We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice break”
Review of The Escape

The Escape
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Escape
Ranked #2 of 3 Pennal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this nice b&b. We wanted to see Aberdovey as hadnt been there for 30 years. Stayed in Mawwdach room which was small but very nice. Everything we wanted. Riverside Inn just down road was where the super breakfast was served. They also did very nice evening meals there. Dont get the fish & chips in Aberdovey as we did, it was awful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2012; beautiful place, extremely hospitable owners, really made us welcome in their home. Visited the local restaurant / pub which is linked to The Escape, superb food, and a first class breakfast there the next morning. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: All lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Not much to say really when somewhere is this good! We were made very welcome, the room was all we needed with an en-suite shower etc. A wonderfully peaceful place with just the occasional screech of an owl at night. Highly recommended and a great base for travelling up and down the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyHarry1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My Daughter and I stayed for one night in the twin room. The welcome was warm, as indeed was the room, as we had turned up on a cold wet August bank Holiday! The room was specious and tastefully decorated. Everywhere was clean and fresh, the little touches made all the difference, including luxurious toiletries and the biggest fluffiest towels I've ever had while away. The beds where super comfy and the room lovely and quiet. We had dinner in the Riverside which I can highly recommend everything from the staff to the food was perfect, and breakfast the next day was amazing. A big Thank You to Glyn and Corina for a lovely stay, I will be recommending you to everyone who will listen! I can safely say, I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for my birthday in January. We were made to feel most welcome right from the start.
The room and bathroom was spacious, very clean, well appointed and tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was fantastic with local sausages and bacon.
On top of the lovely accommodation Pennal is in a fantastic location with loads to see and do in the area.
We're already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKBonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night in the Mawddach Room. The room was very comfortable and appeared recently redecorated. It also had a nice view of the surrounding countryside. The shower unit opened directly into the room which was a bit different with a separate cubicle for the toilet. There were tea and coffee making faciilties available in the room and a 'honesty' bar on the landing which was a nice touch. We had a good night's sleep and then enjoyed an excellent breakfast - very good selection and delicious full cooked breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Escape.
Of interest they also have cleaning and storage facilities for bikes if you wanted to take advantage of the area's biking.
Oh, and go to the Riverside in Pennal for dinner - fab food!

Room Tip: Look on the website - you can see each individual room and choose from that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband & I have just returned from our 3rd stay at The Escape, we had travelled over to Wales to collect our daughter from Aberystwyth Uni who had completed her 2nd year. We are delighted that we found this hidden gem and once again we were made feel very welcome by Lucie & Stuart, it was like seeing old friends and being invited into thier home to stay.
The guest house itself is set in beautiful countryside in a quiet village, which has a beautiful restaurant, The Riverside.

Each time we have stayed at the Escape, we have had a different bedroom, this time we stayed in the Dolgoch Room, a beautiful decorated double room with kingsize bed, cast iron fireplace and attractive feature bed head that used to be in the local church. I think this room has to be my favourite.
After we had booked in we headed down the road to the local bar and restaurant "The Riverside"
We had booked the "Riverside" restaurant for out 2 nights stay, and had excellant meals both nights and were remembered by the owners, who were very attentive. I would advise booking in advance as this restaurant is very popular and busy.

After a lovely restful nights sleep, we , we had a fantastic Leisurely breakfast, which is all local produce.
Lucie & Stuart work very hard to meet your every need, and all the little touches in the rooms are lovely.
I would recommend this guest house to you, I am looking forward to our next stay which hopefully be in September.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs_ducks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pennal hotels
0.6 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Cefn Crib Caravan Park
0 mi away
Llety Brynawel
Llety Brynawel
#1 of 3 in Pennal
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: Tower Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pennal
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House accommodations just outside of Aberdovey. The Escape is a magnificent Georgian guesthouse of immense charm and character set in the peaceful village of Pennal. Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you won't be made to feel welcome. Our aim has been to create a high quality, small, friendly guesthouse offering stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of hospitality and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Escape Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing