We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remote but pleasant timeshare resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A remote but pleasant timeshare resort”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our vist for a one week exchange in a two bedroom - sleeps upto 8 - was pleasant.
The resort is well maintained - miles from anywhere - but a small shop in the village has most things.
Out semi-detached apartment was two storey - well equipped with excellent bathrooms (2)
The kitchen and dining was on the ground floor with patio outside - no TV but a poor radio.
the lounge was on the 1st floor with a balcony lookig out towards the trees.
It had a telephone and a TV and a built in guest double bed.

You could not hear the phone if you were downstairs.
On site were indoor and outdoor swimming pools - a bar and restaurant which served moderatly priced food - but NOT breakfast.

Unit amenities did not include washers and dryers - available in the main building at £5 each - expensive.
The heated towel rails were useless - no towel or linen changes unless you paid!!

Overall - Wales is not for us......

Room Tip: you do not get a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    69
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
125
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from our annual timeshare holiday at Plas Talgarth. The difference between this and last year was amazing(for the better). Our patio(2)had been completely refurbished which was excellent, it made the patio very updated and a very enjoyable stay. It was also very clean whereas previous years the cleanliness hasn't quite been up to standard. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the new restaurant(Y Garth) and in the farmhouse(which isn't called the farmhouse anymore, and the food is excellent, one person in our party is celiac and the chief cooked a lovely meal for her. We also ate at the Riverside restaurant down the lane which was also excellent(book early for Saturday if you want to go there).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked this hotel as a last minute get away we were not disappointed. We booked in at reception which was pleasant and quick. We were not disappointed with the room as a whole. The studio apartment was clean and was well equipped for a self catering holiday. The room had all the usual toiletries provided, clean towels and sheets and tea coffee milk sachets which is always welcome upon arrival. There is a sofa bed that you have to make up which is a pain but this is a studio apartment, the only thing that i really didnt like in the room was the two gigantic chandeliers in the room which we far too bright for the room, there is a lamp but this was as much use as a chocolate fire guard and gave out very little light. We were lucky and didnt get wet but this i could see being a problem if you were trying to dry your clothes as there is no where really to dry them apart from the towel rail in the bathroom , i have no idea how the heating works as we were not told and not shown, it wasnt needed anyway but this could be a problem in the winter. We went to the spa and although this is basically all in one room it had everything that was required, steam room, sauna , hot tub and an indoor swimming pool. Showers and hairdryer in the changing rooms with free lockers. There is also a heated swimming pool outside which is a bonus if you have children. The woodland area is under some sort of construction which was a shame as this would have been a lovely walk to go on. We did not go to the restaurant on site as we were not impressed with the food that was on offer , we did go to the bar to have food but again we were not impressed with the menu or the actual seating area for the diners, it was hollow and a little bare and not very welcoming, however the bar area was nice and the staff were all very friendly. Not to my liking but others may like it. The bar area is basically full of people on tablets and phones trying to connect to the internet on the free wifi available only in the bar area and the village hall, otherwise this is a chargeable item to have in your room as with the TV packages these are also chargeable. The biggest shock that I had was upon leaving when you are charged for the electricity, it does say on the paperwork but I had missed this. I would say that all of our electricity was used on the chandeliers in the room which are totally inappropriate for the room. Its a lovely hotel with nice staff and nice grounds there are many other places to stay on site there are apartments and lodges which I think are pet friendly. A nice play to stay and I would recommend this. We ate at the restaurant at the bottom of the road call Riverside which had a good menu and monster portions, I would definitely recommend a meal here.

Room Tip: We were in the bottom floor in the mansion house room 2 which is directly by the bar on site, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRU101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from our annual visit to our timeshare in this beautiful part of Wales.
We stayed in Patio 1.
The reasons I've only given it an average score:
The sofas in the lounge are incredibly uncomfortable - the cushions slide off when you sit on them.
The 2 chairs that are supplied look like they belong in a nursing home.
The verandah lacks a table & chairs - shame as this catches the evening sun & is one of the reasons why we opted for this particular lodge.
The BBQ on the patio is very rusty - can't think why any-one would use it
The kitchen looks dated,

The positives are:
Lovely indoor swimming pool with decent size pool, sauna, steam room & jacuzzi.
Great food in Y Garth restaurant & bar.
Wonderful & well-,maintained grounds.
The new manager was present when we checked in & checked out.
Plenty of cutlery, crockery, wine glass & tumblers
Plenty of towels, but nowhere to dry them properly - only a very small heated towel rail.
Efficient & friendly staff.
Good accommodation, sleeps 8, including bunk beds& pull-down double bed.

It's a shame the woods were so damaged in the storms that access to them was restricted, but that's not the resort's fault.

Despite its faults, we still enjoy going every year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Got an exchange week through DAE and stayed in farmhouse 2. Staff very helpful, accommodation a bit dated but in keeping with the building. Nice view over golf course to landscape beyond. Both bar food and restaurants food cooked in same kitchen and really good quality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Hubblescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Been coming here for a few years now. the Resort can be quiet in winter months, we were there 1st week of March. Resort tidy, with spa, swimming pool, gym etc. Food in the on site restaurant and the bar meals were very good, loved the home made Pizzas. Weather was good again this year, which helps down there, there are lots of places to visit and plenty of good and reasonable restaurants in nearby villages. Worth the round trip from Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a beautiful resort at the tiny village of Pennal in west Wales, UK. It has a wide selection of self catering apartments flats, bungalows and patio units, set on a lovely hillside, very near to the Cardigan Bay coast on the estuary of the Dyfi (Dovey) River, on the road from Machynlleth to Aberdyfi..Do not be put off by the "self catering" label, because there is a superb restaurant on site, with wonderful menus to satisfy the widest and most discerning tastes. The units can accommodate from 2 to 8 people and the site has many facilities from Pools, Health Spar, Gym, Tennis, Jakusie, sauna etc and many other attractions on site and nearby. A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday or an energetic walking/climbing/sightseeing one if you prefer. My wife and I and family have been going here for over 30 years and never tire of coming back. Superb. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Bungalows overlook o lovely Welsh valley and mountains, many of the other units look out over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
4.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort

Property: Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Address: Talgarth Hall Hotel Snowdonia National Park, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JY, Wales (Formerly Plas Talgarth Health & Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Talgarth Holiday Hotel Pennal
Plas Talgarth Health Leisure Hotel
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing