We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed”
Review of Doreta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doreta Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
leighton buzzard lu7 3nq
1 review
“disapointed”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

we went here for our honeymoon, we were very disapointed with our tacky out dated room, we did have lovley sea views and as it was only some where to sleep so we made the most of it. our room was cleaned every day, also clean towels and bedding every day.
the food was ok, same sort of thing every day so got a bit boring, bar staff where great so was the team of young girls entertaining the kids, they did work hard, cant say that about the so called life guard, she spent most of her time sat at the bar, in the dinning hall, staff were over quick to remove your plates and drinks, if you went up to get more, also men have to wear long trousers and shirt or you are not aloud in the dinning hall,
we went on local bus to the old town, well worth a visit, cost 2.50 euros both ways.
I would not want to go back there but the weather was fab, beach not so nice, gritty and very stoney into the sea, there were no free water sports or gym etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    376
    322
    227
    238
See reviews for
579
405
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Just returned from 1 week at Doreta Beach and had a great time.

We booked as a last minute deal, all inclusive (6 weeks before) with Thomas Cook so we went with a pretty open mind as to what awaited us. Not too much info was given regarding standard of rooms so we relied on reviews to help.

When we arrived, the room (we were given a maisonette) was a bit tired looking and in need of updating but was clean. As we didn't plan on spending the holiday in our room, it was perfectly adequate. However, we did overhear a few people complaining about the standard of their room but they seemed to be under the impression the hotel was 4 or 5 star (or maybe they just enjoyed complaining)!! Thomas Cook advertise it as a 3 star, which is what we would grade it as.
Just a point to mention, we were charged for the transfer from the airport to the hotel when we booked - don't bother, as a taxi would have been far cheaper (12Euros).

The food was good and on some nights, very good. Varied dishes available every night, something for everyone. The appearance of the food was not always great, but it always tasted good. Hang on to your knife and fork though, as they will take them when they clear away your plate! Most nights the deserts lacked imagination, however, one night was Greek themed and the deserts were fantastic. The snack bar was a bit basic but OK for kids and if you missed breakfast.

The pool area and beach were lovely. There was always a sunbed available no matter what time you arrived. The pool itself was very clean and the poolside toilets were also cleaned regularly. There were plenty of activities available throughout the day such as aqua aerobics, water polo, and football, if that's your thing. If not, a 2.50 euro bus ride to Rhodes town (about half hour) is definitely worth while.

The evening entertainment was not to our liking (very Butlins and mainly aimed at kids and families, but what resort isn't!) The poolside bar gets quite lively and the bar staff are excellent and very entertaining with their cocktail tricks! Be polite, and you'll never be kept waiting. This is probably not the place for you if you like a WILD night, but Falaraki is only a short taxi ride away.
The drinks were OK - simple cocktails, nice wine and beer, but definitely watered down!

We would certainly recommend Doreta Beach for a relaxing fun holiday. As long as you're not expecting 5 star accomodation, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KTandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great britain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Arrived back today from this hotel so review very up to date. Booked the holiday 5th may 2009 and believed we were going to the (as described on all internet pages offering this hotel for your holiday as) recently refurbished 5* hotel resort and spa with gym.
On our arrival we went to check in. Whilst waiting to do this we overheard at least 7 complaints from new arrivals regarding the rooms..all asking to be moved. To cut a long story short the facts are thus...........I have read some other reviews discussing the rooms and some say that they upgraded from a standard to more superior room because of the decor etc. There are in fact no "standard rooms". THE TRUTH IS (info we received from the YOU TRAVEL rep at the resort when we complained) THE HOTEL STARTED THE REFURBISHMENT OF ROOMS AND BUILDING THE GYM AND SPA....HOWEVER...THEY GOT SCARED DUE TO LACK OF BOOKINGS AND PUT A HOLD ON THE REFURBISHMENTS. The standard rooms that people are talking about are actually the rooms on the first and second floors that have yet to be refurbished but will be refurbished at a later date and will be refurbished to the standard of the other rooms. If you booked the hotel at around the same time we did when it was advertised as hotel resort and spa however, YOU STILL PAY THE SAME MONEY FOR YOUR HOLIDAY AS PEOPLE STAYING IN THE REFURBISHED ROOMS. YOU ALSO RECEIVE NO NOTIFICATION THAT YOU ARE BOOKED INTO THE NON REFURBISHED ROOM.

A number of complaints went in regarding this while we were at the hotel (if you don't log a complaint whilst your out there you cannot then do it on your return) SINCE THEN IT APPEARS ALL THE DETAILS OF THIS HOTEL ON INTERNET SITES HAVE BEEN CHANGED. It is now called Doreta beach (THE RESORT AND SPA AND 5* GRADING HAVING BEEN REMOVED. Some have no mention of spa and gym whilst YOU TRAVEL states these will be available end June/July (they definitely aren't ready to date). Be very careful because some sites e.g., KWIK TRAVEL EVEN HAVE PHOTOS OF THE GYM YET THERE IS NO GYM AS THE ROOM IS STILL IN THE PROCESS OF BEING PLASTERED!!!!!!!!!
None of the internet sites state that some of the rooms have yet to be refurbished. Also the current descriptions of the rooms are still inaccurate especially the YOU TRAVEL site ( the lead agents for this hotel) who (under every description of the different types of rooms available) state THAT THE ROOMS HAVE JACUZzIS AND WI FI AND SAT T.V. WELL IF YOUR IN THE NON REFURBISHED ROOMS THEY DO NOT .

It seemed VERY unfair to us that we were put to stay in the non refurbished rooms with mould on the ceilings, cracks in the tiles, air conditioning that sounded like a jet engine, the coating peeling off the dressing tables and wardrobes, old fashioned T.V that we had to push something into the switch in order for it to stay on etc whilst others were in rooms with jacuzzi bath plus walk in shower cubicle with frosted glass in bathroom, supply of toiletries, brand new tiles, plasma screens T.Vs and beds with leather trims AND YET WE PAID THE SAME PRICE AS PEOPLE STAYING IN THESE ROOMS. The room you were allocated was purely down to luck on the day.

I also feel sorry for those people who fell for the "pay more to be upgraded" as these rooms were no different to rooms other people who hadn't paid to be upgraded and hadn't paid more for were staying in. We know this due to many conversations in the bar at night.
SO BE WARNED ITS DOWN TO LUCK AS TO WHICH ROOM YOU GET ALLOCATED ON ARRIVAL AND THE DIFFERENCES IN STANDARD BETWEEN THE REFURBISHED AND NON REFURBISHED ROOMS ARE IMMENSE.

Also there are a number of certificates in the foyer awarding this hotel for its 3* qualities so even as it is now advertised as a 4* (recently changed on the internet sites from a 5*) it still on two floors does not meet this rating.

OTHER AREAS IN BRIEF
As for the food, well it was "nice" however, a lot of the hot food was "cold" especially the breakfasts although they do supply a microwave with a notice above saying "if your food isn't warm enough use this to heat it up"!!!!. Hotel information states that there is show cooking and weekly themed nights well we did not encounter this whilst we were there and if it did happen then it must have been very subtle as we weren't aware of it going on....unless they class the breakfast chef cooking an omelet at your request as the "show cooking". You also only get one knife and fork for your meal. This poses a problem if you want more than one course e.g., salad followed by another course as the waitresses remove your plates etc as soon as you take your last mouthful. The only way to eat other courses is using your fingers or if your lucky by pinching cutlery off another laid table.

Entertainment is also very poor unless you enjoy watching reps perform every night e.g., general dancing, dancing to Grease, Karaoke etc.

The swimming pool looks amazing (it is approximately length of 75-100m) but be warned at 5ft 6 there is only one area approx 6ft by 5ft max where I could touch the bottom of the pool. The rest is very deep and my partner who is 6 ft could not touch the bottom here. The pool is also only open from 10am to 6pm and a whistle is blown by the lifeguard at this point for everyone to get out. there is a very small very shallow pool for children but this is more for the under 3 age group than any others.

On the positive when all the hotel has been refurbished and the spa is opened this will be a fantastic hotel. Although the food would have to improve further for it to realistically earn the 5* rating it was advertised as having when we booked.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itellitasitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tholos hotels

England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Arrived home from the Doreta Beach Hotel on 24th June 2009 and we had a lovely time.

After reading some reviews before we left, we decided that if we were given a key at reception, we would look at the room but also look at a refurbished room (floor 4), we decided to pay the extra (credit card bill just arrived cost £86 for the week, well worth it).
We have stayed in numerous 3/4 star european hotels over the last 12 years, and feel able to comment on many things, especailly the food. We have to say the food was very good, hot, varied and plenty of it (granted we only stayed 1 week). The meat/fish were good quality, the salads fresh and the pasta/pancake section varied and appertising. The beer is drinkable, white wine ok, but red is chilled, not to our taste. There was no problem getting ice-creams (which has been an issue in previous ai hotels), infact food is available most of the day and late evening, something again not seen in other European resorts.
We found the staff friendly and helpfull, especially the bar staff. Make sure you visit the pool bar after dinner, the guys work really hard (and like to impress the ladies with their bar tender tricks). Give them a good tip early on and you will never have to wait to be served.
The beach was as described, pebbly, so take a pair of shoes to wear in the sea, but the water was warm and when we were there, almost empty. Don't worry about rushing down to reserve your sunbeds. The hotel uses a water sprinkler in the morning (for the grass) up till about 8.30am, so anyone trying to reserve with towels get a soggy surprise. But there were always beds available at any time during the day.
The entertainment wasn't to our taste, but expected that reading the previous reviews, but you can join in with darts, water aerobics or bingo if that's your thing.
We wanted a chilled-out relaxing week with good weather, good food, a few drinks and a comfy bed, and that's what we got. So yes i would recommend this hotel to anyone not expecting silver service & foam parties..
One good thing is the taxi fares are fixed. Fixed price from airport to hotel is 12E & from hotel to Rhodes town is 20E (bus is 2.5E each, but was jam packed..) Take own beach towels as hotel does not supply. Make sure men take long trousers for the restaurant in the evening as there is a dress code.
Hope you find this informative, I know the one's I read before going were of great help.

Have a great holiday...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Callmebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Theres are good and bad points for this hotel. First of all if you intend staying here, shop around. We bought our holiday from "yourholidays" from teletext holidays. After paying over the phone, we later found the exact same holiday on their website for £100 cheaper. We upgraded to the "superior" rooms, then found out from another couple they paid less upgrading when they arrived, again, a bit miffed.

The hotel is pleasant enough. We had a upgraded room, which included flat screen tv and jaccuzzi bath. There are only 2 english channels on the tv, fair enough, you dont go on holiday to watch tele, but after a night out a bit of background noise is welcome. The upgrade was supposed to include sandwiches and bottle of wine on arrival. On arrival we were greeted by a cheesed off receptionist, who gave us our room pass and left us to it. This was the first time abroad Ive not been shown to my room. there werent any refreshments avaliable, no wine or sandwiches. Fair enough, we wouldnt have cracked the bottle of wine at 4 in the morning, but a sarnie wouldve been nice. We later learned the there was a vending machine in reception selling snacks and water. The upgraded rooms are also supposed to have a radio and wifi access, again ours didnt, and when we asked why, we were told it would get sorted out. It didnt.

The thing that let the hotel down most was the food. In a word, awfull. My partner is veggie, and even she couldnt face what was avaliable ( no disrespect to veggies, but you will see what I mean ). She is also pregnant, and the majority of the food seemed to be egg based, so that was off limits to her aswell. If you are vegan, dont bother. The outside snacks area was full of wasps and flies. The wasps were crawling up the drinks despeser, but no one cared. Also, watch for the hygeine of the snack bar staff. They spend their breaks by the side of the building smoking, then serve ice cream cones without washing their hands. UUURRRGGGGHHHHH. By the way, the ice cream was excellent, just dont eat the cone. The juices on offer were awfull, it seemed theyd got fruit juice, and watered it down. A lot. The beer was ok, VAP ??. But the branded names were avaliable too, at "special prices". Special prices alright, 440ml can of Guiness, 4 Euros. The bar staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them, so I would give them 10/10. The pool was pretty good, but deep. Min depth was 180, and I think the deepest part was 240, so if youve got kids please take care. There is a childrens pool, but we saw a lot of unattended youngsters in the mail pool on inflatables. Also be warned, there isnt much to do with the kids other than sit by the pool, so if youve got kids, stick a couple of colouring books in your case, or anything else that can occupy them.

Because of the food quality we ended up spending 350 euros eating out. Believe me, this wasnt us being fussy, we spent our spending money just eating. If I was going to go back, then I would do bed and breakfast. But I wouldnt go back. If you are set on Rhodes, then do what we wished we d done, go to Lindos instead. If you do go, then try Mikes restaraunt next door, very good food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I haven't been Doreta Beach for a long time but am going back this year. Just thought it might be worth mentioning if you're bored of a nightime then jump in a taxi to Falaraki for the night, we did it was great and had loads of good bars all different music, we got a taxi back early hours they weren't too expensive. No one seems to have said this in their reviews and I think most young couples would go if they knew it was so close. Doreta beach is a lovely resort but sometimes you want a mad night!! Also I'd recommend going to the waterpark which is bookable through reps or direct bus from rhodes town.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaykaykay1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

doreta is a nice hotel do not have transfers from airport it is 10 mins away and cheaper in a taxi but make sure u pay 12 euros as my mom got charged 15 euros.we had a standard room the view was amazing overlooking the pools and the sea we had 3 beds tv and airconditioning although u may have to pay a deposit of 10 euros for the remote for it but u do get this back at the end of your stay.the room was clean it had a bath and shower but your holidays not in your room so as long as its clean we wasnt bothered.
We thought the food was good not excellent but there was something for everyone from salads to cooked dinners and very nice cakes .the drinks was brill they stop serving all inclusive at 12 but if u order 2 drinks each at 11.55 take them to your room .the snack bar by the pool isnt the best but you can have cheese and ham toasties they dont advertise this but ask them behind the counter. the drinks at the food bar by the pool such as sprite and fanta have ants in them so be careful. you will need some shoes to go in the sea as it is very pebbly and hurts your feet but its like a bath once your in so warm. the big pool is deep all around so watch small children my daughters 5 she was in the big pool nearly all of our stay with arm bands she was fine the small pool is nice too. theres plenty of space and beds for everyone so if you get up late dont worry theres loads. the people are very friendly and the entertainment team are ok could do more things but the shows were good especially friday nights. they have a disco everynight for the kids and theres a kids club if u want a break. if u fancy a change down the road is an aussie bar called dundees with free pool table and excellent food thats cheap theres a few shops and bars and the bus stops across the road from the hotel which takes you to rhodes town the area is quiet so if you like nightlife its not the place.Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would come back its good for families.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8045stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.1 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
147 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aegean Breeze Resort
9.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
10.0 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#15 of 71 in Faliraki
687 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort by Forum Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doreta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doreta Beach Hotel

Property: Doreta Beach Hotel
Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doreta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doreta Hotel is a modern and comfortable beachfront resort and spa property, located on the west coast of Rhodes Island, near the pretty village of Tholos, at a distance of 17km from the centre of Rhodes town. It's an ideal choice for those who would like to combine the unrivalled views of the blue Aegean with cooling breeze of the west coast. Has a great atmosphere, not only providing an excellent environment for families, but equally suitable for all guests. The spacious lawns leading down to the tree-lined beach is a fun place for children to play carelessly and safely. Hotel is an excellent base for exploring the countless beauties of the island, but it also provides an opportunity for a relaxed walk around taverns, shops and the traditional village of Tholos. It is no wonder that one third of our guests repeat their visit to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doreta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doreta Beach Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece
Doreta Beach Tholos
Doreta Beach Rhodes
Doreta Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing