We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good base for our holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

A good base. Some good facilities. The indoor pool is very good, water just the right temperature. The bar is excellent - the meals there are very nice. Enjoyed the pitch and putt as well. The villa we stayed in was good, but needed a little updating, the carpet was pretty worn. But the villa was well-stocked and served its purpose. We got a good deal on the price (long story!!!), so overall felt that the resort was very good value for money. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADPHILLIPS100276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    68
    49
    23
    14
See reviews for
123
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

when first built some 20 years ago this was approaching a 5 star experience. unfortunately the resort appears to be suffering from lack of maintenance and investment; and whilst the location remains superb; the staff remain helpful; the resort itself needs update and renovation. so, the squash courts are closed (but remain advertised). the outdoor pool was shut when we were there (but apparently is open now). the indoor pool isn t big enough to cope with the numbers wanting to use it in bad weather. the bar is dingy.

smartening the resort up is promised through a full maintenance programme - this is needed. a new manager has just been appointed - and seems keen to listen. but apparently fundamental is the fact this is a timeshare resort - and i wonder how many owners are paying their maintenance fees to give the manager enough scope to improve back to previous excellent standards.

on the positive side the accommodation itself was fine and spacious enough for the advertised numbers. and well enough equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a very pleasant week at Plas Talgarth. Before we went we read some adverse criticism which concerned us. We found the accommodation delightful. The kitchen was fully stocked with equipment - better than we have at home. We had a superb view from the comfortable lounge and the swimming pools were very warm and pleasant - but the Jacuzzi was the best we have ever experienced - and we are connoisseurs of these!

When we left we inadvertently left behind a valuable bangle. We cannot speak more highly of the way the staff found this and efficiently forwarded this to us by registered post. We hope to return here next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 751Alec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Visited timeshare here on exchange and after reading a report on trip advisor was worried. It was absolutely brilliant. Great Lapwing apartment. Clean and well stocked with towels and bedding along with kitchen equipment. A twin room and main bedroom with huge 6' bed and full en-suite. Another full bathroom with sauna and steam room and yet another shower room - excellent!!!! Dishwasher was great too. Indoor and outdoor pool and gym. Although the restaurant was closed the bar served excellent food and even catered for gluten free - such a bonus!! I had a slight problem with choice of wine but the general manager sorted this out very quickly. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful we were really impressed and back there in September. We travel about a lot and this is one of the very best time share/rental we have visited.

Lots to do in area from narrow gauge railways to mountains to climb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HethT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stay in Plas Talgarth for a week every year as we are 'owner's' in Patio1.
I believe we were part of a relatively recent refurbishment programme. However, it would be hard to tell!
Our basic unit is OK, sleeping 8 at a push, but the furnishings are dated and not very comfortable. Our main complaint over the last couple of years, when, believe it or not, we've had lovely weather, is that there are only 4 outdoor chairs. Nothing to sit on either to enjoy the evening sun on the balcony unless you want to heave some heavy chairs up the stairs.
We pay a high maintenance charge for our week in Wales, so I expect the iunit to be in good condition. A little niggle is that the backing from some stick-on plastic hooks is still on some doors - surely not a difficult problem to rectify.
These problems have been mentioned in our questionnaire, which I complete every year. So I'm not going behind the back of the management team.
It was a shame that the outdoor pool, the play area and the restaurant were out of action while we were there this year, but these were due to events outside the management's control. It would have been useful to have been informed of these before we arrived. We did eat at the Farmhouse Bar with our family & 3 year old grandchild so I suppose it served its purpose. But I agree with other comments in that it lacked atmosphere.
On the plus side, we enjoyed the pool with our grandchild, the grounds are lovely and the area is stunning. We have no problems with the staff generally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a few nights with family ( young and old) here in one of the patio cottages, lovely views ans simply furnished but very 'tired' looking. The Farmhouse Bar really lacked any atmosphere and the staff, although friendly, seemed busy doing things apart from looking after us. Food was tasty and reasonably priced...just felt a bit abandoned.
The Spa staff /products and services made up for it, I recommned a massage from Sarah.
Pool, pitch and putt all in good condition and kept our young son happy and amused.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xpressholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Booked accommodation for Bank Holiday weekend through Hoseasons. Checked into reception for keys and was met by Carol on reception who was very welcoming and efficient. We loved the Heron 12 apartment at Plas Talgarth - it was such a great design with a massive lounge with large patio windows looking out to superb mountain scenery together with newly born frollicking lambs in the field which made it an even nicer outlook!! The apartment is so spacious and comfortable with every home from home comfort and beautiful views from every window. Movie channel and internet available at minimum cost but did find the internet a little difficult to search on via the tv but apart from that, full marks and will definitely be booking again. The weather was so good we even were able to enjoy the lovely sandy beach at nearby Aberdovey which was an added bonus to our very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher and end Heron apartments have better views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
639 reviews
13.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Property: Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing