We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, bad management”
Review of Gading Beach Hotel

Gading Beach Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gading Beach Hotel
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place, bad management”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It'a a local style hotel with AC rooms and sea front bungalows. The beach is very nice with a coral reef hudred meters from the strand an nice mangroves. It's 9 Km from Maumere town so you should hire a motorbike (7 USD a day) but it's necessary if you want to explore the outskirts of maumere. The manager is pleasant but inflexible with the hotel fees (little expensive). The service and the restaurant are awfull don't expect much from them because they hardly speak english and are very greedy to collect money for everything (they charged us big money for a couple of mask and fins that were been suposed into the price of the room). They have a shuttle service to the airport or bus station but i'ts nos very reliable , we were about to miss our flight because the hotel transport didn't show up. and no one lifted a finger to help us. It was an adventure to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We're truly disappointed regarding this hotel, it was highly recommmend on the Lonely Planet and this is why we chose it.
We arrived at the hotel 2 weeks ago and ask for 2 rooms, the staff seemed to be nice and we put our stuff in the rooms.
Then we had a problem with our driver and we ask the receptionist to make a phone call for us, when she undestood we wanted to call the agency to complain about the driver she changed completly her behaviour in order not to do things agaist the driver.

She didn't let us using any phone in the hotel, stop talking to us, we ask for a taxi and she didn't call it and she start screaming at us that we shoudn't talk to the driver because we are woman and we don't have the rights to talk to men in Indonesia. This is unaccetable by somewone who work in a hotel.
I understand that there are different religious point of view,. but if she manage a hotel (which are usually for tourist from all over the world and from all religious) she should help tourist out and not cause problem !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maumere hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We called ahead to ask availability and we're informed that all categories were still available. When we arrived though, the very unfriendly manager told us she had only the most expensive room available. When we informed her that we had just called she argued that we had used the wrong phonenumber. When we told her we would still like the cheaper option she summoned het staff to get another key. This was the 160.000 Rp option and fine for us. When we went to register she barked at us to pay for the room and she kept on talking about us to her staff. Since we would only stay for one night, we ignored her behavior. After lunch the restaurant staff tried to cheat us out of our change. That night we had to order our breakfast for it to be ready before we left for the airport. The next morning there was no breakfast although we ordered it. We could get some toast, but even that never arrived. Lousy service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flores, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had friend from French were book the room through online but when check in no room available / fully booked. All the rooms were occupied by local people. Make sure a least 1 or 2 days before check in asking if room available even though you had record from online booking that room confirmed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KomodoFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Gading Beach Bungalows and chose the beachside 'deluxe'? bungalows over the cheaper options. The room was nice, with beautiful views and was a good place to relax after an exhausting transit and rather overwhelming experience upon arrival into Maumere airport. The staff could be more helpful, and it took 20 minutes to track someone down in the morning for breakfast, but a swim in the ocean and a coffee on the deck of the beachside restaurant made up for any frustrations. A little on the expensive side but justified by the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumere
4.4 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
31 reviews
7.2 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
1.1 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Maumere
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
160.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
432 reviews
6.9 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
6.1 mi away
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gading Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gading Beach Hotel

Property: Gading Beach Hotel
Address: Maumere, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Maumere
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Gading Beach Hotel Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing