We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Delite indeed”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greek Delite indeed”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Travelled 25/08/12 - 08/09/12


Ok so first of all I just want to say to people complaining about late transfers that has nothing to do with the hotel so isn’t relavent!

Ok so I just got back today from Doreta beach after 2 weeks all inclusive there.
Room. – we were placed on the 1st floor the room was basic as always had a double bed and one single perfect for us three adults! clean!- a good sign of a clean hotel is no cockroaches never saw one!!
The shower was powerful, occasionally was cold at time but this was only when we showered at about 5-6 which is the busiest time I guess! My family visit the Greek islands every year and – if anyone complains about the bath I have to say you’re lucky you have one most Greek hotels showers are the whole bathroom floor with a drain!!!
The biggest issue of our room was the air-con as the system was rubbish (apparently the first 2 floors are to be refurbished in the next year!) but in order to make your room cooler I suggest opening your balcony door through the night with the curtain over to stop mozzys coming in. please think of it this way, your room is only there for sleep and washing that’s it! If your spending any more time in there you might as well be as home!!

Food- the main restaurant had a great choice of food throughout the week with themes such as Italian, greek and fish. Deserts are very good!. In the evening however the dress code means men cannot wear shorts and vests. But as long as your shorts cover the knee caps and worn with a shirt or evening t-shirt you will be fine. If all else fails put on a dress and pretend you’re a girl because we get away with it!!
Outside there is a taverna which you can use at lunch or dinner instead of the main restaurant as they have no certain clothes rule.
The beach self-serve bar has snacks in the afternoon such as pasta, hot dogs, tosties, icecream and salad, with crepes every other day.
And the pool bar has a large range of all inclusive drinks and all soft drinks are good brand names!!
A La Carte- you have to book a few days before but it is so good! There is a set 5 course meal and the presentation is amazing! But I highly recommend you have a starter/soup, get a salad to share, main course, and then a desert or its too much to eat.

Staff- restaurant staff are courteous and professional. The pool bar staff are good some don’t really talk. And the main reception staff are useful and full of information!!
The beach is beautiful and its where you get the best tan! But do make sure you buy some water shoes before as there are too many stones in the water.
The pool is large, the only negative point is only one small corner is shallow the rest is for swimmers.
Sunbeds- I would get up at 7.30 go down and get some the first week it was packed ! whereas the second week dead! So it’s really dependant on how many is in the hotel.
Things to do- Rhodes town for shopping- the old part, has so many nice shops. Also down there by the sea you can go on many different boat trips. There is a good waterpark.

This hotel was great for us, but there wasn’t many English, as it’s a French company that own it it was mainly them Russians and germans.

Overall I would give this hotel a 8/10 air-con and a shallower pool would have improved the score.

Room Tip: 4&5 floor superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xamezx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    378
    322
    227
    238
See reviews for
581
406
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have just come back from two weeks at the Doreta Park and I am wondering where the people who said it was dreadful were actually staying. The rooms were spotlessly clean, new towels every day, and they provided the pool towels. Admittedly they could do with more sunbeds. The restaurant food was fresh and varied, if folks want roast beef or pie and chips then perhaps they should holiday in England. A la carte was fantastic. Had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I have just returned from doreta beach hotel and i found the hotel staff very polite and understanding
the only problem i had was listening to an english family moaning about not being told where the dining room was, if they had only asked they would have been shown were it was but they kept saying that they should have been told without asking, are these people real or what, the old story they were after a discount from the hotel, shame on the english family, i met Mr VASILIS the restaurant manager and what a pleasant man to talk to, he deserves a medal after meeting the same english family, they wanted
a set table in the restaurant for every day set aside for them what plonkers, anyone just arriving at the
restauant were taken to a set table with no problem at all, good on you Mr VASILIS YOUR'E THE BEST
AND IT WAS A PLEASURE MEETING YOU AND ALL THE HOTEL STAFF. FROM DAVE

Room Tip: Room on the north side was very good and quiet but my friends had rooms on the south side and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyd1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was interested to read the recent reviews on this hotel, I stayed here with my husband and 2 boys (then aged 8 and 12) in 1998. We stayed in what was the 'self catering' part which was the split level rooms, and it was very adequate with no problems apart from the door which from the outside seemed locked but from the inside you could just open it, there was no locking facility, we had to barricade ourselves in as our 8 yr old was a sleep walker and wondered out at 3am in the morning, we awoke to him banging on the door to be let in.
At the time it was very 'all inclusive' orientated and the staff were not interested in you if you were self catering. There was a lot of english visitors then and some people never left the place! Looking back the reviews today seem to reflect what was happening then, dirty areas around pool, children being sick from over endulging in burgers and fizzy pop and it not being cleaned up. Folk we spoke to said food was terrible back then, glad we went SC as there was some lovely places to eat especially Sunset Bar,which unfortunately has now closed down, many tavernas have been hit in Tholos because of the AI hotels.
We werent allowed to watch the entertainment being SC not that we wanted to as it looked atrocious (think of butlins camps and you wont be far wrong).
The hotel had many faults 14 years ago and reading these reviews nothing has changed, we have visited many greek islands and always stay clear of AI, try the smaller SC ones and get out there and try the local treats, you can always eat burgers at home!. Be adventurous !!
We havent stayed in sep 2012 but I had to put a date in to be able to submit review.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was very worried when I read reviews that had been posted on trip advisor with regards to this hotel. I even tried to cancel my accomodation due to the comments.
I along with my husband, son, mum, dad and sister arrived at Doreta Beach mid afternoon, we were greeted in a very warm manner by reception staff.
We went to our room which was a little dated but comfortable nevertheless.
The restaurant was well air conditioned and there was plenty of choice for adult diners however, the childrens buffet was very limited, this didn't seem to bother my 5year old as he was happy to eat pizza, hot dogs and pasta every day! We booked the Taverna for one of our meals personally I thought the main restaurant served better meals with a bigger choice. We also booked for the al a cart restaurant, this was a disaster. we stood quietly by the entrance waiting to be seated only to be ignored by the three waiting on staff! We looked about to see if a table had been set for 6 as booked and couldn't see one! We waited and waited until my dad followed a waiter into the kitchen and asked if we were going to be seated. The waiter went to get the restaurant manager who pulled 2 tables together and asked us to have a seat. We were handed the menu which was very nice and told all food was free we had to pay for drinks including water. we waited and waited to be served, my 5 year old was becoming impatient along with the rest of our party! The head waiter came over and said you will have to wait we have too many people here to serve! We said the service wasn't what we had expected to which the waiter shrugged his shoulders and walked away! We decided against eating there and went to the main dining room. I complained to the manager who couldn't apologise enough to us for his waiters rudeness! The following evening the manager came to us with a bottle of wine by means of him apologising.
We did find a lot of the entertainment was multi lingual and didn't find that much of an issue. The animation team worked extremely hard and long hours entertaining guests all day and night.
we had a great week and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracyj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

just got back from a one week stay at the doreta beach ! please dont listen to the last four or five reviews these people are obviously serial complainers who have nothing else better to do with there time ! We arrived early sunday morning 5.00 am and we where given a room on the ground floor and must admit i wouldnt put my dog in the bath and there was no air conditioning ! so after a short sleep we complained and where given another room which was adequate for our needs , and definatley clean !
We found the food at the hotel was good and plenty choice even for my parky 10 yr old and there was never a point there was nothing to eat , the staff in the restaurant and bars where all very nice so i expect they treat you the same as you treat them?
I will agree the entertainment and kids clubs where all geared towards the russian and french holiday makers but to be honest we entertain ourselves on holidays abroad , if i went on holiday to be entertained i would go to butlins !
overall a nice holiday but the hotel lets itself down by letting out rooms that are a poor standard compaired to the rest of the hotel ! profit over standards

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neil3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We are currently staying in doreta beach, we are a family of 6 with 2 13year olds & 2 15 year olds.
I'd say we are normal people, happy & easy going & expect to be treated the same way we treat others.
We are having a good time at doreta beach, the place is spotless & everyone seems friendly.
The food has plenty to offer & you can always choose bread & chips etc if you were really fussy!!
The pool is massive, deep but great.
Sunbeds are a slight pain, you have to be putting towels out at 7am to get a sunbed, but I suspect this is the same in a lot of places.
The only negatives are the wifi is poor & the evening entertainment. There's stuff for small kids but not a lot else going on!!
Billy's bar opposite has lovely food and atmosphere & dundees looks good.
I'd recommend anyone going here it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mannemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#6 of 9 in Tholos
147 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aegean Breeze Resort
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
6.9 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort by Forum Hotels
10.0 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#15 of 71 in Faliraki
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Property: Doreta Beach Hotel
Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing