We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and relaxing”
Review of The Escape

The Escape
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Escape
Ranked #1 of 3 Pennal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Our stay at the Escape was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Owners very welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for The Escape
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

The atmosphere was warm and friendly,and Stuart and Lucie were excellent hosts. The location was very quiet, with excellent views of the surrounding countryside, the room was comfortable, clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities provided. The breakfast was excellent with lots of tea and toast.
The village of Pennal is quiet with a pub that serves excellent food and good beers.
We really enjoyed our stay at the escape and will definately return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEV_N_ALLY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed at "The Escape" in June 2010 for 3 nights as part of a West Wales tour.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful,and supplied very useful info about local eating/attractions etc.
We stayed in the ground floor "Dysinny" room, which was very light and airy,with a huge shuttered window.The room was a good size with a smallish corner en-suit.The bed,fixtures and fittings were all of good quality,as were the excellent array of toiletries.
Breakfasts were superbly cooked using locally sorced ingredients,(but perhaps could have done with a fish option ie Kippers).Plenty of cereals, juice, yogurt etc available.
The location of The Escape is very handy for Machynlleth, Aberdovey and local sights.
The one dampner however,was the villiage of Pennal itself.The local pub was shut and does not appear to open until July.The small green had some sort of information board which was totally unreadable as were similar in the local church.(all very tired)
However,this should not put you off staying at this great little Guest House.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quicksylver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Escape at the beginning of June for 2 nights, we were collecting our daughter from Aberystwyth university. Even though it was about 30./40 mins away from Aberystwyth, we made the right choice in where we stayed.
Stuart & Lucie were very friendly, and made us feel quite at home.
The rooms were comfortable and cosy, only one drawback, there were no dressing gowns.
The breakfasts were lovely and there was a good choice of food.
there was no lounge or bar, which meant we had to go straight to our rooms when we arrived back. There was a honesty bar, which worked well. We didnt use this as we had brought our own wine with us.
The is a hotel complex just up the road, called McDonalds Resorts, we had a lovely walk to it and a few beers, the people were friendly.
We hopefully will be booking the Escape again on our next return to Wales. I would recommend it to anyone.
We left the Escape feeling totally chilled out.
We ate in Aberystwyth in the Orangery and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs_ducks63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Escape bed and breakfast for 2 nights to celebrate his birthday. I have been to this area in the past and have always found it a beautiful part of the country. Our stay was wonderful the owners were friendly and the breakfast beautiful. Rooms were very clean and smelled gorgeous, the fluffy cushions on the bed were a lovely extra touch! The location was great with easy access to Machnylleth and Aberdovey! We shall definately be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazwatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This is a very relaxing guest house where attention to detail has helped to make the rooms beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable. The hosts are really friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are great. In the dining room you have your own table for breakfast, where you can choose from the buffet , which includes fresh fruit, before ordering very tasty, cooked food . There was plenty of hot water and nice toiletries and there is digital T.V. in the bedrooms. For walkers, there are drying amenities and a place to scrub boots! Machynlleth, which has some great independent shops, is not far away. The views from the bedrooms are lovely and it is peaceful enough to hear owls hooting! We would strongly recommend The Escape for anyone who wants peace and quiet and lovely scenery; great breakfasts; comfy beds and friendly, helpful hosts. An extra bonus is that there is a friendly pub 2 minutes' walk away. They do an Early-Bird Special of 2 courses for £10, Mon-to Fri. We would return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLANG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at The Escape in Aug09 and found it to be quite owners to be very warm and welcoming. The rooms were a good size with one being ensuite and the other with an adjoining bathroom. A good clean and quiet place to stay and the breakfast is just wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibi123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennal
2.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
103 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Llety Brynawel
Llety Brynawel
#2 of 3 in Pennal
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
0.9 mi away
Gogarth Hall Farm
Gogarth Hall Farm
#7 of 11 in Machynlleth
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: Tower Road, Pennal, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Pennal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pennal
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House accommodations just outside of Aberdovey. The Escape is a magnificent Georgian guesthouse of immense charm and character set in the peaceful village of Pennal. Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you won't be made to feel welcome. Our aim has been to create a high quality, small, friendly guesthouse offering stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of hospitality and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Escape Pennal, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing