We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldiola Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hotel very pleasant and the staff are generally kind and helpful. The pool area is very tranquil and not crowded. Our main disappointment was the food and the dinning room. The first night was average and we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. Second night was worse. My starter, "focaccia with sautéed onion" was a slab of shop-bought pizza base with pan fried onion in some white wine. The main course was a roasted leg of chicken with six chips (picture loaded). No seasoning, no sauce, no imagination. Both went back unfinished. Awful. The dinning room really isn't big enough. There were over 20 couples staying and the tables were only cms apart. The only way to have a private conversation was to whisper. We checked out a day early and went to a hotel on the coast to be spoilt and well fed. Over € 200 per night HB and really not to be recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a view of the lake but the bushes were so overgrown that the only way you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristol54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you're after a quiet and serene retreat in an idyllic part of Sardinia off the beaten track, this is the place for you.
The Aldiola Country Resort is small with only 20 or so rooms in semi-detached chalets, and best suited for couples who want to escape the rat race. If you want peace, tranquillity and privacy the chalets are excellently laid out so that you're not overlooked. Our room didn't have a great view of the lake, but it didn't spoil it at all for us (other apartments had better views).The standard room comprised a good sized bedroom and bathroom, which were tastefully decorated in the local style and had most required items.
The hotel staff were all excellent and professional, but also very amiable and friendly without being obtrusive. A glass of local wine was offered even after our late arrival, for which one of the staff had to stay late to check us in.
The food was very good, with a good buffet selection for breakfast and either a different set daily menu or a la carte menu available.
You couldn't help but relax and forget about all the stresses of life. It never felt overly busy, making it even easier to relax. A good location for exploring the northeast part of Sardinia, but does require a hire car to make the most of the area.
Highly recommended, and we'll certainly be going back at some time in the near future.

Room Tip: Standard room was perfectly adequate. Try and book early to get a chalet with a good view across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Reception staff received us with a glass of wine.
Very professional staff overall,attentive and an eye for details.
Excellent rooms,spacious,good bed,clean and good bathroom
Well prepared dinners with good local wines.
No wifi in the room but public area and swimming pool
Highly recommendable to stay at this hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Aldiola Country resort. We spent three nighs there on a half board basis and were exposed to very tasty Sardinian cuisine. The staff was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the view and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianemilio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Aldiola Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Anna K , siamo molto contenti dei complimenti ricevuti, e la ringrazio personalmente ed a nome di tutto lo staff per il tempo dedicato a scrivere il suo personale pensiero su Aldiola Country Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent a week in this hotel. After our trip from the airport, we were kindly surprised by the ultimate view and silence. A small hotel, located in the beautifull hills of Sardinia. From the moment we checked in the hotel staff made our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms have stunning views. The food is perfect! They have a very nice selection of wines (tip: try the White vermentino).

If you want to see Sardinia this is a great starting point. you can drive anywhere or take a bike and go down hill. Within a nice distance and siteseeing trip you are at the coast where a lot of nice restaurants are located. The next morning you wll still be enjoying a nice relaxing breakfast with lakeview and fresh juices.

Tip: Go to calaganone for a day and rent a small boat to see the caves.

Room Tip: Ask for room 401. very nice view. All rooms are quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DQuere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianemilio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Aldiola Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013
Google Translation

Gradito Ospite, è un vero piacere che abbia potuto scoprire il segreto dell'Aldiola, un piccolo hotel immerso nella natura incontaminata, molto vicino ad altrettanti luoghi meravigliosi da visitare : arcipelago della Maddalena, Castelsardo, le infinite spiagge della Costa Smeralda, le montagne di Tempio e quelle del Nuorese a circa 1,20 ore di macchina , oppure ancora , come ha fatto lei la spettacolare Cala Luna a Calagonone.
Tutto lo Staff ringrazia per i gentili apprezzamenti a saremo felici di averni nuovamente graditi ospiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Silent place in the hills just off the Costa Smeralda coastline. Spacious rooms in separate huts in Sardinian style, some with sea view. Everybody is in bed by eleven. Too quiet for my taste, but the outdoor treadmill with view on the lake is just great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Very quiet resort perfect for a mountain get away and do some cycling or trekking. Set in the open countryside with distinct structures for the rooms makes it unique, well kept, very clean and welcoming with awesome views in every corner. Restaurant is well furnished with wines and the food we had was fantastic. It is a bit out of the way so plan to stay within the vicinity or to have a car if you plan to go down to the beaches as the drive is also very nice. Staff are well prepared, kind and warm - will even stay to have a drink once their shift has finished.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dario954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio di Gallura
0.9 mi away
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
#1 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
295 reviews
10.3 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
559 reviews
141.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#3 of 40 in Olbia
1,022 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
753 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 17 in La Maddalena
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldiola Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldiola Country Resort

Address: S.P. 137 Lago del Liscia km 4,700, 07030 Sant'Antonio di Gallura, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Sant'Antonio di Gallura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
Price Range: £78 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldiola Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Aldiola Country Resort is surrounded by centuries-old trees, and located on the hills overlooking the Liscia Lake, close to the Sardinian Emerald Coast. The panoramic swimming pool and the various shady spots offer moments of total relaxation. The architectural features of the Gallura region are reflected in the lay-out of the hotel rooms. Each room offers spectacular views of the lake. Furnishings are in the authentic Sardinian style. Particular care has been paid to the choice of wood and ironworks for the furniture and fixtures, textiles and ceramics, all crafted by the finest Sardinian artisans. Both the restaurant and the rooms are set among the local shrub and flowers, carefully trimmed and illuminated at night to create a beautiful atmosphere. The Aldiola restaurant offers the best choice of regional and international cuisine, with 2 types of menu that change daily. The finest traditional dishes are enhanced by local ingredients and flavours. The house wine, from the family vineyard, is a fine, fresh red wine. The restaurant also stocks the best known Sardinian labels. The surrounding area is rich in extraordinary sites, both natural and archaeological. A short distance away, on the shores of the lake, are numerous 1000-year-old olive groves and amazing granite rocks. You can also admire monuments of the Nuragic age. Aldiola Country Resort is also the ideal starting point for nature walks and more challenging trekking excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldiola Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldiola Country Hotel Sant`Antonio Di Gallura
Hotel Aldiola Country
Aldiola Country Resort Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing