We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Riung”
Review of Pondok SVD

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cibal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok SVD
Ranked #1 of 1 Cibal B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice in Riung”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This place is clean with hot water and extremely friendly personell. The food was poor and the big rooms were invaided by millipedes. No internet. A good choice though, next to Nirvana. Its costly to have your clothes cleaned. Make sure you dont pay more than 750.000 rp for a boat daytrip as they tend to overprice everything in Flores.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    31
    29
    16
    4
See reviews for
13
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were taken there by our driver without choice, probably as they all congregate there and I guess we went with the flow knowing that there was little choice in Ruing. We didn´t rate it, overpriced for the quality offered, like most hotels in Flores. Breakfast was awful, worse than the usual pancakes as you just get a roll and a slice of cheese. 

Mosquitos were rife. Thankfully we didn´t suffer the noise of the towns generator as we were far enough away. 



Unless you are going to go snorkeling (which we thought was really expensive at Rp850,000 for 9-4pm), not sure what the point is of going to Ruing as there really is nothing there except a couple of good photos. The road from Bajawa is smaller than a small country road in Europe with broken tarmac and overgrown bushes, so although it certainly not a boring ride, it takes forever. The road to Endi is a tad better. For sure with Flores, its is more about the ´journey´ as the scenery throughout is always fantastic. 

Flores is pretty basic, but Ruing is far behind the rest of the island and its a shame as it could be a nice little village to chill out in with a bit more investment. 24 hour electric is said to be coming soon!

Given the hotel an average as there seems little difference between hotels in Flores at that price range, so for us, it was an 'average' low grade place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose carefully because of the towns generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank au-fait-with-bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

What a pleasant find. The rooms are the cleanest I’ve seen. Beds comfy. AC in the evening when there is electricity. Breakfast was basic but ok. The ladies here are friendly. They did a good job with our laundry but was expensive as charge per item. Overall we really like RIung, very nice people. Go RUMAH Makan Muriah for fab food and they will sort you out with Captain Beduyih who will take you on a tour of the islands for 350 000.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

first we went to bintang hotel which was a desolated place that looked like it needed renovation although it was supposed to be relatively new.
Then we went to pondok which looked much better. At least there were some other guests and it has a nice garden.
The room is really basic, not cosy but it's Flores and according to that it was a good place. It was really hot so we were glad to have airco. Electricity is only available between 6 pm and 6 Am. The next door power plant makes a lot of noice.
Breakfast was really basic nothing special.
We payed 300.000 rp for a room with airco . Little bit overprized but there is no much choice left. Staff was shy and friendly .


Riung is a gloomy place that looks desolated, hardly Any tourists make the trip. We came from bajawa and the road to riung is very bad, but doable.
We wanted to visit the 17 Islands but there were no guides in town. The office was closed and the harbour was empty. Finally we arranged a trip via a friend of our driver. He asked to much but was the only guide we found. He seemed friendly at first but when we booked, this disappeared.
We heard that most people book their trip in advance.
The 17 Islands were nice to see, but because of the atmosphere in town i don't know if i would recommend other travellers going there. You might consider spending more time in Moni or bajawa.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

During my travel around Flores island i can say, If you compare this place with others around, for sure you can say that is not bad at all.
I just arrive here to see the 17 islands, and this place to take a rest 1 or 2 night, is good.
Hot water, nice staff.Better than other place in Flores for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcosmalaga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

There is not a lot of choice in Riung for a hotel and Pondok SVD is probably one of the best in this town.
The rooms are set around a small garden/terrace where children can play and where you can sit and enjoy the evening.
We stayed there during Idul Fitri, the end of Ramadhan, so the hotel was full and a bit noisy. But the rooms is clean and there is no hot water (but Riung is hot so it's all right).
Breakfast is OK as well and included in the price of the room (200.000 Rp/night).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben29000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guipuzcoa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

In Riung there are no many options to sleep, so we can say may be is the best one. Staff is not helpful, maybe due to language limitations. Basic place with a lot of triple rooms. Good value-quality balance. Buy a good insecticide!!! Located 15 minutes walk from the small port of the village.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cibal
79.3 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#15 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
211 reviews
79.4 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
89.8 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.1 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
29 reviews
61.2 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
89.6 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok SVD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok SVD

Property: Pondok SVD
Address: Cibal, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Cibal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pondok SVD Cibal, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing