We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*** By far the BEST hotel in the world!!! ***”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Well all I can say is that this hotel is by far the best place to stay in the world... It truly is magical!!!
I have been going here now for 7 years and have never been disappointed.

The hotel is extremely clean up to the highest standards with bed sheets and towels being changed 6 times a week, for a 3 star that is pretty good going!

The food in the hotel is absolutely fantastic with a lovely continental breakfast in the morning served by a smiling Spiros and the Fantastic Andrea.

And then in the evening there is always a great choice of starters, mains and deserts to choose from with the waiting service in the evening being truly excellent which is led by the most helpful Deano who has always got a smile on his face and is always happy to help. :o)

I must say that I do think that the staff make this hotel so EXCELLENT!!!

The Girls on reception are really nice and chatty and always on hand to help you with whatever they can.

In the day time there is Marios, Claudia and little Costas to tend to your every need and have a giggle with, and then you will find the other Spiros turns up to blow his horn for 'HAPPY HOUR!' :o)

There is entertainment in the day time which is led by an outside company….this is the only thing about the hotel that has a lot to be desired as its not what I would call entertainment, with the same things happening everyday which isn’t much I do believe that this company are letting the hotel down.

However You have Christos, Thomas and Costas behind the bar in the evenings with there great service and laugh a minute jokes there is no need to go anywhere else as they really are a scream, and watch out once or twice a week they treat you to there own Greek dancing where Big Kostas comes in to show you how its done :o).

The entertainment in the evening is different every night and could be anything from Andrea's fantastic Bingo with its great Jackpots to Greek night to Karaoke!!!!

And of Course I could not forget to mention the best DJ on the island DJ Spiros who is not only a DJ but is a waiter, bar man and the events co-coordinator too a very multi talented man ha ha.

They all work so hard at this Beautiful and fantastic hotel to make sure everyone is always happy and having fun. There truly is not better place to spend your Holidays than the Alkion...

Francesca Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Blondiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel was great and the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theSmiler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Alkyon definitely punches above its weight in many key areas for a 3 star hotel, it is without doubt terrific value for money.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, the public areas are impressive, the evening meal is generally excellent with plenty of choice and the service is usually outstanding, from all of the Greek waiters and Andrea.

Outside, the swimming pool is of a decent size, clean and with enough space for everyone who wants to use it. Importantly, there always seems to be plenty of sunbeds and parasols - something which a lot of more expensive hotels should realise is crucial to many peoples foreign holiday.

We found all of the staff, especially Dora and Sherie in Reception, to be more than helpful and very friendly.

The downsides to this hotel are threefold -

Firstly, some of the rooms are small and really "tired" - to be polite. They need updating and the sooner the better, they are not what I would class as 3-star standard.

Secondly, the breakfasts are poor. They are nowhere near "continental breakfast" quality. There are no cold meats, no cheeses, no variety of breads, eggs, yoghurts, cereals etc etc. You are given "the choice" of corn flakes or greek yoghurt, or bread, you are given a couple of slices each of cold under-done toast and a tiny amount of "butter" and poor quality strawberry jam every day. You couldn't make it up, very very easy for the hotel to vastly improve on this aspect of your holiday experience.

Thirdly, all of our party were non-smokers and this hotel seems to attract quite a disproportionate percentage of inconsiderate smokers who will quite unashamably draw deeply on their fagswhether you are on the next sunbed or at the next table at the poolside cafe. This has been stamped out in our country and it is surely about time that the Alkyon banned people from smoking in these areas and totally in the hotel and bedrooms. I would recommend large notices to this effect where these people can be aware of the nuisance that they cause to other hotel guests young and old.

In conclusion, we would most certainly stay at this hotel again, it offers real value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrdand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just returned from a week at Hotel Alkyon, Sidari Corfu on 1st Aug 2011 with Thomson.

We found this Hotel to be very clean and all the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but adequate, with maid service six times a week and towels changed as often as wanted. Fridge & Air Con incur additional charge, but we didn't use either.

Breakfast was fine for us. Choice is limited to Cornflakes, Fruit Salad or Greek Yoghurt every day with Toast, Tea/Coffee and Orange Juice. Extra Charge of 2 Euros is incurred if you want a Full English. The Evening Meal was excellent with a great choice with at least 4 choices of starter and main course and even more for the sweet course. All were served by friendly waiters/waitresses. The only negative we thought was that the evening meals were served from 7pm - 9.30pm, a little late for families with young children as we noticed some of the young children were falling asleep at the table.

The pool area was great and well equipped with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The pool was clean and every night the area was cleaned and organised for the next day. The pool bar was open throughout the day and we ate our lunch here every day. The choice was excellent and very reasonably priced.

The Jango entertainment team were there day and night, but did not pressure anyone to particpate and the evening entertainment was varied and good.

The hotel is located far enough out from the centre of Sidari to avoid the noise of the clubs and bars, but close enough to wander in a night and during the day for shopping.

Recommend visting the Canal D'amour area , which we did every evening to enjoy the beautiful sunsets.

Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely return to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MoiraD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I recently returned from this hotel. We stayed here in july 2011 and had a great holiday whilst staying here. The hotel is situated in a perfect location...central but not too close to the busy end of sidari. The walk to the beach is only around 5 minutes and the same for the two surrounding coves. However, most beach resturants will provide free sunbeds all day on the beach except for the odd few who charge 4 euro each per-person per-day.

The hotel is very clean with friendly staff (apart from one waitress with blond hair who i personally found was very rude and abrupt towards certain people including ourselves). The morning breakfast was a continental breakfast but could pay 2 euro extra for a cooked breakfast which i feel having already payed half board for the holiday we should not have had to do this. There was not enough tea supplied as had to ask for the correct amount of tea bags as the rude waitress only supplied 2 tea bags for three people. We had to keep reminding that we were paying four adult breakfasts not just three. She made us feel as though we were beggings for the correct amount and she was clearly not happy when we asked her for the correct portion of milk or tea bags which we had payed for, however we did not feel this with the other staff. The evening meals on the other hand, were excellent. i had no complaints with the meals as they were excellent standard with a good variety of traditional dishes and friendly staff. We felt we coud not have gone out and found anything better than that standard. 10 out of 10 for the evening meals and all the evening staff. The hotel provided an excellent selection of entertainment for the evenings which we found matched any of the other bars in sidari. so, if you didn't want to venture out it wasn't a problem staying in the hotel as it had a brilliant atmosphere.

The rooms were nice but basic however, very clean with cleaners in everyday. You had the choice on whether you wanted clean towels daily i cannot fault cleanliness at all but the shower was very basic but this is what is normally expected in greece.

Sidari itself is very nice through the day but as you head further into sidari at night beware of being hasselled of people trying to force you into the bars which i found got very annoying as most of them would not take no for an answer when you were trying to get by...i found i would have possibly gone in some of the bars if it was'nt for being haselled so much!

Also beware of mozzy bites...makesure you go prepared!

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday in the alkion hotel and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emmalouise2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We just returned from this hotel.First of all I congratulate the hotel for having multi language staff. (One of the waiters seemed to speak 3 or 4 languages). The room was big enough for 2 people. With 2 single beds. Mine was comfy enough.But we had to turn the mattress on the other.then that was fine.
The room was had quite a bit of storage space.With a big cupboard to put your cases away.Our room faced west ,so we had she hot sun all afternoon and evening. Unfortunatally It was so hot in the evening we couldnt sit out in the suntrap without hanging up towels to make shade!
The bathroom had as others have said the worst shower I have come across..It is a small stall about 2 foot square. With a curtain round 3 sides.Whenever you bent down you would sit in this curtain and it would stick to you.Very uncomfortable. The shower head was a mixer from the cath tap that was very loose and would not stay pointing at you and kept pointing from side to side. So you were constantly adjusting it. In the end I was soaking m,y self in the stall, soaping on the tiled floor outside the stall and rinsing back in the stall!
The food was all mass produced veg, and the same meat every day with a different sauce on it to call it a different name. Chicken,beef, lamb or sometimes fish.All the food was precooked and when ithey had used up what they had cooked you didnt get offered it ). One day we were in the restaurant for only 20 minutes and we had starter, main and desseret! NOT all cooked to order I think!). One day they had "Beef steak" advertised. I thought "about time a nice steak".No. It was a burger!!
There are so many restaurants nearby,with very reasonable prices I wish we'd gone self catering or B&B .You can get a proper cooked meal for about 7 euros.( Last year we went to spain and were spebding around 10 euros for meals). Very cheap.
The pool area wa very nice, with a big grassy area with plenty of sunbeds. We saved ours out of habit ,but didnt need to.
The staff were all very nice and all good English speakers Very quick service as I have said. Dont buy a cocktail as the measures are very small.Mayba a capfull is all you get.
Drink prices were OK. No hotel rip off. Mythos draught was 3 a pint.
We enjoyed our stay except for the shower and the food.

Sidari it self at night has a very loud "strip" full of bars with backing track singers doing Take that (2 of them!) Lady gaga etc.The noise was so loud I couldnt go in them!
We did find a gem though. You should seek this place out. Its an oasis of calm.Just opposite San Remo,there is a side road that leads to the jetty on the beach.If you go down there you will find Kellys Ice House.Where you can get Crepes Ice cream and Waffles But at night its the best bar for cocktails ( great measures!). Its out in the open air not a noise filled room. They have Greek music piped quietly around you and nice bench seats.The owners are an English girl and her Greek husband. Her dad serves and always makes sure every things all right.
The beach is all sand and the sea is very shallow, so is ideal for kids.Plenty of sunbeds. And if you are a customer,the restaurant that front the beach do not charge for the beds out front.You pay 8 euros further up the beach.
All in all a nice resort. But go dont go half board.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seemore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

had great honeymoon the food top quality very good choice would reccomend tis hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgetheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#19 of 39 in Sidari
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Star Hotel
Beach Star Hotel
#18 of 39 in Sidari
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#17 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: £36 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing