We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, peaceful luxury.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Certificate of Excellence
S Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous, peaceful luxury.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful chateau-style hotel, located within 10 minutes of A26 although road directions are not too clear (use a satnav). Staff excellent, very helpful and good English if you need that. Bedrooms, esp mid- and high-level, are excellent although not all with aircon. Very spacious. No lift or porter, but reception staff will offer to handle luggage. Atmosphere is so peaceful, just the place to get away from it all. The gourmet restaurant is very expensive, but 2 brasseries much more reasonable. Le Distillerie is excellent, but Le Vasco a little disappointing with down-market menu although cooking is good. Again, service is excellent but some staff have difficulty understanding the english accent (in english or french). All in all, quite perfect for a relaxing break. We WILL go again (and again).

Room Tip: Get the best grade you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgiantaffSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    108
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
198
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

La Chartseuse is a lovely place in northern France. We have stayed there quite regularly for over 20 years. The place has grown to have now three restaurants that all offer wonderful food. The luxury rooms are great, but the regular ones do not have Air cfonditioning. Beutiful garden and nowadays not only for roses but various vegetables, berries and herbs.

Room Tip: Ask for air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had expected great things from this hotel - although I hadn't thought the website was particularly well-designed - especially as most of the reviews were positive. However, on arrival, the poor receptionist was obliged to carry our suitcases as there was no porter and our room was on the top (second) floor with no lift. We did offer to carry our own cases but she insisted and so our initial impression was not a particularly good one. The decor of our room was delightful but the facilities were somewhat inferior given the price/rating of the hotel. For example, there were no tea/coffee making facilities; only a hand-held shower in the bath; no magnifying mirror; no shower cap; no hair conditioner - these things may not seem important to everyone but we've certainly had all of these in much cheaper hotels. In its favour though the hotel was in a lovely setting - the grounds and the vegetable/flower/herb garden were delightful - and the staff were friendly enough. The chef wasn't very happy when he discovered that we hadn't eaten in any of his restaurants but we had been out and about all day and it hadn't been convenient to come back to the hotel early enough for dinner. However, we were also partly swayed by the fanciness of the menus, when we were happier to stay in town for "moules et frites"!! The hotel is also situated a very easy drive from Calais and very convenient for visiting the towns and sites connected with WWI which had been the reason for our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel lived up to our expectations, with friendly and helpful staff.Three different restaurants are on site offering excellent cuisine in each. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean.We listened to birdsong, and walking among the many flowers and vegetables in the well kept grounds was delightful. Close to Lille, Ypres and Arras, it was a good area to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbhscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have visited this hotel many times before and we are always happy to return. If you want a quiet retreat, then this hotel is for you. There is a choice of three restaurants, each one of them is excellent. The chateau was an old monastery and the hotel has been restored and refurbished with very good taste. The hotel restaurant serves gourmet meals in a most beautiful dining room. Jean and Arnelle Constant, who own this hotel, ensure that your every needs are met. The gardens are beautiful and there is now a huge potager, which is fascinating. So well done.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in luxury rooms. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel has 3 restaurants on site : 2 bistro's and an upscale restaurant. We ate in one bistro and the restaurant and both times had a wonderful meal. Our room was spaceous and very clean, the bathroom spaceaous with both bath and shower. The service was impeccable. The hotel is close to many of the cities in North France, including Lille and Lens with the new Louvre Lens museum.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WimVds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stopped overnight on the way back from a skiing holiday recently. Very comfortable room and bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location near the motorway. Excellent meal in La Vasco. We will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 326LouiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosnay
0.1 mi away
Best Western La Metairie
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
309 reviews
18.2 mi away
Novotel Lens Noyelles
Novotel Lens Noyelles
#1 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
Ibis Styles Bethune Bruay
#1 of 4 in Bruay-la-Buissiere
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Bethune - Fouquieres Les Bethune
Campanile Bethune - Fouquieres L...
#1 of 4 in Fouquieres-les-Bethune
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit

Property: La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
Address: 1 rue de Fouquieres, 62199 Gosnay, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gosnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de charme 4* situé au cœur de l’euro région sur l'axe Paris Calais Londres. Situé à 5 minutes de Béthune et de l'autoroute A26, La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit, classé aux monuments historiques et rénové avec soin en 1986 par les propriétaires actuels, est en plein cœur d'un parc de 6 hectares.Le domaine propose un vaste choix de restauration avec 3 restaurants d'atmosphère et de cuisine différentes: Le Robert II, restaurant gastronomique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chartreuse Du Val Saint Esprit Hotel Gosnay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing