We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Bonini

Trattoria Bonini
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Little bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I spent a delightful three weeks in Garafagnana in June/July earlier this year. Sadly we only found Bonini restaurant in our last week. Once discovered we ate there almost every day making sure we reserved a table.
There is an A La Carte menu and a weekday daily menu at a very inexpensive 10 euro’s per person. The service from Paul and Bianca was always charming the food absolutely delicious from either menu. Portions were generous and the table wines, either red or white were excellent.
Bonini is situated on the outskirts of Garafagnana and not always easy to find but make the effort it’s up the hill and overlooks the town and very worthwhile. Once discovered we always had our lunch there and didn’t find a problem with tables but booking at busier times would be recommended. As it’s now October and we often speak about our lovely meals you can see the deep impression it made on us.
Don’t miss this excellent restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    106
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Near Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan Food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The restaurant is at the edge of the village of Monteperpoli when you drive up form Castelnuovo (take the first road left). It is a long, winded road, quite narrow in places. It was a Monday evening and the place was full!
We shared a place of the excellent local prosciutto (air dried ham) for starter and skipped the "primo piatto" (we always do, unless we feel totally starved). My wife then had pieces of wild boar braised in red wine while I ordered a Tagliata di manzo (sirloin steak) glassata in aceto balsamico). The food was absolutely gorgeous! We were a bit stunned by the number of wines on the list, so we asked the owner (who is a well known wine taster who often contributes to wine journals and year books) for a recommendation. We ended up with a bottle of Peteglia Montecucco, a pure Sangiovese wine, very pleasant to drink, for a modest 13 Euro.
Quick and very friendly service!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Full of Italian charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were recommended to visit this restaurant by the owners of the villa we were staying in. We enjoyed it so on our first visit that we went a second time during the week we were in the area.

The food is wonderful and varied. The owner and the staff re extremely welcoming and could not do enough for us.

Trattoria Bonini is an absolute must for anyone who enjoys great food, wine and ambience.

Chris and Paula

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great, honest, Italian food, with the ravioli as a started being perfect.
Winelist very impressive, service decent and very polite.
Had a very good meal here, would most definatelty like to come back to enjoy another nice, freshly prepared meal with fresh ingredient and a smashing bottle of white wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosenSanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

As many other reviewers have said, this place is amazing and very good value especially the menu of the day which is not available at weekends. Hidden away in a cosy country side it could be easily missed. We enjoyed this restaurant so much that we returned again the next day to try more of the menu choices and after that we ate here every day. We tried a La Carte for lunch as well as lunch menu and the food was always good: various antipastos with unexpected harmony of flavours; the vegetable and bean soups were great; the mix grilled meat selection was just perfectly done; the coffee with the tiramisu and cream brule was the perfect end of the meal. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Top marks, really a very special place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Bonini also viewed

Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Trattoria Bonini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing