We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alkyon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Alkion for the 2nd time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves again.
Our room was spotless and cleaned everyday except Sundays by the very hard working cleaners, towels are changed when you like by simply leaving them in the shower. Beds were also changed regularly.
The food is very good, breakfast is quite basic but adequate, cooked breakfast can be bought for 2.50 or you could get a breakfast on the strip for around 3 euros.
Dinner, in our opinion, was very good. Plenty of choice and always hot. My husband is a fussy eater and always found something to eat and filled up completely. Desserts were available if you wanted and we did not witness the 'handing out one each' approach as other reviews have stated - many people had more than one! The same applied to the meal - if you wanted to go up more than once then you could.
Lunchtime meals are great value for money and of excellent quality. Specials are always available for under 4 euros including a soft drink.
All of the hotel staff are great - Mario & Maria at breakfast and lunchtimes and Deano, Christos etc in the evening - everyone so, so friendly and hardworking, right through to Spiros who keeps the hotel safe at night, we had many a chat and laugh with him.
The whole hotel is kept immaculately clean, the pool area is great and always enough sun beds to go around, no litter anywhere.
The hotel is in a perfect area, just a short walk to the main strip and nightlife (close enough but far enough away to be unaffected by any noise), and again, just a short walk to the beach & Canal d'Amour.
There is entertainment every evening, tribute acts, Greek night, bingo - we stayed for some of these but normally went down to the strip - Madisons recommended (Take Two are well worth a watch!) and huge recommendation of Siesta Bar, we spent time here every evening.
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and highly recommend the Alkion. We cannot wait til next time!

Room Tip: If you like the quiet, ask for a room away from the pool as these rooms are over the bar, if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Em-Bob789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent hotel, staff are fantastic, rooms are spacious and nice and clean and the food does not disappoint. This is my third time and I will defiantly be back. we took our 4 year old daughter with us and she was treat like a princess which I thought was absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: rooms at the back away from pool area are quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were allocated the smallest room I have ever came across in a hotel which resulted in one having to leave the room when the other gets ready, do NOT take the official photograph of the room as the standard, this is twice the size of some rooms and being asked to pay for AC was not what I had expected in any hotel. The balcony from our room was always in the shade and never had the sun, a real downer if you like us like to sit out on the balcony late in the afternoon.
There is a television in the room which is positioned at an incredible height in the room and is advertised as being satellite but the only English speaking channel was SKY news, again not a problem apart for the fact that I personally like to catch up on the news in the morning.
Apart from this the hotel is staffed by very welcoming and helpful staff; the food was on the whole of a good standard and kept hot by only being replenished as required. The lunch time snacks are the best we found in Sidari, great value and very tasty, there is always a special which will give you a meal and a drink for under 4 Euros, This however is countered by the hotel making a charge for a cooked breakfast, and this was priced at 2.5 Euros.
The hotel and the rooms were kept in a spotless condition by a very friendly cleaning staff, only down side was that rooms are not cleaned and towels not changed on a Sunday which caught us on out as we had put our towels on the floor to be changed.
The entertainment is of the usual hotel standard with one or two good acts, but we did enjoy a couple of the nights we stayed to watch what was on show.
The pool always looked clean and well maintained and as there were more sun beds than required, no one bothered to put out a towel at the crack of dawn.
It is easy walking to reach the centre of the town and should you wish to travel around the island the bus stop is just outside the hotel.
The Alkyon is reckoned to be the best hotel in Sidari a sentiment with which I tend to agree and some of the guests we met had visited this hotel 20 times and I am sure that anyone who stays will have a wonderful holiday as we did, but the few negatives I mentioned especially the size of the room will mean I would not return to the Alykon unless I specifically wanted to stay in Sidari.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank imminent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

a great family run hotel ,catering for all ages .the rooms are very comfortable and cleaned daily ,good bar /restaurant area with excellent food and service ,the pool area is well equipped with more than enough sun loungers to go round ,also good access to the beach or the town but well situated so quiet at night with no noise pollution from the night revellers ,the staff most helpful and nothing is too much for them .

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at the Alkyon Hotel 16/6/2014 to 27/6/2014.This is Greece so dont expect hotels like Spain.Hotels are small and simple.the Alkyon is small simple and very friendly .First excellent position 300yds to Sidari strip 100 yds to canal d amour 100yds to beach.Very clean good pool very clean hotel.Tavernas and bars close but no noise.Bedrooms cleaned daily and towels changed two three times a week as was bedding .The rooms above the bar with pool view could have been a bit noisy from restaurant and entertainment in hotel.I did not see entertainment in hotel but there were tribute bands karaoke etc so cannot comment on this.Rooms to rear and side get sun from 3pm till 6 30pm.Room nos 117 118 119 are on ground floor and are sun traps at times of day stated but most rooms get share of sun .Food...breakfast is continental cornflakes rolls mixed fruit <canned not fresh>toast .OR you can order full english at a cost of "2 50" euro !!!! but you will be ok with continental and can get a full english anywhere for 3 50 euro Evening meals not a lot of variety but im a very fussy eater but always got full .Nothing wrong with evening meals and very well cooked.Sweets limited but saves people wasting .....strawberries cream...jelly..cakes..etc ice cream if you ask all in all you wont starve!!If i go back ti Sidari the Alkyon will be my first choice.Now a message to the big boss of the Alkyon .... you are very lucky to have great staff they are wonderful friendly and all hard workers ..forgot to mention reception very helpful and friendly..oh 1 last thing Spiros night porter .....worth a pay rise !!!! sorry spiros i had to do it !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank selwyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at The Alkyon Hotel in Sidari. This resort is one of my favorites and I have stayed in many different hotels and apartments over the years, but would certainly rate the Alkyon amongst the best. Nothing was too much trouble, bedding and linen was changed nearly every day, all the staff were friendly and helpful. Well done, as Arnie would say "I'll be back" !!

Room Tip: Set on three floors, with a lift to get you up I would have to say that any room would suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joylharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

had a lovely holiday here in sidari only downside was the hidden charge of 35 euros for the air condition 10 euros for fridge and 10 euros for safety deposit box booked through Thomson travel 1 week cruise and 1 week htl stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jamesmclinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidari
0.8 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
3.9 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#17 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eleni Family Apartments
Eleni Family Apartments
#28 of 39 in Sidari
25 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Alkyon A.E., Sidari 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidari
#5 Family Hotel in Sidari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: £32 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alkyon Hotel is considered one of the finest in the locality. Once you have experienced its excellent facilities, friendly atmosphere and great location, you will agree that the Alkyon Hotel is a superb choice for a memorable holiday.For those who enjoy a family atmosphere in a lively resort, whether you are ‘Couples’ after that quiet break away, ‘Families’ looking to spend some special time together or ‘Friends’ after that fun filled holiday, the Alkyon Hotel is the place to be.The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Sidari yet only a stones throw away from all the essential holiday amenities. You will find Sidaris beautiful stretch of sandy beach barely 150m away, and the resorts center, occupied with its many shops, bars and restaurants barely 250m away.Our luxurious ‘Jacuzzi’,‘Wi-Fi Access’,‘Daily Entertainment’ and fun filled ‘Children’s Play Area’ are only a few of the excellent facilities that we have on site; guaranteeing that the Alkyon Hotel has something to satisfy everyone’s needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Sidari, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing