We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chateau-to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked into this hotel as an overnight stop expecting it to be a Chateau type property

The gardens were great and the only good part of the experience. When we arrived we were eventually shown to room the entrance to which was through a dirty and smelly smoking room. This smell pervaded into the room which was small and damp. We asked to moved but were told this was not possibel

For ease we ate in one of the restraurants which which was over priced but the food was edible in a mass cooking sort of way

Basically this is a down market conference venue

Not a place to re-visit or recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

What a wonderful end to our travels. We stayed one night before getting the ferry back to Dover. The hotel is set in a picturesque, quiet location within beautiful grounds. There are three restaurants on site which offer both traditional French cuisine and also contemporary dining. The whole experience from arriving to leaving gives you a feeling of relaxation. The staff are friendly and efficient and whilst the hotel is quite grand it is also comfortable and homely. You won't be disappointed with a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for one, and like so much. We generally preferred to stay in castle hotel, and a little bit surprised that on nord France there very few castle's hotels available.
This one was very nice placed. Even so announced 6 ha park/garden was a little bit more smaller, but well run, nice
Staff was very helpful, and did it best to accommodate all our requests. No question here
Restaurant was also extremely good. Instead of restaurant we choose brasserie, and was very please by leave of service, dishes quality, and wine selection. Waiters were very professional, and all recommendation was highly appreciated.
Even so i have to admit that the price was a little high as For such country side place, Without any doubt we are looking forward to get there once more again when we are around

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was not a good experience. The lone staff member did her best but unfortunately there weren't enough of them. We lugged our bags from the car park to reception across an old stone tiled courtyard. Generally this is no trouble as we are seasoned travellers but the lack of staff support continued. The lone receptionist was also the concierge and the bell waiter and the coffee maker and the maitre de house. It was a lonely desolate place to visit. Tourist services consisted of the young lady doing her best to encourage us into the region. On checking out, the breakfast waitress was also the front office clerk! Great adaptability but wow, what are we paying for?

Room Tip: Only if you have to go to the region otherwise do yourself a favour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Really fabulous hotel, the staff were very efficient but warm and friendly as well. The meal in the Robert II restaurant was absolutely fabulous. The room was very clean and really comfortable as was the en suite facilities. There was plenty of car parking space. The surrounding space around the hotel was really lovely and well cared for.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely and peaceful as the grounds are so big no traffic comes anywhere near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three days and could not fault anything at this hotel. The staff where attentive and helpful. Extremely good value for money. Bedroom was very romantic and comfortable. We will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenM8012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

From the first moment to check-out everything about this ex-monastery exuded charm and relaxation.Don't go if you want activity,but do go if you want to be pampered with lovely food in the three restaurants and great surroudings.
I understand a pool and associated "goody's" are in the pipeline ,personally I don't think that really matters

Room Tip: Try the sea bass baked in salt in the main restaurant.But don't have a starter as they bring so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosnay
0.1 mi away
Best Western La Metairie
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
323 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
#1 of 4 in Bruay-la-Buissiere
312 reviews
18.2 mi away
Novotel Lens Noyelles
Novotel Lens Noyelles
#1 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
481 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lensotel
Lensotel
#1 of 4 in Lens
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit

Address: 1 rue de Fouquieres, 62199 Gosnay, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gosnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Price Range: £122 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de charme 4* situé au cœur de l’euro région sur l'axe Paris Calais Londres. Situé à 5 minutes de Béthune et de l'autoroute A26, La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit, classé aux monuments historiques et rénové avec soin en 1986 par les propriétaires actuels, est en plein cœur d'un parc de 6 hectares.Le domaine propose un vaste choix de restauration avec 3 restaurants d'atmosphère et de cuisine différentes: Le Robert II, restaurant gastronomique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chartreuse Du Val Saint Esprit Hotel Gosnay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing