We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chill out retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Asterias Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here again 28th aug 2013 for one week,family vacation 13 years-56years ,8people.this hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday ,while granted not a lively resort tholos ,everyone friendly and give a warm welcome,the hotel it's self while basic ,is spotless clean,food very good,drinks,very good. rooms basic but have everything you need air con is a must payable on arrival but well worth the small fee 7euros daily ,and all hotel staff among the top were ever we have been,very very friendly and will help you any way they can,pool is main attraction it is large and very inviting.kids in it all day and evening.if you stay in tholos don't book transfers taxi 15euros only.the all inc ends at 10pm but you can still pay for drinks after this time very cheaply,supermarket 5min walk away and once again very friendly and cheap open very late ,4example we bought 6large water for rooms here 2euros,500ml beer 1.45e,litre wine2e,snacks cheap we sat out after hotel hours on balcony sipping and chatting loved it,I'd like to thank all at asterias for another great holiday and hopefully see you again soon

Room Tip: All seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harryburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I read all the reviews before we went and we were really looking forward to this holiday, we were not disappointed! The hotel was spotless and the cleaners worked very hard as did the kitchen staff.The food was just what we expected and we didn't struggle to find something to eat at any time as there was always a good selection, although after a week it became a bit repetitive, this is not a criticism because everything was always fresh and replenished as soon as it was emptying. The sea view of the beach from our room was lovely, were missing that already! We enjoyed the refreshing breeze on the beach and we liked the fact it was pebbly, not getting sand everywhere. Once you walked out 6ft or so the pebbles turned to sand and it wasn't too deep. Take some shoes for walking out to the sandy bit! All the staff were friendly and very helpful, George the barman always had a joke and a smile, they couldn't do enough for you. We ate out one night at Billy;s Bar and that was very good, other nights we went there for a drink and prices were reasonable and staff very friendly. If you need to buy anything just 5 minutes walk is Jenny's supermarket where Jenny and Chris are the most helpful lovely people. You can ask them anything about the local area, what to do, where to go etc and they will always do what they can to help. (although if they tell you to hire bikes to get to Butterfly Valley, don't listen, it's grueling, lol!) It is worth a visit though as is Theologos old town, beautiful and quaint. We met 2 British families with teenagers and if were honest the kids were getting a bit bored after a bit so maybe avoid if you have teenagers. The pool was never too full, although all the reviews about the sunbeds were correct, when at Asterias Hotel do as everyone else does, save your sunbed early! (on the beach too). All in all we enjoyed this holiday immensely and would not hesitate to go back, although Rhodes is VERY hot in July/August so maybe earlier or later in the year for us next time. ENJOY!

Simon and Karen

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kaz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I had a great 7 night sunshine filled chilling break here. Tholos itself is really quiet with just a few hotels and shops. not the place for those looking for night life. Due to self inflicted illness we didn't venture out of Tholos but the bus service to Rhodes town seemed to be regular and worked well. you can buy bus tickets from the hotel or some of the shops. The beach is non sandy. good place for kite surfing it seemed which was interesting to watch.

Hotel was clean, staff mostly friendly and hard working. If you asked for information/advice you would get it but nothing was volunteered. We found a lot out from fellow residents e.g there were seats available to take down to the beach

We arrived at 11pm. Checking in was fairly speedy-no information about the hotel or the location was given and we weren't offered anything food or drink wise. A bottle of water for the room would have been an easy bonus point earner!

Rooms-clean, serviced daily, no fridge, very warm-air conditioning was 7euros a night. A simple fan would be a great addition. We treated the bathroom as a wet room which worked well.

All inclusive was different! Didn't start till 11am-only wine/beer and soft drinks (cheap stuff and very syrupy) available but that was enough and tea/coffee was always available. Spirits/cocktails were available 6pm-10pm

we really liked the food-it was a small buffet each meal. something Greek was always available which was a plus for us-made a change from attempts at food that satisfies all European taste that's becoming the all inclusive norm. dessert was either a nectarine, melon, water melon or pineapple. Salads available too. no problem at all getting your 5 a day! Can't speak for breakfast as only made it once! Get in early though for lunch and dinner-some items were replenished others were not. I did ask once if there was more whatever it was and we got it. Items were replenished one day when I was seen to have a "strop" about there being 45 minutes of lunch left but little food.

Afternoon Tea was a nice touch-snacks varied from cake, brioche type thing to pizza. Be there on time! ice cream available for children only not adults :-(

Pool area was well maintained. Good selection of loungers and seats with or without umbrellas. I couldn't believe that people put their towels out the night before and that this was allowed to happen. I wanted to throw the towels in the pool!

beach towels are not provided.

take some mossie stuff-we got bitten at night both by the bar and in the room (the screen over the balcony door helped a lot)

we booked flights with thomas cook, hotel with lowcost holidays and transfer with resorthoppa

Room Tip: we asked top floor (it is only 2 floors!), balcony and seaview-we got it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in June this year for 11 nights which was just about right for us.
From the moment we arrived until the day we departed all staff and family (owners) were pleasant friendly and helpfull.
Its only a small hotel and this was reflected in the smaller selection of food. The quality of the food was very good and better than most hotels we have been to. There was always 2 meat selections together with fish in the evenings and always a choice of potatoes, rice or pasta and veg and salad. You really cant beat the quality of good home cooked food and that is what you get here at this hotel- we even had stifado 1 day..
Beer and wine on the all inclusive were both good along with the spirits and cocktails in the evening .
We normally holiday on a self catering basis in smaller 2* accomodation and we got exactly the same feel from this hotel which we found to be lovely.
Tholos itself has only 1 taverna and 3 bars. We never went ta any bars as they were mainy empty so we didnt see the point. We went to the Tavera ( To Atnanti) once and found it to be very good. The hotel food was just as good which is why we only went once.
If you like small and friendly Greek holidays then this is just amazing value. If you want large bustling 5* hotels with all the extras then give it a miss
We loved it

Room Tip: get a top floor room for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrisandmo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Fantastic relaxing holiday with friends. Hotel of a high standard for the money we paid. Nice pool, good rooms with air con and great food. Highly recommended and would stay here again. Tholos is a great little town next to the beach and a good location to explore the island from (car recommended though). The island is great for snorkelling and has some amazing beaches. This year (2013) I think we need two weeks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

In the first week we stayed the other hotel guests were the most rude miserble bunch of pepole i ever met. One woman said we was rude because we went out all day and only came back for dinner we were made to feel like outsiders because we never stayed at the hotel all day everyday.

Anyway the hotel itself was excellent the staff were friendly and mike and eva worked hard all the time also i would like to say thanks to the security guard for letting us back in every night and waking him up

The rooms were cleaned evey day to a high standard and the food was ok apart from the fact that it was chicken for nine nights in a row and dessert was always cut fruit

All in all we had a great holiday but we wont go back to this hotel which is a shame because it is nice and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Hi..stayed at this hotel in September 2011.Taken a while to right this review but well worth the wait.I stayed with my partner for 10 days and have nothing but praise for this hotel.Although there is not much to do in Tholos its a great holiday to spend relaxing by the pool in the sun,The food and drinks are very good quality and plenty of choice.rooms cleaned daily and sfaff super friendly.If you are looking for a quite family holiday with a loved one then this is the place to go 5 star quality all round.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
32.4 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0 mi away
Nirvana Beach Hotel
Nirvana Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tholos
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
8.3 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#58 of 126 in Rhodes Town
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Asterias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Asterias Hotel

Address: | Theologos, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Asterias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Asterias Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing