We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain retreat”
Review of Hotel Encumeada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Encumeada
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Reviewed 18 March 2013

An ideal base for walkers wanting a short break. Any longer than a few days ideally needs a car though we managed to get further afield with lifts from friendly tourists and the daily bus to Funchal. The hotel is in good order. Being in the mountains means the climate is cooler and wetter that the south coast and the hotel public areas were not heated during our stay (feb). Having said that the staff were lovely and very helpful. There is internet access (not wifi) which is not expensive. The half board option is very good value and maybe buffet or a la carte depending on the number of residents. Again, a car would be needed to eat at other establishments. Evenings are quiet but games are available on request. The nearby walks included Levada and mountain walks requiring a degree of fitness and/or nerve. The mountain views from the bedroom was magical!

Room Tip: If staying over a weekend ask for a room away from the wedding reception room (there was no wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel which enjoys an amazing mountain location. Although the hotel is not luxurious it offers a most comfortable and relaxing atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are kept very clean and although breakfasts and the evening buffet meals are basic the nights when there is 'a la carte' on offer the food is very good - try the pepper steak. The remoteness of its situation does mean that there are only a few buses a day on which to escape but it is possible to visit Sao Vicente, Porto do Moniz and Funchal using public transport. There are walks up the hill from the hotel and although some of these are challenging the views are mind blowing. One last point it is very good value especially if booked through Broadway Travel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWarbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We booked to stay here for 7 days through Cooperative Travel and arrived early Monday evening to present our booking vouchers.The double rooms we booked appeared not to be available but we were eventually allocated to more than acceptable(for a 3 star hotel)rooms.Despite the language barrier(none of our party had anything beyond"obrigada" in Portugese!)the staff were friendly and accommodating. It was only on our second evening that the manager informed us that they had no record of our booking and that he'd spent the day trying to contact the voucher helpline number to no avail.It took until the Friday to get sorted but the managers and the staff were helpful and supportive throughout-having read some reviews regarding poor service and unhelpful staff my question is-"How did you treat them??"The location is without doubt absolutely beautiful the hotel is acceptable for a 3 star and we had no complaints during our stay.The food was well presented and we all enjoyed a good range of dishes from the evening buffet and breakfast.We were also able to get freshly prepared coffee from reception in the morning(heaven!)

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies but the upper floor rooms away from the reception area have the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corinne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Arriving dripping after a very wet day's hiking (btw, it's wrongly place on Bing maps - it is really to the right, just above the R104 marker) and the reception staff showed no mercy! Whilst the portuguese speaking guests seemed to gain access to a drying room, those of us who didn't actually ask, ended up with wet clothes the next morning ...

The miserable reception staff were symptomatic of a property that seems to rely on its stunning location to pull in the punters. A sign on the reception desk informs guests of likely noise in bedrooms above the function room on Saturday evenings, and thanks them for their understanding!

The bedroom was fine, with a small balcony, and the beds were firm. The bathroom was big but rather tired, and felt like an out of date residencial house, rather than a hotel. However, the bath was very welcome to ease weary limbs after a long day's walking.

With no closeby alternatives to go for dinner, the buffet dinner was good value and ok quality. Breakfast was another reasonably pleasant buffet experience. The lack of any nearby shops means that we had to pay 2 euro for a 1.5 litre bottle of water, which hurt.

Wifi in the reception lounge area was decent quality and free. It was quite a nice area, with people sitting around discussing the previous day's activities, or preparing the next!

But this didn't stop it feeling like this hotel is a nasty place - amazing location, but it needs competition to improve.

Room Tip: If your stay includes a Saturday night, ensure you get a quiet room. Ask to use their drying room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel, dont go here expecting luxury but if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life it sits is a fantastic location high up in a beautiful mountain valley. There are loads of fantastic walks right from the door (such as the old royal path) just up the hill where you can walk for hours and have the world to yourself !

Rooms are basic but fantastic value and have everything you need for a mountain escape:- ensuite wc with bath or shower, good size beds, and a TV but best of all is the balcony. You can sit here in the sun with fantasic mountainscape all around you. Take that book that you never find the time to read and lose yourself in the peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings.

The restaurant has the feel of a canteen, and you can eat from a menu or from the buffet, the buffet is not that great but the freshly cooked food is alright and there are lots of wines to choose from too.

The place is fairly basic but is a great place to chill, not luxury but generally peaceful and good for the soul.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony that gets lots of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MSABristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a walking tour.
The hotel is in a remote country setting with lovely views and good access to walks but nothing else.
The building exterior was rather featureless but the reception area was OK with open fire in the lounge.
Bedrooms were undistinguished but clean,warm and comfortable. Mine had small balcony.
The dining room was large and unfriendly, the evening buffet was average quality with plenty of choice. Like wise the breakfast.
The staff were rather distant.
This hotel would be fine for a brief visit to this part of the Island if touring by car but you would not want a long stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Although the hotel is surrounded by fantastic views of the mountains and scenery, the hotel itself is very outdated. It needs quite a lot of tlc to bring it up to scratch. I know its a good hotel for walkers who shouldnt be spending too much time there but even so, a lick of paint wouldnt go a miss!! The food was just about eatable, but lacked imagination and this is made more noticable because there is nowhere else to eat in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Brava
5.8 mi away
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ribeira Brava
106 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
3.3 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
182 reviews
5.9 mi away
Solar de Boaventura
Solar de Boaventura
#1 of 1 in Boaventura
78 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 88 in Funchal
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encumeada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encumeada

Address: Feiteiras, Serra d' Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-000, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Encumeada)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Price Range: £22 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encumeada 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Encumeada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Encumeada Hotel Ribeira Brava
Residencial Encumeada Ribeira Brava
Hotel Encumeada Madeira/Ribeira Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing