We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived early after a crossing to Zeebrugge and took the opportunity to have lunch in La Distellerie.The location is just off the motorway so ideal if you are heading to or from the channel ports or visiting the battlefields of the first world war.It is also very peaceful with no traffic noise.We were part of a car group so had dinner in a group of over 100 people which was very good.Spacious comfortable well appointed bedroom with luxurious bathroom.The staff were friendly and courteous.
We decided to stay here again a week later and the experience was every bit as good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and nothing has changed. A most enjoyable experience with comfortable rooms, excellent service and staff who go much further than the extra mile. We were welcomed back like long lost friends, having been recognised as previous guests and were immediately upgraded to a more expensive room. This is a great stop off point when heading south from Calais as it is only a short distance from the motorway. As a result we will be giving this hotel repeat custom when we spend more time there to visit the WW1 war graves and battlefields.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasWilliamReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

beautiful buildings and French formal garden; excellent cuisine in the refined dining room of the Robert II restaurant but choose your room with care , ours was stuffy and had plumbing problems.A twenty minute ride from the Louvre-Lens museum.Very attentive staff.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view; choose one with bath and separate toilet if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamaestra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while exploring Vimy Ridge and surrounding World War 1 battlefields. The hotel is beautiful, and the on-site vegetable garden means every meal is very fresh. The choice of 3 restaurants means never having to leave after a long day touring. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fantastic hotel and grounds and 3 restaurants to choose from. Our favourite is De Vasco. Service is excellent.
We have stayed here in different room types and they have all been great. It is easy to get to off the motorway en-route south.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayH341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in La Chartreuse on the last night of our trip around Europe before catching the ferry from Calais the next day. The hotel is beautiful, has that faded beauty of an old Chateau and yet does not feel too grand. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the Robert II restaurant and had the 7 course 'Discovery' menu which was incredible! We struggled with the portions, though, they were certainly not small! Overall a lovely experience, I would recommend this hotel and I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Finding a 'quality' chateau hotel close to Calais can be difficult, and regretably most of them cater for the 'English' (see my review of Chateau de Cocove for a comparison) or be outlandishly expensive

This hotel is just 1 hour from Calais, and is an ideal stop en route or on the return journey back to the UK , due to its close proximity to the tunnel.

It does stand very much on its own, in the middle of nowhere, and you are greeted by impressive wrought iron gates leading into a charming cobbled courtyard parking area.

There is a more recent extension to the hotel, built very sympathetically in the same style, the difference is more noticable in the inside that on the outside.

Efficient and courteous reception staff, even offering us a free wifi code (without asking) having noticed an ipad stuck under my arm !

We had a large Superior room in the 'modern' part of the Chateau, but traditionally furnished. Large wide corridors and beauiful furnishings. We had a superior room, tradionally furnished with a lovely view over the gardens.

To the rear of the Chateau are more gardens, and a herb a vegetable gardens clearly used by the kitchen - and you are more than welcome to wander around the 'veggie patch' at your leisure.

The Chateau has three restaurants, one more of a Brasseries style, one more informal and their Gourmet restaurant Robert II. We ate in the latter pre reserving our table before we arrived at the hotel.

The food was faultless, and for a nine course tasting menu 80EUR wasnt the end of the world. Good comprehensive wine list (well arent they always in France).

We'll be coming back here very soon!

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosnay
0.1 mi away
Best Western La Metairie
24.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
759 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
20.6 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
18.2 mi away
Novotel Lens Noyelles
Novotel Lens Noyelles
#1 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit

Address: 1 rue de Fouquieres, 62199 Gosnay, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gosnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Price Range: £119 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de charme 4* situé au cœur de l’euro région sur l'axe Paris Calais Londres. Situé à 5 minutes de Béthune et de l'autoroute A26, La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit, classé aux monuments historiques et rénové avec soin en 1986 par les propriétaires actuels, est en plein cœur d'un parc de 6 hectares.Le domaine propose un vaste choix de restauration avec 3 restaurants d'atmosphère et de cuisine différentes: Le Robert II, restaurant gastronomique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chartreuse Du Val Saint Esprit Hotel Gosnay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing