We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pennal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: info@riversidehotel-pennal.co.uk
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, brilliant staff. Had been looking forward to their fish stew for a year and wasn't disappointed. Ate here 3 times in a week whilst staying in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiojaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    74
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful meal and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hi we stayed in Borth last week and due to lack of restaurants we had to travel further afield and boy are we glad we waited once we ate at Riverside on Friday evening. We dined in the garden room , very busy in restaurant part, so glad all eight of us had room to eat. Lovely setting and menu was very good. I had the sirloin steak and was one of the best I have eaten. Others had sea bream and plaice and brioche burger. Children's meals were superb too. Starters so much choice and deserts brill great value and worth every penny. When we come back to Wales will defo go here for another visit. Staff lovely too. Thanks so much a lovely end to our holiday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlou7143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely lunch, nice cosy decor, not typical welsh pub nicely decorated good choice on menus, fab wine list friendly attentive staff, will visit again when in area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Service was brilliant. Food was AMAZING. I had the Lamb steak with leak mash and vegetables. Lamb was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth. Would definitely return and recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant meal in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Four of us ate here whilst staying at the Plas Talgarth resort in the village. The Riverside offers a great selection of value for money meals, the lamb was particularly good as was the veggie goats cheese pancakes. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Portion sizes ample and the beers are all local and well kept. We will return on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Hotel also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing