We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stay in Plas Talgarth for a week every year as we are 'owner's' in Patio1.
I believe we were part of a relatively recent refurbishment programme. However, it would be hard to tell!
Our basic unit is OK, sleeping 8 at a push, but the furnishings are dated and not very comfortable. Our main complaint over the last couple of years, when, believe it or not, we've had lovely weather, is that there are only 4 outdoor chairs. Nothing to sit on either to enjoy the evening sun on the balcony unless you want to heave some heavy chairs up the stairs.
We pay a high maintenance charge for our week in Wales, so I expect the iunit to be in good condition. A little niggle is that the backing from some stick-on plastic hooks is still on some doors - surely not a difficult problem to rectify.
These problems have been mentioned in our questionnaire, which I complete every year. So I'm not going behind the back of the management team.
It was a shame that the outdoor pool, the play area and the restaurant were out of action while we were there this year, but these were due to events outside the management's control. It would have been useful to have been informed of these before we arrived. We did eat at the Farmhouse Bar with our family & 3 year old grandchild so I suppose it served its purpose. But I agree with other comments in that it lacked atmosphere.
On the plus side, we enjoyed the pool with our grandchild, the grounds are lovely and the area is stunning. We have no problems with the staff generally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
133
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a few nights with family ( young and old) here in one of the patio cottages, lovely views ans simply furnished but very 'tired' looking. The Farmhouse Bar really lacked any atmosphere and the staff, although friendly, seemed busy doing things apart from looking after us. Food was tasty and reasonably priced...just felt a bit abandoned.
The Spa staff /products and services made up for it, I recommned a massage from Sarah.
Pool, pitch and putt all in good condition and kept our young son happy and amused.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xpressholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Booked accommodation for Bank Holiday weekend through Hoseasons. Checked into reception for keys and was met by Carol on reception who was very welcoming and efficient. We loved the Heron 12 apartment at Plas Talgarth - it was such a great design with a massive lounge with large patio windows looking out to superb mountain scenery together with newly born frollicking lambs in the field which made it an even nicer outlook!! The apartment is so spacious and comfortable with every home from home comfort and beautiful views from every window. Movie channel and internet available at minimum cost but did find the internet a little difficult to search on via the tv but apart from that, full marks and will definitely be booking again. The weather was so good we even were able to enjoy the lovely sandy beach at nearby Aberdovey which was an added bonus to our very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher and end Heron apartments have better views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

we stayed at above place not happy with leisure staff as one was giveing worng times out for gamesin bar not very happpy with this we have being comeing hear for over 25 years and seen a drop in standerd

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed there in December 2012 , there was plenty of good walking , swimming and local places of interest.

Not much Clubbing but this is a good place for a nature holiday.

The resort is clean and kept to agood standard.

I recommedn a visit and will try and go back in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stunning countryside location near the coast, FANTASTIC VIEWS.
I like the PATIO ACCOMMODATION P9,10,11,12 because of the enclosed ground floor patio, which opens to the landscaped grassed area, PATIO IS GOOD FOR TODDLERS. Steps down to this area ensure a good workout when arriving and departing. I did see some luggage taken down on a trailer, so ASK IF YOU NEED THIS as the site is moderatley hilly.
Upstairs living room with large balcony and stunning views. Accommodation is good but decor dated, nontheless very comfortable. Downstairs double bed room with ensuite bathrom. Upstairs double bedroom with ensuite bathroom and small bunk bedroom adjoining. Pull down wardrobe doublebed unobtrusive in the living room.
Good kitchen/dining room downstairs, table seats 6/8, patio door to patio. All good in kitchen except dishwasher very poor.
Good indoor pool, steam room, jacuzzi, sauna. Spa treatments very good I'm told.
Stunning upstairs restaurant still closed, bar now has a lovely log fire in the fireplace (how innovative of someone to think of this). Bar is good except has little atmosphere and is underused unfortunately, it should be a focal point and a moneymaker for McD.
STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT THE BAR AND RESTAURANT IS FRANCHISED TO PROFESSIONALS SUCH AS THE RIVERSIDE PUB 400 YARDS AWAY.
Free internet access in living room. not sure if this is free to owners only.
The site just needs a minor spring clean, eg wipe the mould off the signage on site.
THE CHILDRENS PLAYGROUND HAS GONE, suprising as the site and facilities are good for young children (and grandchildren), perhaps McDs's have forgotten that even in an aging population, people still have children (and grandchildren).
Food perfectley OK to good, kids meals pretty good.
Entertainment on site was BINGO, QUIZ, and can't remember the other, previousley seen a wonderful guitarist performing the lovely welsh hymns, but not there this year. BRITAIN'S GOT TALENT?
Anyway a good holiday that with a little more effort and investement could become great.
At least go and have a look and make up your own mind, you could think GREAT OR NOT QUITE GOOD ENOUGH.

Room Tip: I liked the Patios for toddlers to run around in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at Plas Talgarth over Easter and the following week, Bungalow 19.
The weather was lovely and sunny but we have never had it so cold before, the heating in the bungalow is convector heaters which could not cope with the cold wind, we spent most of the time in the reception lounge which was lovely and warm. The swimming pool was also very warm but it felt even colder when you came out.
The bungalow was refirbished and in very good order as were the grounds.
The main restaraunt was closed and all meals were in the bar area, getting a menu was not easy as they change it every two days.
All in all it was a very nice break apart from the cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
62 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
151 reviews
13.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
316 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Property: Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing