon, Sidari. We had a fantastic holiday, at a 'reasonable' place to stay, & with the nicest, most friendly, & helpful staff ever.
First things first - this is not the 'swishest' of places to stay, & nor does it claim to be. What it is, is a MORE than adequate place to stay - rooms are big and spacious, & off a decent standard. They serve their purpose.
The only negative is the air conditioning - apparently its now the norm to charge for it (I wasn't aware of this) it was not included in the holiday cost, or room charges. It wasn't cheap at 7 Euros per day - which comes to a whopping 98 euros for the average 14 night stay - that was an unexpected & big chunk taken out of our holidays spending money. I wish our tour operator (Cosmos) & the hotel would do an all-inclusive deal, & warned us in advance.
The receptionist - the wonderful, helpful, bubbly, & beautiful Amy - is super friendly & helpful. Nothing was EVER too much trouble for her, & she goes more than the extra mile to help the guests. Always got a smile & a friendly word for everyone - cheers Amy!
The pool area is always clean & inviting - the guy looking after the pool & gardens does an outstanding job.
They've been mentioned by others - but the bar staff - Denis, Alex, Christina, & owner Spiros are all fantastic. Once they know your name, they'll remember it. A nice touch. Again, these people go above & beyond the norm, to ensure your stayis the best it can be - the staff at this place, MAKE this place the great place it is to stay. It was noted by myself & others, the amount of people that return here year after year. What does that tell you? For actual accommodation I would give it 6.5/10. For the staff at the Lagoon - its an easy 10/10.

For top places to go in Sidari, I would recommend the following places:
For a perfect meal in nice surroundings - The Three Little Pigs. We ate here about 5 nights out of the 14. A great meal every time, great surroundings, & a nice atmosphere. The restaurants away from 'The Strip' were certainly better, & seemingly cheaper. Another REALLY nice place to east was the Sunshine Restaurant - which backs onto the beach, & is actually on the strip (next to the SOS bar). A really nice place - great food, lovely staff & a nice spot overlooking the beach to watch the sunset.
A truly great holiday - made that much better by the awesome people & staff we met. Thanks again Amy, Dennis, Alex, Spiros, & Christina. We'll be seeing you again
Tony & Pamela

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NottinghamPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

After not such a good start with a 10 hour delay at Gatwick we finally arrived at the lagoon studios at 1am, we were met by alex at the bar and shown to our 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious and clean with a double balcony over looking the pool, we had a great time here , Dennis and Alex and Spiros the owner were very polite and helpful, the lagoon has a perfect location being only 100 mtrs from Sidari main beach and 100 mtrs from the Sidari strip meaning within a 2 minute walk you had a great choice of bars, restaurants and entertainment, we found the bar and pool area to be very well maintained and was kept spotless throughout our stay, free sunbeds both at the apartments and on the beach was an added bonus, the lagoon had a good mix of people staying there being mainly couples and family's, we would defiantly return, we are a family of 4 , 45, 43, 18, 12 , we booked through Monarch and for £1050 including flights, luggage, transfers and accommodation we felt this was a bargain

Room Tip: the bar closed at approx 2am so if you like to turn in early ask for a room near to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I went to the Lagoon apartments on a self catering basis. We went on the 18th June and came back on the 25th June (2012). The weather was exceedingly warm for the time of year and topped 40 degrees!.
When we arrived at the aparthotel we were shown directly to our room which was room 102. We were given a quick show round and then given info on reception services. Once we had settled in we wanted to find where the safety deposit boxes and remote for the air con. We went to reception where we were met by Amy (receptionist). THe safety deposit boxes are free and are in reception. You have a key and so does reception and both keys are needed to open it.
We asked how much it was for the remote to the air con, which we were told was 7 euros per day but unfortunately the sir con in our room was broken so we could use the standard fan in reception which they said they would put in our room. There was no charge for this although, if your air con works and you want a fan too then you have to pay extra. Reception said that a new unit was due to be fitted in the next day or so. We never got to see it so if you do get put in room 102 let me know if they have fixed it yet!!!
The room was as you would expect, simple and clean. There was 2 of everything in the kitchen, two dinner plates, two knives two forks etc. There was nowhere to plug the toaster in so we went back to reception who said she would come and sort it. She ended up putting an extension lead on the fridge and kettle. Oh, the kettle has bits flaking off the bottom (I think someone must of boiled it dry at some point). It had to be rinsed everytime we used it to get rid of the flakes.
As for the bar meals and bar staff they were brilliant, The food was lovely and tasted fresh every day. Alex, Dennis and the slim young greek girl (Can't remember her name) were absolutely fantastic. They were very attentive and made you feel at home. they kept the people that wanted to join in things like karaoke entertained but also served drinks to those of us who wanted to relax and relax.
The gentleman that cleans the pool is also excellent, I have never seen a more well kept pool.
The main problem (which wasnt that bad) was the closeness of the room to the bar. At 1am you could hear very clearly people singing or the music blaring. If you like to go to bed before midnight you might have trouble sleeping. If you are a stay up til the early hours you should be OK.
The only problem I found ith Corfu itself is the number of mosquitos. Make sure you take sprays,wristbands, plug ins and after bite. If you take kids remember they won't be able to stop themselves itching so keep their nails short and cover them in repellent.
Besides all that we did have areally good time. It was beautiful!

Room Tip: Don't go in rooms 101 or 102 if you go to bed early. Noise from the bar is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swoodward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Myself and my partner have just arrived home after a fantastic holiday at the Lagoon in Sidari.... It felt like a second home and cant wait to go back. The rooms are huge and very clean, if anyone should question the cleanliness of the Lagoon then they should think twice as we stayed at a different hotel in Sidari the week before and all I am going to say is that there is no comparrison. Great location as its really close to the main strip but not that close that you can hear the loud music, very close to the beach and its only a five minute walk to the famous and beautiful canal d'amour. The pool and bar area is kept in such an immaculate condition, the gentleman who maintains the place works so hard and spends all day everyday cleaning the pool and the grounds of the hotel. The food at the lagoon bar is very very nice and really cheap... I recommend the greek chicken and definatley the big breakfast...yummy and only 3.50 euros!! Dennis and Alex are fabulous bar staff... really friendly and will not think twice about doing anything for you. On our first day they asked us what our names were and then from that second we were all on first name terms which made the holiday very personal and such an amazing atmosphere. Amy in reception is fab!!! She is so friendly and will put her back out for you to ensurethat she meets your needs so that you have an excellent holiday. And finally a huge thankyou to Spiros for owning such a beautiful hotel.
John and Cheryl

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnCheryl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We arived at the Laggon apartments and thought the pool area and the bar was well maintained, the staff was very friendly.
The room was a different matter, it was supposed to be self catering.. Glad I took my own cutlery ans dishes.. The ones supplier were not fit to use. There wasnt a washing up bowl in the kitchen and no plug for the sink, we had to wash up in one of the 2 pans supplied. There were 2 huge pans and an unuseable frying pan. I had to buy a small pan for heating milk..No microwave. A small oven with 3 rings, when you turned the rings on there was an awfull smell of grease burning.
We had our sheets changed twice in the whole 2 weeks we were there. The bed was really hard. The towels were raggy.
After taking a shower and walking from the bathroom to the bedroom my feet were very dirty, so the floors though looked clean were very dirty, I ended up washing the path from the bathroom to the bedroom and wore sandles as soon as I got out of the shower.
I would only say use the bar and the pool but dont stay in one of the rooms.
Reception very helpful, bar staff brilliant and I take my hat off to the pool attendant, who seemed to work all hours, he did a good job in keeping the pool clean.
Special thanks to Alex, Dennis and Amy.
Eileen Ward

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

stayed at lagoon 2 weeks july 2011 what a great place really couldnt fault it rooms are huge and always kept clean pool one of the best ive seen bar exellent for snacks and meals prices good supermarket across the road very good if not a little expensive staff there are all great special mention for alex who is great company in the afternoon if you fancy a beer and a rest from the wife and kids for a couple of hours bliss also jess the lady on reception nothing is to much trouble for her took our sixteen year old son not a lot to do at the apts but he was fine once he had found the town centre didnt see him again for 2 weeks a word of warning my wife decided to go on a day trip to albania organised with first choice 70 euros what a rip off when she eventually got there after 2 hours travelling there was a few ruins and a lot of sheep and the people there were really unfriendly plus crap lunch of curled up cheese sandwiches and not a lot else dont bother going to albania cant wait to get back to lagoon in august 2012 cheers paul

Room Tip: think all the rooms will be fine but make sure you have the air con the heat i awful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked at the Lagoon Studios in Corfu as a group of five friends for a Summer holiday. Upon arriving, after a 5 hour delay, we were pleased to find someone waiting on the roadside to welcome us and show us to out apartment, seen as the reception was closed with it being 5am.

The room was huge and was wonderfully laid out, we were very impressed and it was very clean and tidy. We spent the majority of the days lazing around the pool area which was also very well looked after and were looked after by Denis and Alex from the pool bar. They made the effort to chat to everyone, no matter where they came from or what group they were, excellent hospitality.

The area is more made for younger people with its strip or bars and people outside trying to get you into them, which I can imagine is tiresome if thats not your thing. There are lovely restaurants though if you head down the main road away from the bars, and you can find a quieter area if thats what youre after.

Only negative thing, is mosquitos, but thats hardly the hotels fault. They are vicious, come armed with plug ins and sprays and dont fall asleep with the window open......something one person in our party regretted doing.

Id go back to the Lagoon Studios in a heartbeat, fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigglypuff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#1 of 39 in Sidari
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stemma Hotel
Stemma Hotel
#7 of 39 in Sidari
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#16 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
1 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagoon Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagoon Hotel and Apartments

Address: Main Road, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sidari
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run self catering apartment hotel. Swimming pool with children's paddling pool. Bar and restaurant. Reception with safe deposit boxes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lagoon Hotel Sidari
The Lagoon Hotel And Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing