We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holidays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Apartments
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Sidari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

my wife and I have been regular visitors here for the last 12 years, many of which have been both June and September. Clean rooms, good peaceful location, friendly staff , owners who care , clean pool , good food , great regular guests who pick their particular weeks and return to meet their new-found friends year in , year out. Nothing else to say , THIS PLACE IS TOPS , which is why it continues to win Thomson awards . We booked July 2012 for our June 2013 visit, and prior to that date , booked May 2013 for our June 2014 trip. This shows how popular this establishment is

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Well where can I start?! My wife and I arrived in the early hours last Saturday. A previous post advised that we would find our name and room number on a chalk board and the keys to our apartment in the door waiting. Not a problem at all and the room consisted of two separate beds, although we had requested a double. Both shattered we slept comfortably or a couple of hours. I expected to see or of he owners the next morning as I was looking forward to meet with Nikos as previous posts mention how lovely there were. Nikos and the cleaner arrived on Monday. We were to never see sight of Nikos again but before he did his vanishing act I did mange to get a rickety old fan off him whilst he mumbled about all the children that kick the fans and break them! The bar remained shut all week and the pool cloudy and unapealing. The cleaner arrived only once to roomand we had towels changed. The sheets were ever only pulled up over the pillow and were not changed all week. Now don't get me wrong, the purpose of this post is not a moan as We did have good sleep in a quite location but I do need to advice potential travellers that their is no sexy cook as suggested, no bar and no lively Greek nights at these apartments. I have no idea why this should be as I certainly do not disbelieve my fellow reviewers but the seemingly jovielness that has been previously present was severely lacking this last week. If you go self catering there is no kettle, no toaster nor bottle opener. Just ask you say?? How can you if there is no one to ask!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENO1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Sunshine apartments (couple and 14 year old daughter) from 1st to 16th August. We stayed in a two bedroom upper floor apartment overlooking the pool (no 17). The apartment and all it's facilities were what you would expect in Greece (basic but functional and served their purpose) and we had a great balcony with a view of the pool. The cleaner Mimosa was very sweet and kept our apartment lovely and clean. Bins were emptied daily and towels changed more than twice a week. We paid for the air conditioning upon arrival which was well worth it and fans were also available for a small charge.The owners Athena and Nicos met us on arrival and showed us to our room, they couldn't have been more helpful if they tried, nothing was too much trouble. The Sunshine pool was great and kept lovely and clean by Nicos. There were always sunbeds available although we didn't spend too much time around the pool, preferring to visit the beach and other resorts as we hired a car for some of our stay. The Sunshine bar area was comfortable and welcoming with the fabulous Petros and Minnie providing much entertainment and cocktails! We ate at the Sunshine a number of times; the food was fantastic (thanks Shula)with big helpings and not pricey. We also ate at other restaurants in Sidari on the main strip - The Greek Village Restaurant overlooking the sea was our favourite with delicious food and great service and Calypso which, again was great food and good value for money. We met some fantastic people during our stay (Dave, Lynn, Ann, Mick, Mandy and Richard to name but a few) and it seems that families return to the Sunshine year after year and its plain to see why. I would highly recommend these apartments and if you are lucky enough to stay here you must attend the Greek night; everyone gets involved and its a great night. Thanks to Athena and her family for a wonderful holiday. Lots of love from Norwich (Alan the Plumber!!)

Room Tip: If you're looking for a two bedroomed apartment here, no 17 is a great upper floor apartment wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cityfolk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned and didn't know what to expect after reading some reveiws.
On arrival met by the owner Athena on seeing how small my grandson was she suggested we have a different room and not the one we should have had with stairs how thoughtfull.
On entering room thought very basic especially the kitchen area but clean.
On entering the pool area realised most people in apartments were adults and was a little worried having 3 young grandchildren with me .
Well how wrong I could be the kids lov the pool area and the people we did meet were lovely .
The scores family (not staying at this apt but were regulars ) very friendly
The Welch family . Also Margaret and Tom from Scotland and of course the Geordie family made it such a enjoyable time .
Mimosa the c,earner very good and polite and the chef Shula must be one of the best in Greece the food here is fantastic and very well priced.

Athena works from early morning till well after 12 at night deserves a medal vry helpfull and works her heart out .
not forgetting Petros who is the lovely helpful funny batman .

We ate at the orchard just turn left about 5 mins up road well worth a visit but in all honesty the food at sunshine was fantastic.

Book a beach BBQ from shop just down the groan English speaking lady and was fab value also did horse riding

I arrived as a stranger and left as a friend thanks for a great week on behalf of my self and grandchildren

Room Tip: Room 10 overlooks pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked this hotel on a budget as me and my partner work in schools so had to go peak season,but couldn't afford a lot. The hotel was extremely reasonable priced for the time of year. The apartments were well equipped for Greece:Kettle,toastie maker, shower holder (a luxury in greek apartments). The rooms were a little dated especially the bathroom but tell me any apartments on a budget in Greece that aren't. You can get Air-Con at a price but the rooms are fairly cool so we found we didn't need it.Rooms are extremely clean and staff very friendly, the owner doesn't have the best understanding but is a nice lady. The pool area is great and for the time of year was lovely and quiet. The bar/restaurant is lovely although we did not have an evening meal we had breakfast everyday and some lunch. The location is brilliant canal d'amour beaches, restaurants and bars 5 min walk, with Sidari strip 15 min walk. I recommend the little coved beaches in canal d'amour over Sidari beach their gorgeous and very picturesque. Aquarius restaurant (on the beach top) and Orchard (left out of the hotel 5 min walk) were my favourites. Overall this is a fantastic little hotel for people on a budget wanting a chilled week away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The previous reviews do not reflect the apartments - we had a lovely week there, the owners will do whatever in their power they can do pricing was clear for additional extras. We didn't eat on an evening at The apartments just because we had a short list of restaurants we wanted to visit - this had no impact on our stay and the owner is a lovely lady who tries very hard with the english language - her favourite word being "okay".

Overall for the price we paid this was definately what it said on the tin " Small & Friendly"

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikkxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

just had one week in this place right from the of when we arrived is was not good we were shown to our room by the lady owner (Athena) she gave us the key and off she went nothing about the prices of the air con nothing was explained about the room it seemed she did not give a monkeys the rep was hopeless as well all the prices of the air con are all out of date it says 35 euros on the notice board but the rude owner barked 40 euros when we asked you have to find things out for yourself in this place.the food and eating area is not good it is clean but if you order some food you might not get what you asked for a simply chip butty means a plate of chips and as you are eating they sit and stare at you it is really off putting from then on we stayed well clear from around the bar and got the cold shoulder even more as we were not spending money at that bar from then on we ate out we like people to smile when they take your money not give you daggers we noticed that the people who go back year after year are giving a nice send off if you are not in this click forget it.the pool area was clean but the whole place needs a major overhaul owners first learn some English instead of your welcome.and the rooms need updating badly sidari is lovely plenty of bars places to eat mini markets etc would we go back yes but not to the sunshine your welcome.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like but ours was very very basic smelt damp in the cupboa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidari hotels
0.4 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Sidari
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olga Apartments
Olga Apartments
#18 of 39 in Sidari
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidari Water Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#11 of 39 in Sidari
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panorama Sidari
Panorama Sidari
#16 of 39 in Sidari
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angelina's Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Apartments

Address: Canal d'Amour, Sidari 490 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Sidari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sidari
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sidari
Price Range: £25 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Apartments Sidari, Corfu
Sunshine Apartments Hotel Sidari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing