We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”
Review of Gasthem Kronan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthem Kronan
Ranked #2 of 2 Mariehamn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I'd got a confirmed booking by email, but I phoned from the ferry an hour before arriving just to make sure. On the phone, the owner was grumpy and unfriendly. Anyway, I arrived at the B&B and there was nobody there. I rang the bell several times, but nothing. After 10 minutes, I tried phoning, and eventually there was a sound from upstairs. The owner came clattering down, drunk (it was 1 pm), unshaven and smelly, and ranted at me for waking him up.
I walked out, and went to the Tourist Office to ask for their help in finding somewhere else. When I explained about the behaviour of the Kronan owner, the Tourist Office lady apologised, and told me that this was not the first time that this had happened - indeed they'd had similar complaints before.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Gasthem Kronan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

I went to Aland for two nights for a short side trip. I found Kronan on the visitaland.com site I was also recommended Kronan on a travel forum.

Kronan is an excellent budget choice in Mariehamn where things are quite expensive. It has shared bathrooms and showers so you need to bring your own towel, or buy one in town. My room was clean and decent with a table, chairs and a sink. There was a window and it looked out to the lovely views of "suburban" Mariehamn. Breakfast is included in the spring and summer months. There is a fridge the guests can use.

The reception is usually unmanned. The owner Peter and the staff come by around lunchtime to clean up the breakfast and do the rooms. At other times, you can call him and if you have no phone, use the one in the lobby. If you make a reservation, they will leave the room key on the reception desk.

Kronan is only two blocks from the Western Harbor where the ferries dock so it is very convenient if you are using them to and from Aland. You can arrive on the late boats and with a reservation, pick up your key and you can be in your room very quickly after arrival.

The recommended thing to do is to get around town and the islands by bicycle. You can rent one at Kronan for EUR 8/day or if you want more choices, like more than one gear or a basket in front, you can do that elsewhere. The ones at Kronan are fine and with so little grade in Aland, I really had no need for more gears. By bike central Mariehamn is only a minute or two away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Völlig egal. Hauptsache ein Bett :-)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Pipalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vältä tätä majataloa terveydellisistä syistä
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank ArtoAntturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alla rum är lika
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jangustavson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank HelenaF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mariehamn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pommern
Hotel Pommern
#1 of 7 in Mariehamn
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
#2 of 7 in Mariehamn
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adlon
Hotel Adlon
#3 of 7 in Mariehamn
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotell Arkipelag
Hotell Arkipelag
#5 of 7 in Mariehamn
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cikada
Hotel Cikada
#7 of 7 in Mariehamn
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Strandnas Hotel
Strandnas Hotel
#4 of 7 in Mariehamn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthem Kronan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthem Kronan

Address: Neptunigatan 52 B, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Region: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mariehamn
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthem Kronan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthem Kronan Mariehamn, Aland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing