We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not flawless but beautiful experience nevertheless.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not flawless but beautiful experience nevertheless.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The first impressions of the place were pretty good.The resort was larger and prettier than we had been left to imagine by their modest website. We stayed in a Royal Grand Pool Villa Suite and yes it was as grand as it has been named. The wooden villa exuding earthiness, was done up with a lot of attention to detail. It was spread over two levels, that was too much space for two of us so we mostly stayed on the top floor/level (as in the pictures). They had done a brilliant job with the woodwork, making it look so beautiful without actually adding any pieces of decor. There was so much beauty in simple things as cloth hangers, ceilings, lamps even the door stopper!! Set in seclusion it had a very rustic and natural feel to it.

The environs were very private and peaceful, with villas set wide apart spread over a huge area. The call of birds during the day and insects & geckos by night made you feel, you were quite far from your city life and tasting the tropics.

Beside being bowled over by the villa, it was food at Santhiya that was ovation worthy.The menu was big enough to taste a different dish at each meal (we being vegetarians were more than hapy with the choices offered). And oh boy! What an amazing culinary experience we had! The dinning area was on a deck, by the beach and the food was just WONDERFUL. Beautifully presented and tasting as good as it looked!

Santhiya has a small but clean beach. The property is otherwise huge enough to spend your day walking. We had a great infinity pool in our villa and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The spa is very relaxing and we enjoyed a great couples' session there.

We stayed there for the New Year and they'd put up quite a show for the guest. We also took a day trip from Santhiya in Phang Nga Bay area which although expensive was a fun experience.

The people, in general, were very nice and very helpful.

We simply had a great time in beautiful beautiful Santhiya but to say it doesn't mean our stay was without a glitch! Actually there were several. The worst being a rat in the room!! This was taken care of after a few phone calls but nevertheless was off putting. Also it happened to be my birthday on the new years day and they'd totally missed the cake ordered by my husband on New Year's eve. Well, there were a few more minor blips but if we took them in stride then, it hardly makes sense to recall them now.

Like so many people have complained in the reviews I have been reading we did not hear any construction sounds.

They are doing a fair job but definitely there's scope to make it good & better in many ways to make the experience simply flawless.

Overall I'd say we were in great holiday mood so despite these glitches we enjoyed every moment of being in Santhiya. It's a unique & beautiful place.

I have lots of pictures and more detailed experience here in my article http://pastlifeseamstress.com/2014/05/09/thailand-koh-yao-yai/

Room Tip: Royal grand pool villa has it all. Stayed in 1115 and it was totally noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastlifeseamstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    407
    175
    86
    74
See reviews for
320
1,338
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

perfect place to stay for 3 or 4 days if you are looking for relaxing and sunny but authentic Thai holiday not destroyed yet by mass tourism... We booked it as we had first booked another hotel on the other island and we wanted to make sure to end with a 'grande finale'after building up or holiday in 2 weeks in 4 different hotels in 4 different places and styles. This was a perfect finale.
The building is fantastic, the pool also, the food very good.
The staff is so friendly we couldn t believe it. The view stunning, the room was super luxe and we loved the quietness and the wooden style. The pool is unbulievable even thow the beach and sea were a bit dissapointing (after being on coral island and Cape Panwa)

The only negative point is : You can t get any cash on the island what so ever !

ATM s don t work for Maestro European cards, so be warned and the other little disappointement is that the prices for alcohol are very high especially wine as the isles are muslim.

Also don t expect anything outside the resort, but if you are looking for rest and authentic Thailand with the super luxury feeling go there. The lady at the pool was adorable, and also in the restaurant everybody was great. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Book a boat trip to small islands there in the surroundings ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything was wonderful. The hotel looks spectacular with the Thai-style villa. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The pool and the view are fantastic. I was really pampered with the massage at the spa. Thanks to the team for making my stay really amazing and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chula_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights from 01-05-14 to 05-05-14 in a sea view villa with our own pool and the room (apartment) was simply the best we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying and as a treat was well worth the price. Being on the upper level 1202 it was almost completely private, which is about as good as it gets.
The staff were all very nice and we had a great time being transported on the make shift tuc tucs, which carry you from the villas to the restaurant.
Also, the transfer from the harbour via the speedboat (£32 each) is a stylish way of arriving at the resorts private pier. On the way back the minibus to the airport was included in the price which was pretty good, as we had paid £12 for a taxi. That said like most things on the resort this was still pricey.

The main let down was the quality of the food and drink and the prices. I have read on here that 5 star resort means 5 star prices. But 5 star should mean 5 star quality and it simply isn't. Whilst most dishes are presented well, the flavour was often bland at best. I have enjoyed better pad thai on koh san road for a quarter of the price. Also, if you are going to charge £28 for a bottle of wine, make sure its better than Hardys, which I can pick up in my local supermarket for £6! Wine at those prices should be a little more special than that.
The breakfast is a fantastic spread but again the lack of attention to the quality aspect undermines the level of choice. In a 5 star resort a pot of green tea should not be a twinings tea bag in a pot.
By day 2 we had already decided to dine out at the local restaurant 50 yards down the beach where we were treated to authentic thai food for a third of the price. That said we would much rather have enjoyed some room service (further price uplift of 15-20%) if the quality had been worth the expense.
Also, I had read on here that the music was very repetitive in the bar and restaurant but hadn't thought it would be an issue. However, the gentle pan pipe elevator music is repeated so much that it actually does start to wind you up and make you want to run back to your room for some silence. This lack of attention to detail is just lazy.
The spa looked beautiful from the outside but again we did not indulge simply because it was just too over priced. Having paid £2 for a massage in Bangkok, being charged £42 for a massage at the resort was simply too great a mark up. Yes it is in a far more beautiful setting with a wonderful view but that level of pricing was just too much to justify it. Plus you could have a massage at the adjacent resort (on the beach) for £10!
In conclusion the room really saved things for us. If we had booked a sea view room only and had to spend our time by the bar and pool area, we would have left very disappointed.
The resort pricing smacks of taking advantage of its guests simply because it is remote and you have little choice elsewhere. For this reason I would not recommend this resort nor visit it again, which is a real shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakadu1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukomol, Deputy Managing Director at Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kakadu1412,

Greetings from Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa – Traditional Thai-style luxury beach resort on tropical island.

First of all we would like to express our sincerest thanks to spent your valued holidays with us, same time we are really sorry that time we couldn’t made your holidays very special and memorable during your stay with us, we appreciate your constructive feedback that we received from you.

Your constructive feedback will motivate our team member to improve ourselves, secondly thank you for your feedback about our food, we will take your feedback as an urgent case to solve it out and will focus on what guest would like to have according to their needs.

It’s really depend on the atmosphere of the service, about our Spa Village it very comfort and very private with unique traditional Thai style décor.

Once again thank you very much to spent your valued holidays with us and looking forward to warm welcome you in your near future trip to prove ourselves one more time.

Truly Yours,

Danny K Sukomol
Deputy Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here after having to flee the truly awful Koyao Island Resort and were SO happy to arrive here! The rooms are amazing - they have lots of intricate carvings and are very traditional - and the infinity pool is just the best thing - swimming to the edge and looking out over the amazing views is fantastic! They have amazing outside bathrooms!!

There are little cars to get you too and from your room and you will need these as its too hot to walk. The food in the restaurant is very good value - 650tbht for a 3 course evening meal which was excellent - or they will cook you items from the BBQ station The menu at lunchtime is more varied. My son is gluten intolerant and they were so good providing him with his own selection of gluten free bread at each meal.

We went on one of the trips the hotel organised and it was a great day out - they know the best places to go to and are so helpful and good with children

Everyone at the resort from the staff to the other holiday makers were so friendly - there were a lot of couples - maybe there were more children and they were like ours and never wanted to leave the pool!

Would love to be there now

Room Tip: Book one of the villas with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cslgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff friendly and welcoming best holiday destination to just chill out . The three course dinner menu was value for money.the only negative was leaving our luggage in the dirt at the gate of the marina whilst waiting for the boat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Simply its amazing !
Except for the insects @night
And it would be better if there was activities on the beach
but at all its unforgetable relaxing place
The stuff was very friendly and helpful
They made my honeymoom very special

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Yai
4.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
22.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
10.3 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
4.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa

Property: Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Address: 88 Moo 7 | Prunai Subdistrict, Ko Yao Yai 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing