We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE FOOD!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE FOOD!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel next door, but ate at Better View for every meal. Considering price, location, service and quality - this is on balance the nicest restaurant I've ever been to, serving unbelievably excellent food. Ko Yao Yai is an amazing place to stay if you're looking for a tranquil break. I cannot comment on the rooms at Better View, but if the standards match the food in the restaurant, then this place is a must. If you find yourself staying elsewhere, I urge you to at least try the food at Better View, as it's spectacular.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jsjmccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    50
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cleveland uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We decided to head straight out from phuket to start our three week islands tour and picked the Better view based on previous reviews, and were not disapointed.

We arrived to a fantastic welcome by the manager who offered us cold drinks befor being shown to the very front panoramic sea view bungalow.

The accommodation was superb, spotless and well maintained, with a large jacuzzi bath and outside shower with a view of the stars , bath robes provided with slippers all with fantastic views over Phang Nga bay.

The resort has an excellent swimming pool with whirl pool and plenty of space to enjoy.

What i liked about this place is its location, placed in nice surroundings and not over crowded as they only have a few bungalows all of which are of a high standard.

The loss of a beach due to a very low tide, is made up by the resort in many ways, the food was outstanding and very good value with excellent service.

If you need to get some changs or Singas in to stock the fridge, then there is a small store 5 minutes walk out of the resort.

I thank the manager, and his team for providing us with one of the best places during our vacation and is on my list to return to!

Room Tip: all of excellent standard, jacuzzi is big?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountaindweller m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice resort with full ocean view. Staff are very friendly and good location but only one thing that cannot swim there. The restaurant was good food and not expensive, cheaper than Phuket.
I like the room very much as they designed with many detail, useful and comfortable. I would like to come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lala_beachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you are looking for a nice quiet place with a fantastic view and peaceful, Koh Yao Yai is the island for you. it is about an hour and a half speedboat ride from the busy Krabi area and Aonang Pier. It was a super place to relax after our time in Krabi and before we continued our adventured further down south. Swimming in the large infinity pool and gazing out at the ocean at the stone outcroppings in the water,or walking the beach when the tide is out, reading books beside the pool..all added up to a great 6 days. The bungalow that we had in the landscape gardens was beautiful, big and very modern with wifi in the room. We stayed in 102. Each bungalow also had a porch to sit on. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The restaurant on the properly had fantastic meals for lunch or supper. Breakfast was good, filling and included a choice of Thai or American. There were motorcycles/scooters to rent for the day for $6 so that you could explore the island of Kok Yao Yai.

At hide tide there is no beach as the waves hit the breakwall. At low tide when you walk the beach don't walk far out as you will be into the mudflats. The water is very shallow at low tide which made it difficult to swim in.
If the ocean isn't your place to swim in, and the pool is enough, then this place is for you. We throughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Looking out on the spectacular beauty of Phang Nga Bay, Betterview certainly lives up to its name. Our bungalow was beautiful, tons of space, huge bathroom. comfortable beds, everything spotlessly clean. Nice porch to relax out of the sun while admiring the scenery.

The pool is great and perfect for cooling down during the day. The food was of a very high standard at all times of the day and service was friendly and polite.

We stayed for five nights and took two day-trip to take scooters and explore Ko Yao Yai and the nearby Ko Ya Noi which is a 20 minute long-tail ferry.

The only glitch in our tranquility (and that of other guests we spoke with) was the arrival of a family with grandparents, parents and kid who decided....in the unfortunate habit of their culture.....to shatter the peacefulness by loudly shouting at each other non-stop, smoking incessantly both around the pool and in the dining area, horking and spitting frequently, and with Dad turning up for breakfast and dinner without a shirt to cover up his beer belly. Very gross....enough that we and other guests asked the management to request these guests at least abide by the posted rules of behavior....no spitting, smoking, wear a damn shirt etc.

Which the management did not do, unfortunately, as the behaviors continued unabated.

Other than that interlude, which was a minor glitch, Betterview was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Phang Nga Bay.
In my opinion, at the Betterview you have one of the best views that even exist in this world - right in front of you!

We got up every moning for the sunrise. Cooking a coffee in our bungalow and then watching the sun rising. Absolutely paradisic. There was low tide in the morning and we could walk around and watch the Hermit Crabs running around. There is the sea, but you must realize because of the tides that you cannot swim there. Which did not matter one single minute and this panorama makes up for it. The pool area is fabulous. (If someone woulsd ask me to chose between The Santhiya on the other side with the beach or the Betterview, I would not hesitate and chose the Betterview, because the Santhiya doesnt have that view! The beaches are on the other side of the isle, but only a short ride away. It did not bother us one single minute as it gave us the chance to see the isle. You can rent a scooter at the Betterview for 300 Baht a day. We came here to get to know the isle. There is hardly tourism, which I hope will stay this way. No restaurants and supermarkets, just little offerings from the local people who are are very friendly.

We had such a wonderful stay at the Betterview. Our Seaview Bungalow was surrounded by luscious plants and sitting on our balcony was very relaxing. We especially loved the Outdoor shower. It looks exactly as shown on the website, even nicer. Housekeeping was wonderful, she was such a kind lady, always smiling. She did not speak much English but our communication still worked quite well. We found our mattress to be a little hard and she arranged for a cover right away.

We loved the intimite atmosphere of this Boutique hotel. Managers like On and Nam were always around and eager to please. Everyone working here was very diligent. The beautiful flora was very well kept, there was always someone maintaining it.

The Betterview has a small restaurant and you can take your meals with breathtaking views onto the Phang Nga Bay. Coming from Khao Lak we enjoyed the breeze that picked up every evening.

The Breakfast was fabulous. You will get fresh juice, fruit, eggs made to order, toast, pancakes. We also ate Pad Thai for breakfast. Even the coffee tasted well. And everything is served with a smile.
We also ate here every evening and enjoyed every meal. My favorite was the deep fried fish with tamarind sauce and fried basil. We also enjoyed the wine they offered.

We stayed for Christmas and although it is a muslimic isle, they put a lot of effort to decorate for the holiday season. Which we certainly did not expect, but they made us feel very welcome.

There was really not one single fault that we could find here.
We drove around the isle and came along all other hotels. Betterview was our place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed for a week with parents, husband and baby. Would give this resort 6 stars out of 5 if possible! We had the newly built accommodations which were spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable big bed, great air-con, the bathroom was amazing, with gorgeous features of recycled wood for towel rails, huge spa bath etc. The feeling of the resort is so calm and peaceful, it really is a place to go if you want to relax. The pool is very nice (two separate spa areas) and gets great sun, the tropical surrounds are beautiful with stunning butterflies, lizards and birds. The beach is a lot of fun at low tide looking at crabs going about their business. On, Nam and the team are so helpful, so lovely, so welcoming and we really enjoyed their company over the week. We had a lot of laughs with them. The food is certainly worth a mention as it is incredibly good. The chef and kitchen staff ought to be commended on the consistently high quality, fresh, super tasty food. We usually eat at outside restaurants when we travel but we ate here breakfast, lunch and dinner and we never tired of the food because it was so divine, we were always looking forward to our next meal. The fried noodles at breakfast were delicious and this was one of the few places that we've found recently that does great poached eggs! All our main meals were superb especially the green curry and the garlic pepper prawns. If you want to relax your mind, rejuvenate your soul and feed your tummy then look no further. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JATOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Yao Yai hotels
1.5 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
653 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
Koh Yao Yai Hillside Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Yai
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thiw Son Beach Resort
Thiw Son Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Yao Yai
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esmeralda View Resort
Esmeralda View Resort
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Yai
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow

Property: Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow
Address: 58/10 Moo.4, Ko Yao Yai 82160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Yai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ko Yao Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better view Bed Breakfast & Bungalow is located at Koh yao yai, Phang nga province, Thailand . Hotel is operated by local people. This resort have 5 bungalows 2 room types with private jacuzzi and infinity swimming pool by the sea connected to the sea. We are allow all of beach actives such as BBQ cooking by the sea, Beach party, and etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Betterview Bed Breakfast & Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing