We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Got an exchange week through DAE and stayed in farmhouse 2. Staff very helpful, accommodation a bit dated but in keeping with the building. Nice view over golf course to landscape beyond. Both bar food and restaurants food cooked in same kitchen and really good quality.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Hubblescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Been coming here for a few years now. the Resort can be quiet in winter months, we were there 1st week of March. Resort tidy, with spa, swimming pool, gym etc. Food in the on site restaurant and the bar meals were very good, loved the home made Pizzas. Weather was good again this year, which helps down there, there are lots of places to visit and plenty of good and reasonable restaurants in nearby villages. Worth the round trip from Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a beautiful resort at the tiny village of Pennal in west Wales, UK. It has a wide selection of self catering apartments flats, bungalows and patio units, set on a lovely hillside, very near to the Cardigan Bay coast on the estuary of the Dyfi (Dovey) River, on the road from Machynlleth to Aberdyfi..Do not be put off by the "self catering" label, because there is a superb restaurant on site, with wonderful menus to satisfy the widest and most discerning tastes. The units can accommodate from 2 to 8 people and the site has many facilities from Pools, Health Spar, Gym, Tennis, Jakusie, sauna etc and many other attractions on site and nearby. A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday or an energetic walking/climbing/sightseeing one if you prefer. My wife and I and family have been going here for over 30 years and never tire of coming back. Superb. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Bungalows overlook o lovely Welsh valley and mountains, many of the other units look out over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We always try and go away New Year week generally in the UK so we have no delusions about the weather. This was our first time at the Plas Talgarth and hopefully it won be our last. We did a timeshare exchange and got a two bedroom cottage which slept six with every amenity and three bathrooms. The lounge converted to the third sleeping space. There were only four adults so that was never put to the test but I think there would have been ample space.

The bed in the main bedroom was enormous but I was disappointed there was no TV in any of the bedrooms, but the en suite was spacious with a bath and over bath shower. The accommodation was spotless overall and very well equipped. This was our friends first time at staying at a time share resort and they were very impressed.

The gym and pool are both quite small and look as if they could do with an up date but the on site Health Spa was brilliant. I treated myself to a manicure, hot stone massage and facial while I was there and came out floating on air. The staff were some of the friendliest I've met anywhere.

The crowning glory however is the restaurant where we ate twice and once in the bar. The restaurant is one of the best I've eaten at anywhere. On New Years Eve the celebration dinner was quite pricey at £54 per head but worth every single penny, the quality with great portion sizes meant I hardly ate at all on New Years Day! The bar menu is the usual scampi or chicken and fries but the quality is great and portion size excellent.

On our final night, we again decided to eat in the restaurant and again had a superb meal, just describing what I ate could not do it justice. If you go there, please eat in this restaurant. Prepare to love the food and spend time in the gym on your return home.

There is loads to do in the local area particularly if you like spectacular scenery, waterfalls, walks and towns with tea shops. There is a lovely coastal route which you can do by car or rail.

The only downside came on checkout when we were charged almost £10 per day for electricity to keep ourselves warm in the unit, which by anyone's standard is excessive. That is the only reason I have marked it down to four stars, that and the unnecessarily early 10am checkout.

High winds, rain and cold didn't stop us having a wonderful week and if anyone had offered us another week, I'd have snapped their hand off. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We were in Lapwing 11 which was a ground floor cottage with the main bedroom on the first floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rochne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We own points with the Macdonalds Vacation Club and we visit this resort at least once a year and mostly twice. In summer we opt for a larger apartment so we can sit outside but in the winter a one bed apartment in the Mansion House suits us better. For two years running we have stayed in an apartment on the top floor to take advantage of superb views over the Dovey Valley and towards Pennal village. It is also very warm in the Mansion House as it is heated by the resort's hot water system. Climbing up and down the stairs keeps us fit! The apartment has recently been refurbished with new sofa bed, table, wardrobe, chest of drawers and nest of tables. The old chairs have not been replaced and they are rather the worse for wear now. Although it sleeps 4 the aprtment is only really suitable for 2 as there is nowhere for clothes in the bedroom and the sofabed and armchair only sit 3 - a 4th person would have to make do with a dining chair. Also, cooking facilities are limited - a microwave combi oven and two rings, toaster and kettle. However, this is fine as we do not do much cooking and the facilities are fine for making breakfast, having a light lunch or a simple supper. If I wanted to do more self catering I would not ask for this apartment. For one week it is just the ticket - we tend to eat out a lot on our Dec break. In the past we have been underwhelmed by the onsite catering facilities so it was with much anticipation that we arrived on Dec 14th and went into the Farmhouse bar now renamed Y Garth. The first thing I noticed was two hand pumps selling real ale! This was definitely a plus for my husband. The staff were brilliant - very friendly and helpful. I then perused the menu - there was a good selection of snacks and main meals. We settled for two home-made pizzas which were both excellent. The next day we had a superb Sunday lunch in the bar followed by desserts to die for. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced. Macdonalds have franchised out the catering and quite frankly it was about time as on previous visits lack of choice and indifferent food meant we hardly used the facilities. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the restaurant and two more bar meals during our stay. As MVC members we were able to use our discount cards and got 10% of every meal. For those who have not been before there is also a very good restaurant pub in the village which also serves real ale and excellent food. The leisure facilities at Plas Talgarth are also excellent - we went to the pool every morning bar one to have a swim, sauna, steam bath and jacuzzi. Nearby there is lots to do and see both summer and winter. A visit to Cefn Caer in Pennal is a must - it is a very old farmhouse built on the site of a Roman fort. It has been restored by the owner and is steeped in history. You can learn all about Owen Glendower and see a copy of the famous Pennal letter. The owner gives a very lively, interesting and informative talk and shows you his superb collection of antiques. For walkers there are lots of local walks - you can buy books walks in the Dovey Valley and Machynlleth area published by Kittiwake locally. Mine are now quite old and well used. The RSPB reserve at Ynishir is well worth a visit - we went twice and saw a wide range of birds including kingfishers, woodpeckers, red kites, curlew, oyster catchers and many more. Machynlleth market is worth a visit and no visit to this part of Wales would be complete without a brisk walk along Aberdovey beach! Plas Talgarth with its wonderful grounds and excellent facilites and wide range of accommodation is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Mansion house is very warm in winter but small apartments have limited cooking facilites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned home from a wonderful week here. From the greeting at the check in to the farewells, everything was good, The staff are friendly and welcoming, location stunning, surrounded by hills, trees and splendid views. Lots of access to walks etc. The accommodation has recently been updated, and other than very squeaky floors and noisy water pump, it is of a superb standard.
The Restaurant has recently re-opened and well 5 star is too low a rating, the food, atmosphere and quality is outstanding, whether you are eating in the restaurant or bar.
Went with friends and had a great stay. Even though it was December we had good dry weather except 1 day. There is plenty to go and see in this Snowdonia area.

Room Tip: Heron Apartments if with friends or family are good. Upper floors will have less noise from squeaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t_walling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the minute I arrived, I loved it! The accommodation and service are second to none.

The accommodation exceeded my expectations. The Management and staff where truly amazing - i will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Hotty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
154 reviews
1 mi away
Cefn Crib Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llety Brynawel
Llety Brynawel
#1 of 3 in Pennal
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range: £49 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing