We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grate for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Taranya Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All I can say is well done. The food was superb and the ambiance of the resort was just spectacular. The view was one of the best on the Island and the people are really friendly and helpful. Thank you to all the staff at Baan Taranya Resort for a super fun time.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jedigrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, we booked a double room but found 2 single beds which I wasn't happy about, after some complaining they upgraded us to honeymoon suite which was good of them. This was a lovely room with good views off a shared balcony. The walls are quite thin between the two rooms up there. It we quite clean apart from some ants in the bathroom.

They did kind of clean our room during our stay but didn't change the sheets (which I wouldn't usually mind if sand doesn't go everywhere!) the pool, wifi and amenities are good. The reason it's a bit strange is because of the staff really. They were all nice enough but did seem a bit lazy, lots of lying around the place and spoke very little English, even the owner. The food was ok but they didn't seem to know what everything on their own menu was.

Also don't accept their transport! You can get from Phuket to here for about 650bhat for 2people, not the 2000 they wanted to charge us! Also recommend shopping around for moped hire and trips out.

All in all, nice hotel staff could just do with a bit of a kick start!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chantssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were a group of 6 people staying in this hotel and we had the best time ever! The staff was really helpful and could organise everything for us (boat trip, moto bike rental, Transfer) It made our stay really easy and enjoyable. The hotel is not too big and room are big ans clean with everything you need inside. The food at the restaurant was also really good and cheap. This hotel is definitely a great value, we Will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmelGuardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hi,

after a island hopping tour my girlfriend and I had the last stop at Taranya resort. Our bungalow was very nice, the people there friendly, the price fair. There is just nothing around there, well, you can go to the street, buy or eat there something. But you don´t need it. To be be lazy and relax it is the perfect place! Nothing for party people or someone who need entertainment programme.

Regards

Room Tip: We recommend the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirngirlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

When we originally booked Baan Taranya (BT) there were no reviews of the Resort as it was brand new. As the reviews started to come in prior to our travelling to Thailand I was disappointed as BT was garnering 3 stars or less with lots of complaints: poor beach area, communication issues with staff, food at restaurant, etc. So I tried to cancel and book elsewhere but was unable. But us being pretty easy going travellers it takes an awful lot to rattle our cage so we knew we'd make the best of it so we weren't that fussed.

We spent 8 days at BT and what a positive experience it was and one that still lives in my memory a year later. When we arrived we grabbed one of the cab/trucks at the pier that took us to the resort, dropping off others at other locations along the way. No hassle checking in with 100% of payment required upfront. If you pay by credit card there is a surcharge.

There is WiFi available in the common area/restaurant. I heard about the communication issues so having an iPad was handy. I used Google Translator all the time and there was never an issue with the language. We ate mostly in the restaurant during the day and explored the island for dinners. But after a few explorations we felt the best food was at the Resort.

We stayed up at the top of the resort; the Honeymoon Suite I believe it was called. There are two HM Suites with a shared wall which is paper thin. We ended up getting along really well with the couple next to us so full disclosure was possible; meaning that if they were going up for an afternoon 'nap' we'd hang down at the pool or beach and vice versa.

The beach was beautiful; white sand but lots of sand crabs which could make it difficult if you like lying on a towel at the beach. Also the tide is MASSIVE. I'll try and uploads some pictures which show us standing next to what appears to be a beached boat. The next picture has John standing in the same location at high tide with the water well over his shoulders.

You can rent scooters at the Resort or at the top of the road (recommended) and explore the Island. Lots of rubber plantations in the area. The rooms at BT were comfortable and clean. There are TV's in the rooms but Thai stations only. But why would you want to be hanging our in your room anyway? There are snorkel & scuba excursions that you can sign up for which are managed out of the two major hotels down the road a ways.

The pool was beautiful and no one was there so the majority of the time we had it to ourselves. Again lots of white sandy beaches to discover. Only two minor complaints: (1) There is a dirt road that is right beside the resort with lots of motorcycle traffic but that's because people are using it to gain access to the beach area. In no way did it negatively impact our trip, and (2) management and staff are a bit laid back so don't expect 4 or 5 star service. BT would have made a lot more money from us if they'd hit us up at the pool for food and beverages. Also some days your room won't be made up which didn't bother us but for others it might.

My only recommendation is that despite our getting along with the couple next door, if we were to go back to BT we would book one of the first two bungalows close to the beach for privacy and private deck. I'll also be posting a video I took of the accommodations and grounds so check it out. Important to note is that Baan Taranya Resort is more geared to couples versus families.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DigitalDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i have just stayed here for 5 nights and would like to share my impressions . I booked this resort on koh yao yai for two reasons , 3 actually , one the pics looked nice , two the island is still relatively untouched and quiet and 3 i wanted some comfort in my old age having spent years sleeping on beaches , roughing it . I immediately struck lucky with all three and not to mention what a rather good deal it was there comparing similar standards with surrounding properties . Upon arrival with my always present abundance of luck ..bad luck that is , came romping home like the 3.30 at epsom , horror , the sea mountain restaurant was more rubble than eatery , still in construction , i came for relaxation and the continuous hammering soothed my now worried brow . Still , being tired , no transport , not knowing where to go better and liking the bungalow i stayed and decided with his offer of a free scooter for the duration in compensation to give tomorrow a new chance . He had asked me what time i would like breakfast and i told him at 9.00am please , i walked to the beach , perhaps 10 metres from the resort , which was completely deserted , was this a beautiful hideaway i had stumbled upon or was i the only guest due to the work being carried out , whichever i loved it , its only small maybe 600 - 800m in length but great , although the water was never clear there and somewhat dirty . I was back by 8.55 am and waited for my breakfast , at 9.00 precisely the manager appeared with breakfast in hand , my stomach was thinking about starting to eat itself , rumbling like rolling thunder , he placed it before me and left to bring the salt and pepper , i wondered how did he get so right to be so punctual , my first bite answered my question , my lovely eggs and sausage and toast had been prepared much earlier and carefully kept fresh in the fridge for me to enjoy chilled , yum yum. He returned with condiments and took away my food for a through re heating , finally i ate .
I think the resort is one of the best value on the island but for me things like only one member of staff speaking and really understanding english is not enough , since the clientèle is world wide and all use english to communicate more of the staff need to have some understanding , getting even a bottle of water was an effort and im not some sort of person who expects the world to speak english but in the hotel and service industry it must only make the whole experience more pleasurable for the customer to obtain what he requires . In fact the staff let the whole place down ,all were new and all had no idea of the work they were doing , it took me 20mins to pay the bill and i had already paid the room before coming , the TV didn't work when on one evening i decided to watch a movie , 3 people and one hour later still not working . In time i hope it will get better with the staff , it could be an excellent little resort with good staff , one thing i never found out online before coming was if you drink wine and enjoy , bring your own for the stay , it is almost impossible to find on the island for sale and cheap white in taranya was £30.00 a bottle , i was shocked . Final recommendation is more pro's than con's worth a visit .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July. I traveled with my hubby and 2 kids. We took 2 rooms side by side. We arrived around lunchtime and loved the rooms. Everything was there that you need, the rooms were clean and roomy. The location was quite, and central to everything the island had to offer. The language barrier was hard, but we just laughed at the differences. We hired bikes from the resort at THB400 and only used 2 ltrs of fuel for the whole day. The island has a few shops as well as an ATM, money changer and restaurants. We stoped at the bar on the hill for a drink and ate lunch at the View point, great lunch. Both nights we had dinner at the resort and the food was fresh and tasty. A little slow but your meal is made fresh from scratch. A must do is walk to the end of the pier when the fisherman return, all the locals come and buy the fresh fish. It's worth the look. The pool is clean, cool and refreshing. I would recommend the resort for couples, family's or groups.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MELNSWNORTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
0.4 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
757 reviews
8.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
466 reviews
4.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Yao Yai Resort
Yao Yai Resort
#5 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Thiw Son Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
217 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Taranya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Taranya Resort

Address: 69/8 Moo.4 Baan Klong Bon, Ko Yao Yai 82180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: £31 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Taranya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Baan Taranya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing