We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Reviewed 13 May 2014

perfect place to stay for 3 or 4 days if you are looking for relaxing and sunny but authentic Thai holiday not destroyed yet by mass tourism... We booked it as we had first booked another hotel on the other island and we wanted to make sure to end with a 'grande finale'after building up or holiday in 2 weeks in 4 different hotels in 4 different places and styles. This was a perfect finale.
The building is fantastic, the pool also, the food very good.
The staff is so friendly we couldn t believe it. The view stunning, the room was super luxe and we loved the quietness and the wooden style. The pool is unbulievable even thow the beach and sea were a bit dissapointing (after being on coral island and Cape Panwa)

The only negative point is : You can t get any cash on the island what so ever !

ATM s don t work for Maestro European cards, so be warned and the other little disappointement is that the prices for alcohol are very high especially wine as the isles are muslim.

Also don t expect anything outside the resort, but if you are looking for rest and authentic Thailand with the super luxury feeling go there. The lady at the pool was adorable, and also in the restaurant everybody was great. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Book a boat trip to small islands there in the surroundings ?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,277)
There are newer reviews for Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything was wonderful. The hotel looks spectacular with the Thai-style villa. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The pool and the view are fantastic. I was really pampered with the massage at the spa. Thanks to the team for making my stay really amazing and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chula_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights from 01-05-14 to 05-05-14 in a sea view villa with our own pool and the room (apartment) was simply the best we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying and as a treat was well worth the price. Being on the upper level 1202 it was almost completely private, which is about as good as it gets.
The staff were all very nice and we had a great time being transported on the make shift tuc tucs, which carry you from the villas to the restaurant.
Also, the transfer from the harbour via the speedboat (£32 each) is a stylish way of arriving at the resorts private pier. On the way back the minibus to the airport was included in the price which was pretty good, as we had paid £12 for a taxi. That said like most things on the resort this was still pricey.

The main let down was the quality of the food and drink and the prices. I have read on here that 5 star resort means 5 star prices. But 5 star should mean 5 star quality and it simply isn't. Whilst most dishes are presented well, the flavour was often bland at best. I have enjoyed better pad thai on koh san road for a quarter of the price. Also, if you are going to charge £28 for a bottle of wine, make sure its better than Hardys, which I can pick up in my local supermarket for £6! Wine at those prices should be a little more special than that.
The breakfast is a fantastic spread but again the lack of attention to the quality aspect undermines the level of choice. In a 5 star resort a pot of green tea should not be a twinings tea bag in a pot.
By day 2 we had already decided to dine out at the local restaurant 50 yards down the beach where we were treated to authentic thai food for a third of the price. That said we would much rather have enjoyed some room service (further price uplift of 15-20%) if the quality had been worth the expense.
Also, I had read on here that the music was very repetitive in the bar and restaurant but hadn't thought it would be an issue. However, the gentle pan pipe elevator music is repeated so much that it actually does start to wind you up and make you want to run back to your room for some silence. This lack of attention to detail is just lazy.
The spa looked beautiful from the outside but again we did not indulge simply because it was just too over priced. Having paid £2 for a massage in Bangkok, being charged £42 for a massage at the resort was simply too great a mark up. Yes it is in a far more beautiful setting with a wonderful view but that level of pricing was just too much to justify it. Plus you could have a massage at the adjacent resort (on the beach) for £10!
In conclusion the room really saved things for us. If we had booked a sea view room only and had to spend our time by the bar and pool area, we would have left very disappointed.
The resort pricing smacks of taking advantage of its guests simply because it is remote and you have little choice elsewhere. For this reason I would not recommend this resort nor visit it again, which is a real shame.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kakadu1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Kakadu1412,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort on tropical island.

First of all we would like to express our sincerest thanks to spent your valued holidays with us, same time we are really sorry that time we couldn’t made your holidays very special and memorable during your stay with us, we appreciate your constructive feedback that we received from you.

Your constructive feedback will motivate our team member to improve ourselves, secondly thank you for your feedback about our food, we will take your feedback as an urgent case to solve it out and will focus on what guest would like to have according to their needs.

It’s really depend on the atmosphere of the service, about our Spa Village it very comfort and very private with unique traditional Thai style décor.

Once again thank you very much to spent your valued holidays with us and looking forward to warm welcome you in your near future trip to prove ourselves one more time.

Truly Yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here after having to flee the truly awful Koyao Island Resort and were SO happy to arrive here! The rooms are amazing - they have lots of intricate carvings and are very traditional - and the infinity pool is just the best thing - swimming to the edge and looking out over the amazing views is fantastic! They have amazing outside bathrooms!!

There are little cars to get you too and from your room and you will need these as its too hot to walk. The food in the restaurant is very good value - 650tbht for a 3 course evening meal which was excellent - or they will cook you items from the BBQ station The menu at lunchtime is more varied. My son is gluten intolerant and they were so good providing him with his own selection of gluten free bread at each meal.

We went on one of the trips the hotel organised and it was a great day out - they know the best places to go to and are so helpful and good with children

Everyone at the resort from the staff to the other holiday makers were so friendly - there were a lot of couples - maybe there were more children and they were like ours and never wanted to leave the pool!

Would love to be there now

Room Tip: Book one of the villas with a private pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cslgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff friendly and welcoming best holiday destination to just chill out . The three course dinner menu was value for money.the only negative was leaving our luggage in the dirt at the gate of the marina whilst waiting for the boat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Simply its amazing !
Except for the insects @night
And it would be better if there was activities on the beach
but at all its unforgetable relaxing place
The stuff was very friendly and helpful
They made my honeymoom very special

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nesma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We did not want to leave. The pool villas are stunning, as is the entire resort. Pool area is large, with full bar available near by. Beach is very clean, and great for swimming.
Staff were all polite, friendly and willing to help.
My only small suggestions are would be to clearly advertise the evenings dinner options. We didn't realise dinner was a set menu, until we were already seated. It wasn't until our second course, that we realised there is also a BBQ option. A la carte wasn't offered, so we assumed it is not available. For our second dinner, we ate at a neighbouring resort because we thought we'd be given the same set menu options. We returned to have dessert, and found the menu was different.
Some travellers might find it helpful to have computer access, as some of us don't travel with our WiFi items. Would have been handy for me to be able to upload my photos to my online storage, and clear my camera's memory card.
Spa was beautiful, and the staff extremely helpful. We were given a free 10 min massage as a welcoming gift. The spa manager allowed us to not only combine the two, but also combine it with the 'happy hour' promotion so we paid for 1 60 min spa ,and received a free 50 spa for the other person.
I recommend if you are going to spend over 3,000 baht on transfers to and from Phuket, take advantage of the resorts own transfer. We saved a few hundred baht by booking elsewhere, but missed out on the full experience of arriving and leaving via the private pier. This would have added to the feeling of luxury, instead of arriving and leaving via the back gate.
Take cash to the island, because there is no bank or ATM. But the resort accepts credit card, if you only plan on spending all your time and money here.
If you can afford it, I highly recommend the private pool villa. Maybe villa 3 or 4, because they're walking distance to the common areas, but are a little higher. Villas 1 and 2 pools both are viewable from the next villa, so not entirely private.
All in all, I highly recommend to anyone who wants a quieter stay.

Room Tip: Villa 3, 4 or 5 should be perfect.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
701 reviews
22.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
460 reviews
10.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,818 reviews
14.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa

Address: 88 Moo 7 | Prunai Subdistrict, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range: £45 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelClick, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing