We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Views and Excellent Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thiw Son Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ko Yao Yai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views and Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall this was an excellent resort. The view from the beach is unbelievably spectacular. The resort is on a very quiet island, making it very relaxing and far from the usual tourist crowds of Phuket. The food at the resort's restaurant is excellent. Everything is fresh and it was some of the best Thai food I had on my entire trip to Thailand. The pool is lovely as it's faces the beach and the view of the water and outlying mountains.

My reasons for not giving this resort 5/5 was due to the lack of proper service staff; they didn't really know how to properly wait tables or focus on the guest experience. It was small things, such as the small "lobby" area of the resort was were the staff/family members of owners tended to hang out and watch TV. It would be better to have a separate staff lounge of this purpose as this area was right beside the restaurant and having Thai pop music playing loudly during dinner was not great. The resort was also doing construction directly beside the restaurant during our stay and there was almost constant welding and construction noise during the daytime which made it a bit harder to relax at the pool. These were small things but they took away from the overall experience which would have otherwise been perfect. Also the website mentioned that they could arrange rock climbing, but when we asked about this they didn't even understand what we were talking about!

Room Tip: The bungalows on the beach have a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    58
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
105
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I booked 1 night here and stayed for 3!

It's a beautiful spot, isolated with a spectacular view over the bay of islands. When the tide is out, contrary to other older reviews - you now now sit back and enjoy the scenery from the new and completed infinity pool! Plenty of deck-chairs and fresh clean towels to enjoy too.

Bungalows are of an excellent standard - en suite, fan, balcony, mosquito nets, fresh bedding, glass windows (better than thatch which lets bugs in) etc.

Staff are so friendly, service is excellent. It is a family managed resort though, so whilst nothing is too much effort, bear in mind its their home and they need to relax from time to time.

Infinity pool has 2 jacuzzi sections and the shallow end is wonderful for watching over the bay - incredible bonus given the price of this place!

They have both mopeds and kayaks for hire too. We kayaked which was fun, but current was exceptionally strong and distances are deceptively further than you might imagine, so be careful.

Food is excellent. Great range of Thai dishes and despite the ban elsewhere, they do serve alcohol here.

Beach is great for the warm waters, the isolation, the thunder storm evening spectacles and the island views. The natural sand is quite muddy, particularly while tide is out, but it's a minor point. There is soft yellow sand in the sun-bed area to enjoy, if you felt this was a 'sticking point'.

There is also some construction work in progress. This didn't cause any significant disturbance to us, particularly as the pool is now complete and in operation.

Gorgeous spot for a few days.

To get there we went:
- Taxi from Phuket town > Phuket Bang Rong pier (500Bath)
- Longboat to Yao Noi island, 1hr, (120Bath one way) (Departs: 08:30, 09:30, 11:40, 12:30, 14:30, 17:00)
Or
- Speedboat to Yao Noi island, 30mins, (200Bath one way) (Departs 07:30, 08:00, 09:30, 11:00, 13:30, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00)
- taxi to Thiwson, 10minutes, (250-300Bath)

Room Tip: Would pay extra for front bungalows to watch spectacular thunder storms from at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

It could be lovely if it was finished. Instead our peace and serenity was loudly disturbed by drilling and hammering as the swimming pool and bar was constructed. This highlight was only seconded by our constantly over-flowing toilet. And then they tried to charge us extra for the privilege. Avoid, there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesnhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Came to Thiwson for 3 nights to experience Koh Yao Yai before it becomes too touristy. Given the addition of a new resort right next door that is currently adding even more villas, and the fact that Thiwson is nearing completion of a swimming pool & new large hut of sorts, it seems we came at just the right time! The villas were lovely...the deluxe seafront villas with an amazing view of the sunrise are definitely worth it if you can spend the money. Otherwise the midrange villas are equally as nice, offering all that one needs. Either way, make sure to wake up early for the sunrise. The view and photo ops are stunning. The staff were all helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and offered many menu options. The menu was a tad pricey but it was good, and there are local food stands a short walk down the road and many throughout the island if you rent a scooter to tour. There is also a small shop less than 5 min walk that sells cold drinks, beer, alcohol and snacks. The pool and also a new thatch hut of some sort will be nice additions when completed but in the meantime there is alot of noise from 8am onwards and also from the resorts construction next door. Not so quiet this time of year apparently. They have kayaks available for rent and were great for escaping to the small remote islands about 4km away across, next to Yao Noi. The beach is long and deserted, apart from some fishermen and their long tails, and offers a great long run in the morning. At low tide, there is plenty of life amongst the mud and sandy flats. Overall, an amazing getaway for a few days, very remote (though unfortunately not quiet) and is still a great place to see and to unwind. Once the construction is done it may be quieter but stands to be busier. Go now while it's still a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Travel arrangements to get TO the island were not that straightforward for us. But when we finally arrived, the hotel staff - specifically Dom - were very welcoming and accommodating. Throughout our entire 4-day stay, Dom was amazing - kind and helpful. We must say that when we first arrived to Thiw Son Resort, we were very disappointed because the beach-front ocean was not there...instead, there were 200 yards of mud and sand. It was not the picturesque Thai island view we envisioned. Upon closer look, however, we realized that this stretch of sand and mud had some of the most amazing low-tide wildlife! Crabs, sand dollars, fish, etc. - and many local people "fishing" in the mudflats. And during high-tide, the swimming was great. The ocean is not as crystal-clear as in other parts of the island, but being removed from the big resorts (with crystal clear water) was more important to us than having clear water outside our doorstep. As aforementioned, the swimming was great, and when we wanted clear water, we rented Thiw Son's scooters to tour the island and go to different empty beaches. The food was great, the coffee was great, and the view of the surrounding islands was beautiful. Our bungalow had a private outdoor shower, A/C, fast WiFi, and a mosquito net over the bed (which we ended up needing!). The island itself is not for people who want a nightlife scene - it is laidback, slow, and has a more authentic Thai fisher-people feel. The island is 99% Muslim, and so it would be good for women travelers to respect the custom of modesty (no tank tops, exposed knees, or risqué clothing). Apparently locals who do swim, which is rare, go in the ocean with clothes on...but we didn't see any travelers following this custom (and we didn't follow it either - but we chose not to swim on the beaches where locals were). It was affordable and we plan to return! The only other thing is that they were doing construction when we were there. They were working on building their swimming pool, which we imagine will be finished soon.

Room Tip: The front row of bungalows has an unobstructed view of the ocean and a larger deck, but is twice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlin-Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked the deluxe beach front bungalow for several nights and really enjoyed the islands slower pace of life. Had some great experiences and would recommend it to anyone. The resort was everything we anticipated and truly beautiful, however we could never get past how we felt the family was not happy with us staying at their home and there was a shadowing uncomfortableness. Hard to explain, but very noticeable. From the minute we checked in and they asked to double check a printed version of our confirmation, through the end of our stay. There is an advertised bar, however after getting a look ordering a beer at the restaurant with dinner, would feel very uncomfortable ordering a drink. I never saw one person at the bar in over a week so guessing I'm not the only one that got the vibe. We walked next door and had several meals (and drinks) at the Better View Resort and the Koh Yah Yai Resort and felt very at home. If I did it all over again would look to stay at the Better View Resort or at Koh Yah Yai Village but wish the family the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chango3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and are so glad we did. The resort is on Yao Yai, which we got to by speedboat from the Bang Rong pier.

The resort is family run, and the service was great. During high tide, the swimming is good, in very warm waters. During low tide, swimming becomes a chore. The rooms were clean, were made of beautiful wood, and very charming.

We had tons of fun relaxing on Yao Tai, toured the island by motorbike, found random empty beaches, did an island tour by long tail boat, and finally checked our the Yao Noi island, which is much more commercialized.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing stay away from the crazyness of Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirage2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Yao Yai hotels
1.5 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
5.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Esmeralda View Resort
Esmeralda View Resort
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
9.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiw Son Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiw Son Beach Resort

Property: Thiw Son Beach Resort
Address: 58/2 Moo 4 | Koh Yao, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiw Son Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thiw Son Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing