We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
View from one of the balconies. Front view from villamar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Front of Property
View from one of the balconies.
Front view from villamar
Sunset and wine.....perfect combination
Garden area view
garden area view
garden area 4
BBQ
BBQ
BBQ area cont..
Bedroom 2 with balcony and sea view.
Bedroom 1 with balcony and sea view
Bathroom 2
Al fresco dinning area2
Kitchen area
Living room
Living room
Living room
garage with toilet facilities
Garage with toilet facilities
Sun set view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ribeira Brava, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Christoph...
Vejle, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic rental”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

One of the best holiday rentals I have been in. Quality house from top to bottom. From the automatic gate and garage door, to the immaculate wooden floors, great kitchen and BBQ, tastefully decorated living room and bedrooms, to the balconies with fantastic views. Both Magarida (the key keeper) and Celio (the owner) very friendly and helpful. Ribiera Brava is a great place to stay, away from tourists, but close to the motorway so that most of the island can be reached in 20-40 mins. Recommend Muralha Grill (by the beach, on the way up the hill) and Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos on the way to Encuameada.
Thanks for a great stay - see you again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review with regards to our property.I am glad you had a great time staying with us but also visiting the island, We hope to see you again soon
Take Care
Villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P072015
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing days”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in that lovely house. Beautiful equipped, located in a quiet rural area (but also farmers have to work during the day), surrounded by banana plants with a fantastic sea view. Very friendly neighbors – they welcome us like friends and not like tourists – thanks a lot to Margarita, her husband, her daughter … The WI-FI connection was very good. A small issue with the dish washer was fixed as soon as possible. We enjoyed to go swimming every afternoon at Ribeira Brava public gravel beach. Ribeira Brava is not far away (2,5 km) but it’s a very steep road – we went by car within a few minutes.
Ribera Brava is a very nice village and for me the best location to discover the island – short distances to all destinations. If we return to Madeira we will come back to Villamar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again in a not to distant future.

Take Care

Villlamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing villa and location within minutes of supermarket and easy driving distance to funchal”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Villamar is a modern, stylishly furnished villa. This was our second visit and we'd definitely return again. Weather over Xmas was excellent and the local festivities delightful.
I'd totally recommend this villa and a stay in madeira to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.It was nice to meet you and we hope to see you again.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Dear Guest ,

It was nice to meet you and to show you the "way of life" in Madeira.I am glad you had a good time and we hope to see you again in a not to distant future.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are glad you had a great holiday and enjoyed the house.We hope to see you again in the future.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JA89UK
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We found Villamar just right for our week in Madeira. The house is modern and well-appointed, with safe indoor parking for our rental car (Celio told us his trusted neighbour has a car rental service, which we would have been happy to use if we'd thought to ask!). We stayed as a pair, but there are certainly enough facilities for anything up to 6 adults, plus a baby. We did experience some noise from the construction work going on next door, but of course this won't be going on forever and doesn't reflect badly on the quality of the house. Anyway, the real star of the show is the huge sea view from the balconies - perfect for an early evening book and glass of wine, with lovely sunsets.

As a host, Celio was very helpful and offered to buy in some food so we had something for our first night, which was useful for us. He also provided clear directions, was there to greet us at the property and made it clear he was available to help if we needed anything - we didn't. Highly recommended overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and views
Liked least: Beds a bit too firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in a not to distant future.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review.We are glad you enjoyed our place and look forward to see you again in the future.

Take care
villamar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing