We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cikada well worth the price”
Review of Hotel Cikada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cikada
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Cikada, the room was comfortable although a Little bit to warm, and the staff was really helpful. They have a pool and the scenery is OK. The food is average and the breakfast is plentiful. For Aland standards the price is low which gives the hotel a 4.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bengt_fjallborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

In the context of a small Finnish resort town, Hotel Cikada is a good hotel. It is very close to the water, near the ferry terminal, but also walking distance from the center of town. It has a nice outdoor deck and pool. Our room looked out on the harbour and the museum ship Pommern.

The hotel itself reminded me of a cross between Ibis and an American Motel 8. Our room had wooden furniture, twin beads, very simple bathrooms, soap/shampoo dispensers rather than little bottles lined up on the sink. It was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We had to cancel our third night and they refunded the prepaid cost.

Breakfast was minimal but adequate: Juices, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage, sliced cheese, breads. The breakfast area, long tables reminiscent of a camp settng, becomes a restaurant and bar in the evening. There are a few steps to the entrance, but a ramp that was not assembled yet when we were ther in mid April. Free, fast wi. This is a pretty reasonably priced choice in a fairly pricy little town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This rather dull but functional and cheap hotel offers OK rooms and breakfast without charm and lack of more than the most necessary comfort. The location is also OK. Advantages are the outdoor and indoor swimming pools. I would say that you may find it OK for one or two nights if your demands are modest but hardly more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the pool and restaurant area and avoid the rear of the hotel where rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Fairly clean rooms, a nice view from the balcony and a very short walking distance to both the ferry and the museo ship Pommern. Everything's from the 70's, but the prices are also very reasonable. The breakfast was just enough, not too grand, and we had to ask for the rolls twice to have some, but all in all for a one night's stay it was alright. I enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere and found the staff friendly and helpful. Not a three-star hotel, but easily a three-star hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _m78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days last summer with my family. The rooms were simple and the furniture and decoration was old and cheap. The hotel had a nice pool which made or stay great. Nice patio area to have a beer or two if it is warm. The location was good, very close to the ferry and a walking distance to the center of the city.
For me this Cicada is more like the motels in the USA than a hotel. If you are fine with that, this is a good choce.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. My room had twin beds and a balcony. The furniture, as well as, the bed linen and covers wer dated but the room was clean. The hotel lacks air conditioning so it can be quite hot in the summer.

The hotel has an outside pool and terrace. Also, the location of the hotel is ok. The breakfast buffet has a very limited selection.

If you're looking for a basic and inexpensive hotel, this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms on the courtyard side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Åland is a very nice place to visit, and the people are friendly. Try to choose another place to stay though. The Cikada is run by a person who lacks even the smallest hint of a service-mind. We showed up for breakfast Sunday morning, at 7 o´clodk in order to make the ferry home. "No breakfast if you haven´t ordered in advance, it is served at 8 on Sundays." the manager informed us. He claimed to have informed us three days earlier which wasn´t the case. I suggested we could agree that we disagreed on the information-part, but expected some kind of solution. The answer from the manager sums it up - "There is nothing to be had for you!". Not a good start for a long day, and not the best way to end our one, and definitely only stay at Cikada.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hassebasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mariehamn hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Alandia Hotel
Park Alandia Hotel
#6 of 7 in Mariehamn
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Strandnas Hotel
Strandnas Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mariehamn
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
#2 of 7 in Mariehamn
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pommern
Hotel Pommern
#1 of 7 in Mariehamn
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotell Arkipelag
Hotell Arkipelag
#5 of 7 in Mariehamn
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adlon
Hotel Adlon
#3 of 7 in Mariehamn
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cikada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cikada

Address: Hamngatan 1, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Region: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Price Range: £47 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cikada 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cikada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cikada Mariehamn, Aland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing