We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise = great, Garnavos = horrendous”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sidari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garnavos/Paradise Apartments
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the paradise apartments for 11 days from 16th September. We have been a couple of times before and always enjoy it. The apartments are in a great location! Entertainment is rubbish, mainly bingo but because there are loads of bars etc nearby, it wasn't too bad. As we had an early morning flight back, we had to be out of our room by around 10am the morning before we left, so we paid for a late checkout room which was 35 euros until 9pm. Instead of letting us keep the room that we had stayed in for the duration, they moved us to a room in the Garnavos part of the complex! (Claiming that our room was reserved for some customers arriving at lunch time).
The Garnavos apartments are grim, really dated and dark inside, no space to swing a cat, and the balconies are shared. When we walked in, the bathroom floor was wet through and it stunk. It's just bizarre how the paradise apartments are lovely and clean inside, but the Garnavos is vile. We have already booked to return to Paradise in May, and will probably need a late checkout again, but we will definitely refuse to step foot in the Garnavos!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank AmyW1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just got back from a girls holiday for 11 days at the Paradise apartments.
Found accommodation was better than I had expected, couldn't fault it, the staff were helpful and considerate.
The place its self was lovely, food was nice, didn't have 1 bad meal.

Overall great place to stay, clean, lively and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Paradise Apartments were nice but staff attitude within the Paradise hotel were disgusting. Frances was lovely and so very helpful- a credit to this hotel. Our family will certainly not
return to this hotel in the future, we have stayed at this hotel for some considerable years.
In addition our family have spend a considerable amount of money daily, our elderly
parents who also travel with us to this hotel twice a year were also very hurt by the staff
attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

All apartments had pool views and some had fantastic views across the Ionian Sea to Albania. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 people. One bedroom had ample facilities but the other was more basic i.e. no mirror, bedside tables or reading lights - both rooms had wardrobes and patio doors leading onto furnished balcony. Shower was very slow but water always hot. Kitchen a bit small - 2 rings, mini oven and electric kettle but no toaster (we took one). Ate in the pool bar restaurant most days - food really tasty (especially full English and Moussaka) and nicely cooked and we thought fairly priced although cheaper on the strip. Apartment was cleaned 9 days out of the 10 we were there. We found all the staff to be helpful and friendly especially hardworking Maria serving food and drinks in the pool bar. Evening entertainment every night if you wanted it or very close to 'everywhere' for a night out.

BEWARE mozzies come out around 7:30pm (or dusk) so good repellant needed! We used Deet Jungle Formula and for the first time EVER we were not bitten.

We were told Corfu in September has stormy weather - we had rain overnight one night and one morning before the blazing sun came out. The weather is fantastic for the time of year!

Room Tip: Third floor apartments have great views and there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just back from 12 days at the Garvanos, had room 13 on 1st floor overlooking the large pool. Rooms are quite small and basic,maid service 6 days week & towels are changed every other day, but the towel are very hard, also fridge in the room was quite noisy. we found all of the staff very friendly. We did not require air con, but were told by others that the units in the room are quite noisy at nights. Beds are very firm and the pillows very lumpy, There are 2 pools in the complex are both are cleaned daily to a very high standard, plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. The apartments are close to the main cross road, where all the bars/ restaurants are with in easy reach, but at night you do not hear any loud music. On the main beach it is soft sand, and if you buy a drink or food from the bars you can have free sunbeds/ parasols. Calypso bar is the best breakfast on the strip (full english 3.50 euro`s, there are meals to suit all tastes on the strip, we found that The Family restaurant and the 3 little pigs restaurant were our favorite.Greek fire dancing at about 9.00 pm in 3 pigs. Most of the bars are in competition with each other, so local beer is about 2- 2.5 euros a pint, but a small bottle of cider will cost 4-5 euros. if you want to book any trips dont do it through the holiday rep, but go to Vlaseros travel on the strip (Exactly the same trips but a lot cheaper. would we go back again, Yes only next time will take blow up pillows and plenty of mosquito repellents.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool, as rooms at the rear overlook the car parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1609Upsy_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just got back from 10 days at this hotel it has a very good position at the end of the main strip and only 2 mins from the beach swimming pools are big and plenty of beds . you have got everything on your doorstep but it is quiet of a night time, food is good at the pool bar at the garnavos which is a sister hotel to the paradise they are joined together; all in all it is a good hotel and clean, and the staff are nice and one more thing dont forget your plug in mosquito things for your room or you will be sorry

George and Helen

Room Tip: ask for a room facing reception you get the sun all day on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liverbirds82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Do not be fooled by write ups,this is 2 separate apartment, Paradise is the modern part which looked ok on the outside, We were booked into GARNAVOS, which is older part, but on same complex and owned by same people and is BLOODY AWFUL. within 20 mins of arriving on 26 August 2013, we were demanding to be moved. Fridge leaked and had dirty wet towel underneath to mop up leak, rooms were very small uncared for and dirty. Bathroom door would not close and had no lock, you had to have your feet in shower bowl whilst sitting on toilet, mattress was heavily stained with urine, sheets were threadbare and had holes in them and towels also had what looked like urine stains on them, and this was all found in first 20 mins. Balcony area had dirty stagnant bucket of water outside which was catching drippings from air con. We complained to the receptionist Frances, what a very very rude lady and she tells lies, apparently the leaking fridge was "defrosting"when we pointed out that trip advisor reviews dating back 2 years stated same complaint, long time for fridge to defrost. we complained vehemently to to the rep Tara who we found sympathetic, we then asked for this to be taken higher and demanded speaking with her manager. Richie, the Thomas cook manager was fantastic, and very sympathetic, at 0900 the next morning we were given another option to move to which after viewing turned out to be a far far superior apartment in a better location with sea views, we had full accommodation refund, which paid for the new apartment and we also had Money back too. Sidari was a fantastic location and we ended up having an awesome holiday after heartache of first . Go to Madison's on the strip and say hi to DJ Simon, tell him the "BRUMELS" recommended you,atmosphere there is fantastic and his music quiz is good fun, live music is fab. All together a great holiday, but please please avoid the Garnavos like the plaque..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Sidari
Hotel Astoria Sidari
#32 of 39 in Sidari
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Apartments
Sunshine Apartments
#12 of 39 in Sidari
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#28 of 39 in Sidari
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#3 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria's Beach Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnavos/Paradise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnavos/Paradise Apartments

Address: Sidari 49081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Hotel Class:2 star — Garnavos/Paradise Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely apartments. Garnavos are the older apartments, paradise apartments are newer but shared pools reception etc. same place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garnavos Hotel Sidari
Garnavos/Paradise Apartments Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing