We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here every year for the last 9 years as I have a timeshare here. I always feel like I'm coming home. everyone is so friendly.I am pleased to say that the restaurant food has improved tremendously. We had a lovely meal in the bar which was great. So nice to see gammon and steak on the bar menu. We also had lovely massages in the spa. The nicest hot stone massage I've ever had. Had a few swims in the pool, very relaxing as well. The only thing I did complain about was being thrown out of the bar before half eleven , We only arrived at half eight. Especially as it was the night that the tour of Britain crew were there. They weren't happy either. I thought that as being residents the bar would be open later. Spoilt our fun !
The apartment was clean as always, but every year I ask them when are they going to put more comfy beds in, they are so hard ! Please please change the beds!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    67
    47
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night but were amazed by the spacious and well appointed apartment we had. Lots of helpful items in the kitchen like washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. It really was home from home. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in a little earlier. There was lots to do at the resort for our children (tennis, swimming, exploringthe woods) and in the surrounding area and we will stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I’ve just come back from a 2 night stay at Plas Talgarth, staying with my parents who have had one of the patio’s for in excess of 25 years. There has been a steady decline in the standards within the house, and if the owners fail to fairly reinvest the significant annual ‘Maintenance’ fees, the decline will accelerate. This is so little evidence of a fair upgrading and investments over the 25 years. I’m convinced that the crockery is the same as the original (yes….the actual crockery is over a quarter of a century old), The patio area outside is just so dated and weather stained, the rotten wooden fence has just had a lick of paint, there is NO furniture on the balcony, even down to the kettle, it’s just being maintained on the cheap.
This development was marketed as high quality, but is no longer. I didn’t expect luxury, but a fair return on my parents investment of in excess of £500 per annum. It simply is not fair, and then to charge for the electric converts unfair to a ‘rip-off’.
Of the very few plus sides, the restaurant, under new managements, was very impressive. As I understand, this is now being run as some form of concession, and it sure shows in terms of both the food and service. Maybe the caterers, once settled and established, can take over the management of the entire complex.
Disappointed, not sure what will happen to the humble investors while the management there continue to rake in their thousands whilst systematically devaluing the investors interests

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We purchased a Villa many years ago and our boys and their friends remember the amazing walks and climbs , the woodland Trails, the pretty coastal road down to Aberdyfi beach and a short distance more to Tywyn for a little train up into the mountains. Now the grand-children are doing the same. The Villa is perfect with fitted kitchen , 3 Bathrooms of the highest quality. The manicured Grounds , pool, Spa etc a delight . The Staff, friendly Such a good base for families to enjoy this pretty mountainous part of Wales

Room Tip: We own Villa 21 with Kitchen and en suite Master bedroom on the Gr. Floor and a 1st Floor Lounge wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosamunwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

A good base. Some good facilities. The indoor pool is very good, water just the right temperature. The bar is excellent - the meals there are very nice. Enjoyed the pitch and putt as well. The villa we stayed in was good, but needed a little updating, the carpet was pretty worn. But the villa was well-stocked and served its purpose. We got a good deal on the price (long story!!!), so overall felt that the resort was very good value for money. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADPHILLIPS100276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

when first built some 20 years ago this was approaching a 5 star experience. unfortunately the resort appears to be suffering from lack of maintenance and investment; and whilst the location remains superb; the staff remain helpful; the resort itself needs update and renovation. so, the squash courts are closed (but remain advertised). the outdoor pool was shut when we were there (but apparently is open now). the indoor pool isn t big enough to cope with the numbers wanting to use it in bad weather. the bar is dingy.

smartening the resort up is promised through a full maintenance programme - this is needed. a new manager has just been appointed - and seems keen to listen. but apparently fundamental is the fact this is a timeshare resort - and i wonder how many owners are paying their maintenance fees to give the manager enough scope to improve back to previous excellent standards.

on the positive side the accommodation itself was fine and spacious enough for the advertised numbers. and well enough equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a very pleasant week at Plas Talgarth. Before we went we read some adverse criticism which concerned us. We found the accommodation delightful. The kitchen was fully stocked with equipment - better than we have at home. We had a superb view from the comfortable lounge and the swimming pools were very warm and pleasant - but the Jacuzzi was the best we have ever experienced - and we are connoisseurs of these!

When we left we inadvertently left behind a valuable bangle. We cannot speak more highly of the way the staff found this and efficiently forwarded this to us by registered post. We hope to return here next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 751Alec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
321 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
149 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Property: Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing