We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for scenery”
Review of Hotel Encumeada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Encumeada
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location for scenery”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sea views are all well and good but the mountain and laurel forest scenery from this hotel were some of the best views we have ever had from a hotel room. The rooms were basic as was the breakfast but perfectly in keeping with a 3* hotel and the very low price we paid for our advance booking. Our room had a private balcony which we thoroughly enjoyed drinking madeira wine on in the late evenings whilst looking at the shadowy mountain silhouettes and shooting stars when the clouds cleared. We ate in the restaurant twice, once a la carte and once the buffet. Food was tasty and well cooked and the buffet at 13euros provided an abudance of food which was much appreciated after we'd walked to Pico Ruivo and back (23km round trip!). It can be quite cool (we were there late June), especially in the evenings so take a jumper or two but we found that great for getting a good nights sleep and you're only 10/15mins drive from the coast where it's much hotter if you need a warm up!
The smell of eucalyptus trees on arrival was also a nice surprise and kept our airways clear all week!
In summary - if you want 5* luxury don't book here. This is a 3* hotel and the facilities and food are perfectly in keeping with that. If you are happy with basic comfort but want amazing scenery and a great base for walking in Madeira then this is probably right for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back. My only real 'complaint' would be that the restaurant can be a little bit 'soulless' it's so quiet - some soft background music would really just lift the feeling / atmosphere in there and whilst the staff are predominantly very friendly they could do with smiling a little bit more at the guests.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room but our's was on the second floor about half way down the corridor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rollrighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    66
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
17
80
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

At first sight this hotel seems a bit large and impersonal, but in practice the staff are very helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, breakfasts are very good, evening meal wholesome, and a superb view from the bedroom window. And it's placed at the start of a number of levada walks (short walk back up the road). If travelling in 2014 note that the ER110 road may be closed due to a landslide, but this doesn't prevent you reaching the hotel from Funchal/from the coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardWithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I cant understand why this hotel has had negative reviews on here. It is in an amazing location up in the hills and has incredible views. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the hills. The room was basic but comfortable. It had a bath and shower. Plenty of choice at breakfast. The evening meals I had were very good. No problems with sleeping. Staff very helpful, especially when I got stuck in the hills overnight. They called the forest rangers and called me hourly through the night, and the manager collected me from the trail head the next day free of charge. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room with mountain views, and got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genericflipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Shame on the visitors who have criticised this tranquil mountain retreat.
This is simple but well appointed base for walking and touring - you do need walking boots, and a car if you are to venture beyond the Encumeada pass. Simple, spotlessly clean rooms; lovely views; simple but satisfying breakfasts and evening meals; quietly professional and helpful staff, and the peace and quiet that comes from being miles (by fair roads) from town. Exceptionally good value for money.
We had a happy time here escaping the worst of the British winter weather, and will most certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Didact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

It was cold- the heating was hardly ever on.

The place is run down- old, stained carpets and furniture. Mold in the bathrooms.

Guests are treated as a burden- During our one week stay there was a wedding, a baptism, a birthday party and many Christmas bookings- the 'lounge'/ lobby was cleared of sofas and the tables set for the guests to dine so the restaurant could be used for functions. Basically eating we were eating in the reception area.

The food was variable. The breakfasts were the most disappointing- Egg shells in the scrambled eggs. Water not hot enough to make a cup of tea. Disgusting coffee. One type of cereal. Fake orange juice. No music or ambiance- silent, awkward and inhospitable.

The slow Wifi was only available within 6 feet of reception.

The location is picturesque. Good for hiking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ribeira Brava hotels

Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel location is great if you want to feel the real Madeira essence close to you. High up on the mountains stands this small hotel. I can't comment on the rooms as me and my family only use their restaurant facilities on Christmas and Easter. And theh are great! The food is amazing, from crab to shrimp to a variety of meats, plus polite service, always ver professional. I would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DiogoLusitania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

we stayed here recently on bed and breakfast basis and upon arrival were pleasantly surprised by the dining area and reception/bar, the rooms however are not upto the same standard with ill-fitting carpets and a rock hard bed, but for the price you can't complain too much, it was clean and the views from the balcony are worth it! There was a wedding on the saturday night, but the only noise we heard was when we got woke up once about 1:30 by guests going noisily to their rooms, we just went back to sleep, not a big problem!
The food we found very good, we mainly ate a la carte which was very good value and always delicious, we did have the buffet one night but the food was all a bit soggy and we weren't keen on the deserts (just personal taste) so decided not to bother again. Breakfast we thought was actually very good, fresh bread, bacon or sausage, egg and the usual meat and cheese, plenty for anyone to choose from!
We soon realised that the staff were not infact rude (as can easily be assumed) but actually they are just not very outgoing, if you talk to them they are always polite and friendly and if you ask for any help (which we did several times) they will always do anything they can to help, especially Clive who went above and beyond for several guests.
The location really is quite remote, but if you're here for walking it's perfect, a 20min walk up the hill will get you to Encumeada Pass with a bar and also a souvenir shop that does drinks and snacks, there are 4 walks that start from right here and we did 2 of these (walking back the same way right to the hotel). There is a bus that stops literally outside the hotel door to take you to Sao Vicente or Porto Moniz, however be careful as some buses come back through the tunnel and not past the hotel, again reception staff will be most helpful in planning your journeys, on occasion we got the bus back to Ribeira Brava, had dinner there in the evening then got a taxi up the hill to the hotel.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want something different, want to explore and do some walking, not if you want to sit in the sun or by a pool.

Room Tip: Our room was to the left of reception up the stairs, away from the dining rooms and we heard little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00pooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribeira Brava
4.2 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
3.3 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ribeira Brava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cabanas de Sao Jorge Village
12.0 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encumeada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encumeada

Property: Hotel Encumeada
Address: Feiteiras, Serra d' Agua, Ribeira Brava, Madeira 9350-000, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Encumeada)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ribeira Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ribeira Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encumeada 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Encumeada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Encumeada Hotel Ribeira Brava
Residencial Encumeada Ribeira Brava
Hotel Encumeada Madeira/Ribeira Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing