We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pennal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: info@riversidehotel-pennal.co.uk
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely meal at the Riverside, the menu had only 'just' enough choice, however, I personally would prefer a small menu where the items sell than a large menu where its inevitable that the produce hangs around for some time then becomes 'the chefs special' when its on its last legs. Wine choice was OK and well priced, well stocked bar and the staff seem to be confident in their work, only negative on that score would be their presentation...if the staff are allowed to wear their own clothes you have to be confident that they will present themselves well at all times,some of the staff appeared to be a little tatty and unkempt, maybe easier to impose a strict code of dress or a uniform of some description, its a pity that such an obvious visual thing can let the whole operation down instantly! Nice meal though with a cheery waitress willing to please, good idea to have some sharing starters, especially if your wanting to save room for pud! Coffees well priced also and we're looking forward to returning for a lunch of fish and chips because they looked and smelt great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    77
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Riverside's guest accommodation last night which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with toiletries, hair dryer, iron etc. We ate in the restaurant last night and was impressed by the good choice of starters and mains, sourced from local produce. The staff were all friendly too. Breakfast was great and set us both up for the day. A peaceful location and a very pleasurable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly not quite up to expectation”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Given the majority of reviews we were expecting something a little better. The starters & main course were fine but nothing to get excited about. Previous post mentioned the chips were frozen/oven chips, this is not the standard we expected.
We were seated in an area just off the bar where the tables were positioned very close to each other.
The staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient.
Unfortunately I don't think we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Riverside Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

By the way this is not a hotel! They do however have a cottage over the road. We enjoyed our fourth visit as much as the last few times!

We stay in Aberdovey but always travel out to this eatery as we have never had a bad meal yet. A good choice of dishes but lacking on more imaginative veggie dishes if anything. We had starters, all scrummy, mains and a few deserts all beautifully presented and good portion sizes. We ordered coffee and fancied petit fours which is not something they offer, they very kindly cut up some chocolate cake for us .
Very friendly staff always....one wish: I adore freshly cooked chips, they serve frozen – dear Chef would you please consider???

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great meal at the Riverside”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family dined here for a celebratiory birthday lunch. The food and service were fantastic. The staff and owner were so kind, friendly and obliging. Excellent quality food at reasonable prices. Lovely outside seating area. One of our favourite places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Hotel also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing