We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stop en route home from the Alps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western La Metairie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect stop en route home from the Alps”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have now stayed here as a family with youngish childen (6 and 7) four times and each time we have had a superb experience. It is the perfect end to a long drive from the alps home - just 80km from Calais we stop here for a last french gourmet dinner and comfortable stop en route home. We have found their family rooms are perfect as you can park directly outside the door which is handy when you have a lot of stuff, can keep an eye on the car. The hotel offers a choice of three restaurants, most expensive in the chateau not really suitable for children, and two further restaurants which are more brasserie in style. Both restaurants are kid friendly and treat them like mini adults - last time they had a superb lamb dish which they have said was the one of the best meals they've had, great wine selection for the adults too.

Room Tip: If you are driving the exterior family rooms are very convenient if you have a car full of stuff. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    73
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
80
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely friendly welcome, superb modern room, very clean and with every facility, aperitifs in adjoining Chateau and great meal in Distillery restaurant. Great value for money, and just 80k from Calais.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

La Metairie is located approximately 45 minutes from the Eurotunnel Terminal in Calais, a few minutes off the A26 and as such made an excellent stopover location en route home from Snowboarding in the Alps - it came with positive recommendations from family who had stayed previously. Arriving at 1500hrs, check in was efficient and our rooms easily located. On opening the bedroom door we were treated to the awesome spectacle of the original distillery's bricked, vaulted ceilings - the tiled floors and terracotta tiled bathroom all added to the sympathetically rustic, yet luxurious charm. We were well looked after by the barman in the Chateau when taking a bottle of wine - he rallied around to prepare us a table and chairs with cushions so that we could enjoy the afternoon sunshine in the beautifully maintained gardens; perfectly spoken English and a good sense of humour even with our terrible attempts at speaking French.

There are three restaurants on site and breakfast is taken in the main reception building although we departed too early to sample breakfast, we did enjoy an excellent meal in La Distillerie in the evening.

I would have given a full 5 out of 5 except for one slight issue - in the evening of our stay, an artist was performing in the function suite which we hadn't been previously made aware of and this went on until the very early hours of the morning - soundproofing of the rooms was reasonable but surprisingly given that it was March, the room became uncomfortably hot in the night - the choice was too be too hot to sleep or to be kept awake by the music if we opened the windows. Once the concert had ended, we had a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed and we will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed whilst visiting the Loose battlefield sites last autumn. Very satisfied and will visit again. Good restaurants on site are a bonus for me (the driver). Have recommended them to friends as we'll. Martin

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MWStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed her en-route to the Alps for our honeymoon and would definitely stay here again.The room was fairly basic but warm, clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom which was very well fitted. We did only book a standard room so it was as expected. We were slightly disappointed as BW Reward members to not be upgraded, but we didn't spend an awful lot of awake time in the room so it mattered not. The hotel is in a quiet location so had a peaceful night's sleep.

We ate in La Vasco brassiere (just across the courtyard) and had a wonderful meal with excellent food, wine and service. It made an excellent start to this special holiday.

Highly recommended as an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Eat at La Vasco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porthcawl
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A well managed hotel in the grounds of a large Chateau, minutes away from the Motorway links across France , Belgium and Germany. We have experienced this hotel on a number of occasions as a stopover and it certainly caters for an overnight stay. There are 2 good restaurants, La Distillerie and Le Vasco, in the grounds with varied menus , while, if you are seeking something special there is the Robert gourmet restaurant in the Chateau. La Chartreuse Du Val Saint Esprit is a charming hotel but if you have a lower budget La Merairie is a good alternative. Our Room was clean, comfortable and well decorated with all amenities including free Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Some of the 'Comfort' rooms in this 3 star hotel overlook the entrance and fields of a working french farm. If you have rooms that look out on the farm (as we did) the farm vehicles will be passing with 10 metres of your window.

In addition the hotel is close to a busy minor road

We returned from a function at 1.30 am to listen to a cacophony of animal noises and dogs barking in the distance. They calmed down by 2 am but by 5 am the cocks had decided to crow.

The beds are exceedingly comfortable (firm) but I did not have a good night's sleep because of the noise.

The rooms are not big

If you book a 'Comfort' room, be aware of the risks!

If visiting the area again I regret that I would look to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book into an upmarket room that is away from the farmyard. If booking a 'Comfort' room ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PES389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean C, Responsable relations clients at Best Western La Metairie, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for leaving your comments upon your stay. It is always a way for us to improve our quality of service.

Following your comment, we would like first apologize for your bad feeling during your stay because of the working farm. Nevertheless in order to avoid such a bad feeling for you, all the windows are acoustic double-glazed window. Knowing that this could not be enough for totally protecting against sound, all the rooms are equipped with ear plugs.

We hope you will be back for another stay in order to totally enjoy a stay in our establishment,

Best regards,

Marine G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosnay
0.1 mi away
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
#1 of 4 in Bruay-la-Buissiere
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Campanile Bethune - Fouquieres Les Bethune
Campanile Bethune - Fouquieres L...
#1 of 4 in Fouquieres-les-Bethune
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Liberty
Inter-Hotel Le Liberty
#2 of 4 in Bruay-la-Buissiere
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#3 of 4 in Bruay-la-Buissiere
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western La Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western La Metairie

Property: Best Western La Metairie
Address: 1 Bis Rue De Fouquieres, 62199 Gosnay, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gosnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western La Metairie 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le BEST WESTERN La Metairie*** offre un style au decor authentique et plus contemporain. Ses 40 chambres (dont 15 fumeurs) sont reparties sur 2 batiments et differentes categories : Confort, Charme, Famille, Salon, Appartement. Elles sont equipees de lits double ou twin, television a ecran plat avec reception de chaines francaises et etrangeres par satellite, mini-bar, coffre-fort, telephone, d'une connexion wifi gratuite, de la climatisation (uniquement en chambres Confort et Famille). Leur salle de bain sont equipees d'une baignoire/douche, produits d'accueil et seche-cheveux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western FR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western La Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Metairie Hotel Gosnay
Best Western Gosnay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing