We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very basic hotel, nothing special to report. We were booked a superior room, but as it did not have a proper air conditiong, we changed to a standard room. The rooms was ok, but little worn-out. And there was a bad smell in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok, but there was a chaos in the breakfast room in the mornings, when all the customers of the fully booked hotel were trying to have breakfast at the same time. Also in one morning a cleaning lady started to vacuum the floors at sharp 10 o'clock, when the breakfast time officially ended. Haven't seen this never before. It was not very nice to eat your breakfast, when someone was vacuuming the floor under your table at the same time...
The posite thing is the location in the center of the city, but then again their parking lot is too small, when the hotel is fully booked. Many customers had to park on the streets.
the staff was ok, but not very friendly. You could e.g. pass the reception desk without no-one greeting to you.

Room Tip: If it is not too hot, book a superior room, otherwise a standard room with a parking lot view is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Golftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Many thanks for your review and comments. The building has two wings, and the wing with the recently refurbished Superior rooms has a central cooling system that is able to lower the incoming air temperature by 3-4 degrees. With this summer´s exceptionally nice and warm weather this has from time to time not been enough. We have equipped the rooms with extra fans in order to provide better ventilation. In the other wing we have an individually controlled cooling unit in each room.

I wish you welcome back to Mariehamn and Hotell Savoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location is good, rooms are clean and staff (single receptionist / hotel manager / bartender) was very kind and polite. The room would've been othervise nice, but NO airconditioning - couldn't sleep a bit. I guess I could return to the hotel again in a cooler time of year, but definitely never again in summer. At least my kids slept, so it was sort of worth the money.

Room Tip: If this is your only option during summer, ask for the room facing east...maybe a degree or two less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is in a short walking distance from the harbour almost exactly downtown. Staff is nice and friendly. There are free newspapers in the lobby. Breakfast is good and by the breakfast room there is a small playroom for children. Sauna and swimming pool are not included in the hotel price. Rooms are a bit small and very luminous. TV sets are modern and there are enough TV channels. WiFi is good. Beds are OK but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. Welcome back to Mariehamn and Hotel Savoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in July. On arrival we were told we gad been upgrade to superior class rooms at no extra cost which was a nice touch. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable, although in the hot summer sunshine Venetian blinds on the large windows would have reduced the glare, and improved privacy. We did not eat dinner but the breakfast buffet was ample and of good quality. The reception staff ( who double as lobby bar staff in the evening) are very pleasant and helpful. This hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Mariehamn and is a good base for touring these beautiful islands- as with many islands the pace of life is very relaxed here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for your review and positive comments. I am especially pleased that you have found our staff serviceminded and helpful. I wish you welcome back to Hotel Savoy and Mariehamn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

All clean and tidy - the hotel is small, simple and pretty good. No negative things to say but then again no extremely good ones either.

The restaurant is also okay but definitely not the best in town. But we had a pleasant dinner here.

Situated in the city center.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Meriemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for your review. I am happy to hear that you have found our rooms clean and tidy, I will be sure to pass your comments to our Housekeeper. Welcome back to Hotel Savoy and Mariehamn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here on holiday for one night in a superior class room. The rooms were newly renovated with comfortable beds. Free parking behind the hotel for guests. The location is at the center of Town with possibility to walk to shopping, restaurants and bars. The only thing that was not perfect was the Wi-Fi in our room (313), but it's a free Wi-Fi though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Many thanks for your feedback and positive comments. Thank you for bringing the Wi-Fi problem to our attention - we will test the signal strenght and connectivity in #313 right away and correct any possible malfunction. I wish you welcome back to Mariehamn and Hotel Savoy.

With Best Regards
Roni Huttunen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a two day business meeting at Savoy in Mariehamn, and truly enjoyed our stay. Superior rooms were new, clean and functional. Service was very good, especially the Spanish waiter who served the dinner was super friendly, and food was very tasty. Will be back on leisure next summer!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roni H, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Mariehamn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Many thanks for your review. I am very happy to hear that you have found our refurbished rooms comfortable and that our level of service has met your expectations. I have passed on your compliments to the staff members involved. Welcome back to Hotel Savoy and Mariehamn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariehamn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pommern
Hotel Pommern
#1 of 7 in Mariehamn
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Arkipelag
Hotell Arkipelag
#4 of 7 in Mariehamn
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adlon
Hotel Adlon
#3 of 7 in Mariehamn
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Alandia Hotel
Park Alandia Hotel
#6 of 7 in Mariehamn
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cikada
Hotel Cikada
#7 of 7 in Mariehamn
96 reviews
22.1 mi away
HavsVidden, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Mariehamn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Mariehamn

Address: Nygatan 10-12, Mariehamn, Aland Island 22100, Finland
Region: Finland > Aland > Aland Island > Mariehamn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mariehamn
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Mariehamn 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Savoy is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Mariehamn, close to shopping, entertainment, museums, beaches and other activities. Hotel Savoy offers conference rooms in different sizes and a sauna with a pool. Restaurant Bistro Savoy invites you to enjoy your meal at a pleasant glass veranda nearby the bustling streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Savoy Mariehamn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Mariehamn Aland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing