We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better options in Flores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Certificate of Excellence
Podimore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“One of the better options in Flores”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had travelled through the Eastern part of Flores and this was our last stay. With so much poor and indifferent accomodation on this lovely island this was a blessed relief. Hot showers, cleaned every day, very efficient if somewhat unsmiling reception staff, and good rooms in separate bungalows were all very much appreciated and novel after travelling for three weeks on Flores.
We had a beach front bungalow which was lovely. It had a great view, a fantastic terrace to sit on and was quiet and of a good standard.
Meals were ok though probably no better than that. Breakfast tended to be a bit haphazard though there was a good range of food including some nice bread, which is unusual in Indonesia. Evening meals varied from quite good to average though we were glad we opted our of the beach BBQ where the food looked a bit dire.
The staff in the restaurant were young Indonesians from Tourism school who were being placed to learn the trade. The idea of giving them the chance and experience to train at a place like this is wonderful. However, though quite wiling when prompted they were pretty clueless and we felt sorry that despite us watching carefully there was really no training at all happening and the staff therefore tended to respond to requests rather than anticipate them. Therefore at breakfast one day they sat and chatted with each other amiably rather than serve the guests at the tables. It needed someone to watch and mentor them as to what the requirements were and we did not see this at any time.
There was slow wifi in the reception area but it tended to come and go.
That said we thought this was a great place to stay. It was relaxed, quiet and beautiful and the swimming great in waters that were clear and calm.
A really good place to stay and though not cheap it was worth the money.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are worth the extra if you can stretch to afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    109
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
40
104
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luanda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here after 7 days exploring Flores, and had a wonderful end of vacation.
The bungalow is close to the beach, the beach is very quiet, all staffs are friendly. Food is good, big portions (for us), water for drink is always free, just bought 1 bottle of water, and you can refill it for the rest of your stay, a nice, green service! For dinner, the staff will go room to room to ask for your order, so you can save some waiting time. The weather was great, nice and cool breeze, good massage, so overall, a good place to relax and refresh after the long trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiparman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

First time I visited SWC was in 1992 just after the quake. As of 2005 I come here every year and sometimes 2 times a year. I always book 2 nights when I arrive and 2 nights before I depart. I have slept in almost all the bungalows. The last few year I have a preference for the more expensive front bungalows even if the price is 65-80 euro per night. I think it is my age... The staff is always very friendly and helpful. I can confirm that part of the income goes to local charities (6 childrenhomes, Natvitas Watublapi, Maria Visitasi, Ressurexio Lekebai, Stell Maris Nangahure, Asumptio Wolofeo, Dymphna Maumere. In total they have supported over the years some 3.500 pupils. They now support some 191 children. The rooms are very clean and all the rooms have nets. The property is regular sprayed for mosquito's by an NGO, as are all the other hotels in the Maumere area. I always spray my room to find later in the evening some dead bugs/critters. You cannot avoid this in Flores. The A/C is a blessing and keeps the room cool (even cold). They have even luke warm (never hot) water. The food is good (but order before 6 o'clock if you want to eat at 7. I notice this year that the service dropped a little. This was caused by the change of the restaurant/beachbar staff. The spoken English level of the new trainees dropped dramatically and also their service. As soon as their training is finished the service will see improvement. SWC trains a lot of the hotel staff in Flores. Every few year the staff is changed to give some of the other kids a chanche to learn. They still have not replaced the boat with the engine problem. This means the diving tour is done with a slow local fisherboat. I have noticed on previous visits that the beach is cleaned/swept by the staff and locals for garbage. If you compare the SWC beach today with the beaches lying in the direction of the Geliting market and Maumere you will know what I mean. SWC does not restrict the local people acces to the beach. The beach is still public property for a stroke of some 15 meter. Their neighbour SAO Wisato has enclosed their area last year (which is an illegal act), You see the same happening in Labuan Bajo, Sumba and Nusa Dua where the local people are deprived of their livelihood as they have no more access to the sea. So go SWC.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are more affordable and as good as the front rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We arrived late in the evening and this place has a very isolated and slightly creepy feel at night. Despite the name, sea world club is actually a selection of cottage/bungalow style independent houses (ie so no room service, pool etc) but the room was amazing. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was delightful with wooden floor boards, 4 poster bed and mosquito net, fridge and lounge area with a view to the beach. There is also a front porch perfect for reading a book. The bungalows are so so close to the beach you could literally throw a stone and there are lounge chairs provided on the beach area. If you sit close to the bar you can also order drinks there. There is a small village adjacent but the locals are generally respectful and don't harass guests. There is a massage service on site which is absolutely amazing. I guess my main complaint would be that this place always seemed to have a slightly eerie ghost town feel. The restaurant often appeared closed (sometimes it was and sometimes it wasn't despite the advertised opening hours). The food was pretty good but avoid the pizza. Also important to note is that you should order dinner in advance (no one told us we found out by accident) because if you don't you will be waiting a long time for your food. It always seemed that you had to hunt someone down if you wanted anything but despite this the staff were always very friendly and very helpful. The honeymoon suite is located far from all the amenities and at night the pathways are very poorly lit (to the point of using a phone light to see). We also had an unpleasant experience with a chap called "Cletus" trying to sell us tours on our first night. Breakfast is eggs, pancakes or Indonesian fare with fruit, smoked fish, toast and jams. No complaints about the room at all but the flies were terrible!!! Everywhere! All the time! and in the restaurant which is open plan. Make sure you bring repellant, coils or candles or all of the above.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good place to stay in Maumere. A bit out of town but easy to get a taxi. Beach front cottage good with space between other cottages. Breakfast good and dinners ok. The room was clean and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intend2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A well managed hotel in Flores; good size rooms, nice bath, and comfortable bed. Good storage space as well. Bed had mosquito netting, and the rooms was equipped with an electric mosquito zapper -- however we saw no sign of the nasty critters while we were there for 3 nights in late April.

Nice beach for swimming and sunning (no waves, current -- kind of like being in a bathtub) ; beach towels provided.

Free wifi in common areas, which actually does reach some of the rooms; but I think my email address was hacked there so watch out.

There is a restaurant and bar which was quite reasonably priced; go for the fresh fish,...

Free taxi service if you book through their web site ; otherwise do ask them to provide a taxi -- it will be chepaer and nicer than what you find at the airport.

Inthe category of hotels in small places, it was very good....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susans_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea World resort as part of a photo tour to Flores. Expectations were not high so we were quite happy with the accommodation.

Flores doesn't offer many dining options, but the food here was quite good. They even had a selection of wines from Bali, at reasonable prices. Breakfast was also good with some cold cuts and home baked breads. Rooms were clean, but not fancy as you'd imagine given the price. Internet is also available

Good value for money.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pjanusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maumere
1.4 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
1.8 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
29 reviews
166.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 41 in Flores
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
167.3 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#15 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
211 reviews
166.7 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Club Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Club Beach Resort

Property: Sea World Club Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Nairoa KM 13 | Waiara, Maumere, Flores 86181, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Maumere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maumere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea World Club Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center, located in peaceful Waiara beach in Maumere, the biggest city in Flores Island-Indonesia. Situated along 500 m nice grey sands beach and surrounding by beautiful tropical garden makes the resort looks very exotics. Rebuilding a bankrupt hotel was a far-sighted self-help-project of the German father Heinrich Bollen SVD. This courageous project offers financial support for the social project in education, health and children to development the island and provides jobs for about 40 people. The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center features 9 beachfront cottage and suites,1 honeymoon suites and 3 family cottages overlooking the ocean, 12 garden cottage and 2 private villas. With the nice beautiful beach and surrounded by tropical garden, the exotic buffet breakfast with home made jam from the local fruits, dinning at beachfront restaurant with selection of menu, enjoying the spectacular sunset while watching the fisherman working, diving and snorkelling activity, The Sea World Club Beach Resort & Dive Center is the place to be to have the amazing exclusive holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea World Club Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Club Beach Hotel Maumere
Sea World Hotel
Sea World Club Beach Resort Maumere, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing