We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny Thai paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Ko Yao Yai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A tiny Thai paradise”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

In between our landing in Phuket and PADI stint in Koh Tao my friend and I booked in for one night at Thiw son. It's charm was irresistible and we stretched to 2 nights, the max our time budget would allow. The wooden cabins are in lovely condition and I really enjoyed the open air shower, with reliable hot water, and at night, bathing under the stars! We stayed one night in the mid-priced AC option and one in the lower-priced fan. If your budget allows I'd recommend the stretch to the mid or higher option, they're lovelier rooms, newer, closer to the sea and more spacious. The area is very secluded, with one smaller 'resort' just down the beach, which is great if you want to relax or are happy to hire a scooter to explore further a field. The location is great, right on the beach, sun-rise facing, (the beach is nice but not as beautiful as others around in Thailand, but the least crowded I've seen in the country). One of the big highlights was the beautiful, recently built, infinity pool. Restaurant options are fairly limited and we didn't come across any street food nearby, but it serves pretty good Thai food available to fill you for all 3 meals of the day. The wifi was pretty powerful for an island too. Finally, Nam, the owner, is friendly and helpful, he's tough to bargain with but it was fun trying!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    62
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
113
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We love Ko Yao Yai - it is so untouristic and so nice! It is true that the beach of the resort might not be perfect but they have a very nice infinity pool, a superbe view and the island is extremly interesting to explore. So get on your motorbikes instead of hanging around the whole day! They also organise good boat tours f.ex. to Ko Hong.

The staff is SUPER friendly, the food very good, the garden is extremly nice and the bungalows are perfect, also the ones with fan only!

See you next year Thiw Son and Ko Yao Yai and Dr Saad!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Thiw Son is a family owned beach resort, which we fell in love with, when we one day passed on our scooter and stayed here for five night because we couldn't get ourselves to leave. The beach is lovely and there is a swimming pool which my husband craved.
The people at Thiw Son are so lovely and they made os feel right at home. The prices are very reasonable, just be aware that breakfast is not included - however it is very reasonably priced.
Their English is not too good, however you will get far with a couple of Thai phrases and a smile. They are very helpful and so nice - and the food is good too. We took a trip to Hong and Khai Island and we a thai massage overlooking the sea - can be well recommended, they'll arrange it all! They take credit card!
We wish we could have stayed longer!
Kind regards, Elisabeth & Anders

Room Tip: The superior bungalow is really good value for money. We were lucky enough to get a bungalow in seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We only spent 4 nights at the peaceful and spacious Thiw son beach resort. The restaurant staff was extremely welcoming and always cheerful! Our bungalow (superior sea view) was almost too spacious (separate bedroom and living room) - it comes even with a big fridge and a water kettle! The resort has its own swimming pool (ca. 17 x 7 meters I presume) which we really appreciated as the beach at low tide is not so tempting. The manager was always helpful and organized the obligatory snorkeling trip and of course there are motorbikes for rent. Prices of meals are good value and the food was delicious! A good place if you are not looking for Patong-entertainment. In high season the ferry to Bang Rong sometimes just does not stop at the Koh Yao Yai pier (when it is already full after the stop in Koh Yao Noi), calculate some more time if you need to get to the airport! Enjoyable and affordable!!

Room Tip: Superior Sea View A02
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regula_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Firstly, ignore other reviews complaints about the sea being miles out. We stayed here for 5 nights and saw the sea at both low and high tide. The furthest I had to walk to the sea was about 15 metres. How anyone can complain about that is beyond me. We didn't use the pool but it looked pretty decent and was cleaned every morning.

The staff, were super friendly, our favourites of all the places we stayed in Thailand. The menu was mainly Thai food, and it was excellent, although if you want it spicy ask, the flavour was amazing but I think they've toned down the spice for European tastes. We had the beach front bungalow which was spacious, clean, comfortable and silent, with excellent A/C.

Koh Yao Yai is a very quiet island, doesn't really have late bars and loads of restaurants but perfect if you want to get away from it all and relax. Hire a moped or taxi and go over to Koh Yao Noi, (10 mins on a boat) for more shops and restaurants if that's what you need.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have two thoughts about this place, so let me start with a little disclaimer: We thought we were booking a hotel on Koh Phi Phi, but it was actually this place on Koh Yao Yai (don't ask - alcohol was involved).
So, for my good review. This was a super-peaceful little getaway island. We stayed in a beach hut - a raised house, one row back from the beach. The hut was relatively clean. The bathroom left something to be desired. This was the only place we stayed where the shower wasn't separated from the rest of the bathroom (weird and messy - why do they do that??). There were ants in the bathroom. But don't worry, we flooded them out every day with the shower. Beds were a little harder than other places we stayed. We had to tuck a towel in the door every night so giant bugs/geckos didn't get in (some did anyways). But you're in a hut, so some of this is to be expected.
At this point in our trip, we were trying to contact Air China to make some changes to our flights, and thought we'd phone from the resort. However, there were no PHONES. Some staff member let us use his cell phone (the number was out of service, in the end). So they have wifi, but no phone. Thank god for wifi.
We were okay with the hut on the beach. But there was nothing to do here! The first night, we went to the tiki hut on the beach and had a dance party, drinking our faces off at the beach. It was super fun and memorable for me, but totally unplanned, and not really something you should plan for. (Also, we were the "cocktail girls" for the remainder of our stay - a little shameful).
We ended up making this our mellow beach time, because there was so little to do. The beach isn't really clear enough for swimming (again, my fear of fish). So we chased crabs around while the tide was out, and sat on the beach and read, and then sat by the pool and read, and then drank our faces off.
I think this would be an awesome place to go for a romantic trip, if you just wanted to intensely be with someone. But, we ran out of books to read and stuff to do. So we left a day earlier than we'd book and went to actual Koh Phi Phi.
The food here was really good (there's nowhere to eat but the resort, really), and the service was amazing. They wait on you hand and foot.
Also, it was a super good deal. If the weather had been a little bit better, it would have improved this place quite a bit.
Just a super-chill resort where you hang out and spend time with your crew, and get waited on hand and foot, and it's a great deal. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Get a hut right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The resort (and the other resorts close by) are excellent for a few days of relaxing. There is nothing really to do, except hire a motorbike and explore the island. Tha nature on Koh Yao Yai is beautiful, and still not exploited much by turism or urbanisation. The absence of a proper beach is a minus (due to tidal water the've put up erosion protecting walls?), but the pool is nice. The food is okay (you get tired of the same restaurant fast) but a few minutes away there are other restaurants for variation. Its a perfect spot for just relaxing, but if you want more options I suggest finding a place on the southwest side of YaoYai, near Loh Jark Pier. The staff is frendly and really helpful, but have a very limited english. There also expaning with a bigger restaurant so construction work is to be expected 2013/2014. A big drawback of the resort location (and the Island overall) is the high taxi costs and there are no public transportation on the island. Food prices are lower than in phuket hotel areas but more expensive than the backpacker would prefer. There are wifi and you can rent a motorbike at the resort. The wooden huts are really cool, and you can hear the ocean and the birds/cicadas at sunrise and sunset from within.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Yao Yai hotels
1.6 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
669 reviews
5.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Yai
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baan Taranya Resort
Baan Taranya Resort
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thiw Son Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thiw Son Beach Resort

Property: Thiw Son Beach Resort
Address: 58/2 Moo 4 | Koh Yao, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thiw Son Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thiw Son Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing