We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

just got back from spending a week at this hotel which I was worried about due to reading some reviews but can honestly say it was lovely. my husband, 16 year old daughter and I had a triple room with a garden view and yes the room was basic, but it was tidy, spacious and kept clean by the lovely staff. I found all the staff at the hotel to be friendly and approachable. we were half board and the continental breakfast was fine and some days we payed the extra 2 euros and had a English breakfast. the evening meals were always tasty and varied and im missing them already. the pool was clean and not overcrowded and we always found sunbeds. really cant fault the place and would use again.

Room Tip: you can email the hotel directly and ask for a specific room such as pool view - they always try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1happymum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    161
    53
    15
    8
See reviews for
146
231
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

this was our second holiday to the resort of sidari and sixth holiday to the wonderful island that is corfu we found the alkyon hotel very pleasant and enjoyed our one week holiday very much our room was quite spacious cleaned daily with clean towels . if needed the food was satisfactory with plenty of choice the pool was nice with plenty of beds and brollies needed as was really hot the week we were there the staff are all friendly .if ihad to complain would be having to pay 35 euro for air con and having to pay for use of fridge other than that a very nice time was had by my husband and I .

Room Tip: we had room 229 which was overlooking the pool very spacious although a little nosiey of an evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Alkyon Hotel is very centrally situated in Central Sidari, it has very basic , very clean rooms , the staff are friendly amd helpful .
The pool area is very good with new sunloungers around the pool and there are plenty of them, we were able to get one at any time of day , the pool is clean and very nice.
breakfast did not appeal to us , top tip buy a pint of milk from the supermarket across the road and take it down to breakfast with you as the milk provided is long life milk which i don't like the taste of . Dinner in the evening was a complete contrast the food was very nice with a good range of dishes served every evening ,it is buffet style and can become busy at peak times.
There is entertainment on in the hotel every evening and the bar prices are not expensive ,
I would recommend this hotel and i would return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a small and friendly family run hotel which is just a nice distance away from the main Sidari Strip allowing you easy access to nightlife on foot but also peace and quiet on your return to the hotel. Only a few minutes walk away from the main beach.
I have to say that the hotel itself is very friendly, food is good and the premises kept very clean. The hotel staff are all very pleasant and friendly and try their utmost to remember your name. They remembered ours after 12 years or so! That really says something:)
I did have a problem with having a very hard mattress on my bed but I am a lot older now than I was on my last visit. This however was easily rectified when pointed out. So if you have a problem please speak nicely to the staff who will be only too pleased to help in any way they can.
The main beach for Sidari however is a bit dirty in places and is definitely not as clean as it was on our last visit here over 12 years ago but I suppose nothing stays the same.
When you come out of the hotel the main strip is only a few minutes away by turning right out of the hotel and walking straight. If you want a cleaner beach and some quieter surroundings, turn left towards the Canal D"Amour, try to ignore the yukkie smell of the canal, go to the bottom of that road, turn left and keep walking til you come across a place called The Rock. There is a small clean and sandy beach just at The Rock Complex which you can use. We found this much nicer than the main Sidari beach.
We still found eating out, if needed, to be very reasonable with breakfast costing around €2 to €3.

Room Tip: Do not pay for a fridge or A/C until you have seen your room. Our room already had a fully operatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Est26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

just returned from a weeks stay in the alkyon hotel, stayed in room 210 which over looked the back of the hotel, not the best view but the room was clean and I didn't spend much time in the room so not really an issue, room was basic only 2 sockets, a fridge and a tv that was very high up on the wall and the remote control worked only occasionally. the pool area is brilliant, plenty of sunbeds, snacks n drinks are available all day and are reasonably priced.
The staff were excellent, very friendly and very hard working, a lovely bunch of people, wasn't keen on the continental breakfast tho and the milk is awful, really missed a decent cuppa on a morning, you can have a cooked breakfast at the cost of 2 euros, the evening menu was very good, great choice and tasty, it is buffet style so if you have room you can get a top up, but with a good salad bar 5/6 main dishes along with veg potatoes and of course CHIPS and desserts you would have to be extremely hungry to do a return trip.
sidari itself is ok, looks a little worn in places but life isn't easy for the greeks at the moment, some lovely bars and eating places, especially the ones that overlook the beach, the food was excellent in mediterano, bed bar and calypso and my favourite bar was mojitos on the beach,
I would definitely go back to this resort and stay at the alykon again as it is well positioned and I enjoyed my stay and liked the staff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

just returned from a weeks stay in the alkyon hotel good points , we had room 229 very large room had bath and shower with a shower curtain plenty hot water , nice balcony overlooking pool .food we thought was very good plenty choice . plenty of sun beds and pool was very nice to cool off also there was a Jacuzzi which was also nice to cool off as it was extremely hot when we were there :) the snack bar on an afternoon served hot and cold food which was good value and always very nice . the staff all work very hard and are all very pleasant and friendly . bad points having to pay for aircon and fridge in room a bit steep ,a little bit more choice for breakfast , tea and coffee would have been nice at evening meal (FREE) all in all the good points out weigh the bad this was our second time in sidari and the resort has deteriated in our opinion we love the island of corfu this was our sixth holiday would return to the island but not to this resort

Room Tip: did not see in any other rooms but ours was fine room 229
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbush2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had a great 2 week stay at the Alkyon Hotel with my partner. Our room was a great size and was very clean. We paid extra for air conditioning and the use of the fridge as it was needed. Food was good, however just got a bit repetitive into the second week. All the staff were friendly and provided a great service There were plenty of sun beds however they always seemed to fill up fast so we often had to get up earlier to try and get good beds. Hotel is in a great area 5 min walk to the beach and a 2 min walk to the nearest shop. Plenty of restaurants and shops. Done a few trips as well which were great. The hotel was full of families so if your looking for a place with no children I would not recommend here. Over all a pleasant stay and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Andromeda
Corfu Andromeda
#3 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
Smartline Mimosa Hotel
#10 of 41 in Sidari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#12 of 41 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Property: Alkyon Hotel
Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
#10 Family Hotel in Sidari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing