We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhodes holiday-I felt I was in France”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just got back from a two week holiday at Doreta Beach. Would I go back there no!. Why?
Very poor air conditioning - was told they knocked it off at end of September. We had temperatures over 30C , in an effort to try and get cool we had no option but to open patio doors at night, resulting in discomfort from mozzie bites, over tired from lack of sleep. First night was place in room with the worst bathroom I have ever come across on holiday anywhere. Room was changed next day to better room - air conditoning. Food repetative and never hot-appart from lovely pancakes and ommelets at breakfast. Entertainment a few nights were ok but pack your cards if your British - you will need them. Travel time to Rhodes Town is 45 minutes by bus and not 25 as we were informed.
POSITIVES ; Not far from airport - taxi ride 13 euros each way - local bus under 3 euros.
Staff were polite and hard working - rooms and hotel kept clean. Layout of pool, poolbar, snackbar and its proximity to sea excellent. Sunbeds were plenty in October.
I would go back to Rhodes but not at this hotel,
ps The air conditioning units looked very old and give the appearance that they would not have been very effective.

Room Tip: Do not accept the first room offered if you are unhappy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel in august for a week. dont know what to start with. terrible hotel.I would not recommend it to my enemy. stayed AI, but had to eat in the locals bars, as the food was terrible. no sunbeds, except you get up at 4 am and leave your towel. Many cats and dogs, once a dog made a poo directly on the beach, and a staff member just looked at him and walked away!! And what a beautiful sea view room - a view to stairs, that soon is going to crash down, and no sea at all. and so on and on, the rating of this hotel should be 1+, not 4..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mazhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just got back from a two week holiday staying at this hotel all inclusive.... Never again would we go back here even if someone paid us!!

The Food was disgusting, there was No entertainment for adults, Limited drinks that were watered down, Rude restaraunt staff, Mosquito ridden, No English people and to top it off there was several power cuts throughout the holiday!!!

The ONLY one good thing about this hotel is that it was clean!!!

Don't waste your money on this hotel, it's a joke!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vic24Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we have just re turned from a 2 week family holiday at doreta beach. having read some of the negative reviews we were a little apprehensive about what we were going to find. but we
need not have worried. our room was duplex style,really clean and the maids kept it that way throughout our stay.the resaurant was superb,the food was greek orientated but hey if you wanted british food you could go to blackpool,the food they supplied was well acceptable.the restaurant staff were very helpful.there was this lovely liitle guy who greeted you as you came in who made our 8 year old daughter and all the kids feel very special, the pool area was excellent, the pool bar seemed to be the hub of the action,the 2 girls who do the day shift seem run off thier feet but keep the bar ticking over nicely.we heard people moaning because they had to wait to be served,what is the rush youre on holiday some people are so impatient.
the entertainment team were czech but kept everybody entertained especially the kids. every
night they did a kids disco which our daughter loved. the only slack point at the hotel was the
evening entertainment which was a little lacking some nights,which was quite important as the
village of tholos only has around half a dozen supermarkets and about 4 bars,but having said that it is a peaceful setting for a holiday.overall i would reccomend this hotel for families more so than for couples.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor duplex. the view will not be of the pool but they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Giving the overall rating a 3 is at a push.
Me and my girlfriend and parents stayed in this hotel on the 26th Sept to 3rd of October 2012.
We arrived at about 8:50PM in the evening and was greeted lovely by the reception staff.
The hotel is well presented when you walk in, its very spacious.
Me & my girlfriend was given a room on the 5th floor over looking the sea. The sea view was lovely although to the left of us we had a big view of a wall and on an evening about 200 pigeons asleep on the various levels.
The room we had was a superior one and was lovely and clean and very modern, right up until the point that I found the air vents leaded off into other rooms on the floor.
The problem with this is that the vent at the very top had access to the rooms across from us and to the side, so that when people in the other room had their light on, talking or TV on, we heard everything and had light shining in our dark room (not my girlfriend, she had earplugs).
Music seemed to start every morning at 09:50 usually which if you have a lie in and a room located as ours were you could get woken up by that (always seemed to be high school musical).
The beds are very hard as well I found.
The maids also seem to come round quite early and we weren't given a "do not disturb" sign.

The food at the hotel was naff, it was always luke warm and that was with being first in the door.
I had a try of most stuff and some food was ok, others was inedible.
The hotel has an al-a-carte restaurant which if you ask the manager (small man usually near the restaurant door) he would give you a token when you book in. The food was hot and there was plenty from it. Definitely worth booking in there to try it.

The beach was nice, but very pebley. You will see a lot of planes flying over and this can be a bit of a nuisance at night as sometimes they can be every 5 minutes for 25 minutes. I got woken up a lot.

There is a couple of bar/cafe/restaurants around that you can nip to. One being Billy's Bar, which the people there are lovely and food & drink is reasonably priced.
Another restaurant is at Seaview Studios just a 5 minute walk up the road. Its a pool bar with apartments but they also have a restaurant and the food is lovely and reasonably priced.

The hotel also has a car hire company (Galaxy) on site. We was able to get 2 Chevrolet Matiz cars for 4 days for 65 Euro's each which was bartered down.

All in all it was Ok but definitely would not go back again just down to the room noise and food let downs.

Room Tip: Get a room on 3rd, 4th or 5th (Superior rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We been there for a week and we arrived in the late night. The ceck-in was awful, we booked a room with a see view and they gave to us a room with garden view. We complained about and they said that was the only room available but the room didn't have towels, soup and was for 4 people, we are a couple!!! They gave to us a room with see view the day after. The food was nothing special and I think that the buffet is very boring and doesn't have a nice rotation. The service was good when we tried the a la carte restaurant. The best thing that I remember is the french animation, very cheerfull and friendly people.
It says that is a 4 star hotel but i think that can be a nice 3 star. Very old building but with a very nice location on the see. We've been to the S.p.a. and we had a massage, the bulding it looks like when they never finished the rastiling work. If they want be a 4 star hotel they must do something better....

Room Tip: Don't book a superior room because you will overpay it and the room is exactly the same than a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

went to this hotel 12 september 4 two weeks great hotel staff pleasant little man on the door very frendily bar staff good shows on night time good bingo done in 3 diffrent languages took 3 hours to play game hotel staff wen on strike 4 to days hadnt been paid 4 months couldnt blame them one bit as us english wouldnt go 2 weeks with out pay not geared up 4 british got chased many times 4 getting chips of kids menu never mind will go back

Room Tip: you need to be on 345 floors sea viws good but so is front as you can see mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank lesliefenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
841 reviews
6.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing