We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome”
Review of The Escape

The Escape
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Escape
Ranked #2 of 3 Pennal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband & I have just returned from our 3rd stay at The Escape, we had travelled over to Wales to collect our daughter from Aberystwyth Uni who had completed her 2nd year. We are delighted that we found this hidden gem and once again we were made feel very welcome by Lucie & Stuart, it was like seeing old friends and being invited into thier home to stay.
The guest house itself is set in beautiful countryside in a quiet village, which has a beautiful restaurant, The Riverside.

Each time we have stayed at the Escape, we have had a different bedroom, this time we stayed in the Dolgoch Room, a beautiful decorated double room with kingsize bed, cast iron fireplace and attractive feature bed head that used to be in the local church. I think this room has to be my favourite.
After we had booked in we headed down the road to the local bar and restaurant "The Riverside"
We had booked the "Riverside" restaurant for out 2 nights stay, and had excellant meals both nights and were remembered by the owners, who were very attentive. I would advise booking in advance as this restaurant is very popular and busy.

After a lovely restful nights sleep, we , we had a fantastic Leisurely breakfast, which is all local produce.
Lucie & Stuart work very hard to meet your every need, and all the little touches in the rooms are lovely.
I would recommend this guest house to you, I am looking forward to our next stay which hopefully be in September.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs_ducks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

My wife and i stayed here for a long weekend its a excellent hotel in a nice quiet village in a lovely area. The room we stayed in was nice and the breakfast also very good, the owners are friendly with good knowledge of the local area very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Friendly welcome, clean room, good breakfast. Quiet yet convenient location. Can't think of anything wrong!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We had a pleasant stay at the Escape. Fortunately the local pub/ restaurant ( two minuets walk ) was very good otherwise we would have had a long drive for evening dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sljones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teapot35, Owner at The Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2010

Just for information there are plenty of places to eat that are very close so we are surprised and disappointed by the misleading content of this review. Information on all of these restaurants, including telephone numbers, is provided in our guest folders in each room.

We have listed below a selection the various restaurants close to us and the distances to them, as stated by AA Routeplanner for others to see for themselves. There are several others as well!

The Riverside, Pennal - At the bottom of our road, 2 minutes walk
The Plas Talgarth, Pennal - 0.3 miles, 2 minutes by car, 15 minutes walk
The Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, Machynlleth - 3.8 miles, 6 minutes by car
The Wynnstay Hotel, Machynlleth - 3.9 miles, 6 minutes by car
Plas Bistro, Machynlleth - 4.2 miles, 7 minutes by car
The Penhelig, Aberdovey - 6 miles - 10 minutes by car

Information on our location and the many activities, places to vist and recommended places to eat can be found on our website or please feel free to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A match made in heaven - Bed and Breakfast at The Escape, beautiful scenery and locations in Wales and evening meal at The Riverside Hotel 2 mins walk from The Escape. In just 3 days we were able to completely relax, thanks to Lucie and Stuart for making that possible.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrowsjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Having previously spent considerable time in Pennal when children were young,we know the area quite well.
The Escape is well positioned to explore this part of Mid Wales.
This quiet and friendly B&B has a charm that belies it`s exterior,excellent bedroom a Welsh breakfast freshly cooked to your taste.
Lucie was the perfect host ,we unfortunately never met Stuart.
As we are both in our seventies we found the TV to br small and were unable to get Subtitles on the digital channels,this though is a minor complaint and no way interfered with our enjoyment.
Would recommend `The Escape` to anyone who wants to escape from their busy lives.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silhillian060910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Beautiful, quiet rural location run by a lovely friendly family who do their upmost to make your stay a happy one. Great biking and running from the door with the seaside only a short drive away. Great breakfast and service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
2.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llety Brynawel
Llety Brynawel
#1 of 3 in Pennal
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
0.9 mi away
Gogarth Hall Farm
Gogarth Hall Farm
#7 of 11 in Machynlleth
28 reviews
9.4 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: Tower Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pennal
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House accommodations just outside of Aberdovey. The Escape is a magnificent Georgian guesthouse of immense charm and character set in the peaceful village of Pennal. Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you won't be made to feel welcome. Our aim has been to create a high quality, small, friendly guesthouse offering stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of hospitality and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Escape Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing