We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its nothing like a summer dream! terrible place”
Review of Summer Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summer Dream Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“its nothing like a summer dream! terrible place”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

to start i don't see how anyone can write a good review on this place as it is a dump! when our transfer coach pulled up to drop us off others on the coach was laughing at us as their is scruffy waist on the road up and its a dump! there are mosquito's and cockroaches everywhere!! even in the corridors to rooms, in the pool and bedding in the room! flies swarm round everywhere because its so dirty with food lying everywhere. i know this hotel is cheap but even for the cheap price i wouldn't return nor recommend! seriously just pay the extra price for a better place! food was disgusting!! hardly anything was cooked properly and it wasn't only the same dishes on every night, it was actually left overs from meals or days before! the maid was rude when we asked for her to change the bedding and to provide clean towels because they hadn't been changed throughout the week (and we were out early to let them in). if the air con is left on for longer than an hour it starts to leak!! my daughter walked onto the balcony where it had leaked and went flying and severely scarred her arm. on total we spent around £1500 on food to eat out throughout the 2 week stay because its disgusting. the staff was rude to us and we felt like an outsider as most of the guests were german and russian.. they hung their flag at the pool and took around 10 sun loungers for themselves over night which was the majority of sun loungers available. one morning we seen the pool being cleaned and all they did was pour a bucket of blue crystals into the water and let the guests in it 15 minutes later..surely it should be left longer? also cups and food was left around the pool and one day we even seen a rat! yes a rat!!! it was running around with left overs which hadn't been cleared from days before. after the first week the smell of the food knocked us sick! there is no entertainment apart from a pool table, computer and like a computer machine. do not go here!!!! find a different cheap get away in a destination with more to do (rhodes is rubbish!) or pay the extra for a better hotel with health checks. if i could i would rate this place 0 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myreviews11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    85
    76
    49
    80
See reviews for
149
131
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a great holiday for the price that you pay. The staff were lovely, and very helpful. We received clean towels each day as long as we were out of the room before the maids came to clean (before 9am) - they don't come back otherwise.

Food was ok, as long as you don't expect anything special. Dinnertime menu was often the best in terms of selection - breakfast was very basic and cereal was out of the question as the milk was left out unrefrigerated. Watermelon was a big hit and make sure you get it quick as some people piled it all onto their plates before we could get some.
Basic selection of drinks from the bar, no bottled water available either - just lager (which was nice) or white and red wine. Spirits and cocktails were only available at the evening bar which was unfortunate. There were hardly any snacks available at the poolside bar, often only the leftovers from breakfast that nobody wanted.

NOT ENOUGH SUNLOUNGERS! The hotel needs to introduce a rule where residents aren't allowed to keep their towels out on the loungers overnight as this was very unfair because people often didn't come back to use them, and when people wanted to sunbathe had to use normal plastic chairs.. our advice is - if you can't beat them, join them! - Also, there was no lifeguard or at least didn't seem to have one.

Great access to Rhodes with the buses, you have to make the most of what you have - i.e. access to the beach, Rhodes etc. There's hardly any nightlife in Theologos so don't expect thumping nights out - very relaxed.

Despite this, we really enjoyed our stay at Summer Dream hotel, and would recommend it to couples or families with young children who want a relaxing holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prestonpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

rooms were basic but cleaned every day the air con work well which was a big + the pool is old and needs some maintenance but kept clean, the restaurant is very hot and cramped and the food is basic when something ran out it was often replaced with a totally different dish so if you see something you like be quick, the standard of the cooking was good no upset stomachs and there was 10 of us, not much entertainment and the drinks are a poor quality, the village is run down and there's not much to do.
The bad bit passports are kept behind reception on full view and on checkout one was missing after 1 1/2 hours of waiting for the owner and searching and saying we must have it and we have never lost a passport it was found in a different box mixed in with some German passports, so leave them there at your peril
The weather was hot and it was cheap

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griff97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I dont even know where to start! Me and my partner have just come back from this hotel, it is a health and safety hazard! The food is appualing, we had to eat out majority of the time due to food not being cooked properly, or simply cold. The salad is warm as refrigderator it is in is not cold enough (a mere 22 degrees.) Burnt my hand on boiling hot soup (the one time we where able to get some!) and was told by the kitchen staff 'oh well, you'll be okay' Milk was left out and therefore was warm which is extremeley dangerous, have these people not heard of salmonella? Our room was dirty, with consistent dirty towels and bed linen, also observed one of the maids cleaning our room with a bucket of water which was black! Lights go off at 11pm, so trying to find your way when the sprinklers are on and trying to climb marble stairs when they are wet is a death threat in itself. Hose pipes left laying around which we tripped over several times. Not enough sun loungers for people as all towels are left on beds over night. Very poor drinks selection and do not provide you with bottles of water. I could go on and on.. My advice would be do not do it to yourselves! Go to a different hotel as this is quite possibly one of the worst holidays me and my partner have been on and will advise everybody to never go here. I wish we had of listened to other peoples advice before we booked

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tholos hotels

Girvan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The hotel itself was clean and set in beautiful gardens. it is up a littleroad but not a great distance from the main area. We found the staff to be very cheery but maybe do not speak much English. The food was the main letdown as it was unlabelled so you never knew what it was we called dinner mystery meat time!!! We did spend a lot of time n the other bars eating. Not enough entertainment, so also went out to find that. If you want a relaxing poolside break then its fine but not for a family with two teenagers

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldo559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. All the staff are very friendly , hardworking and helpful, Zoi was lovely, very informative, Sofia at the pool bar very friendly as was Yannis at the reception bar. It was good to see George and Yannis the owners who remembered us from previous visits and take time to talk to you. All work long hours and yes the hotel could probably do with some more staff but some tourists are just greedy and RUDE. Yes the food can get repetitive but we have stayed in 5 star hotels with the same problem. For the price we paid we were more than happy. Our rooms were very clean and towels changed every other day which does not always happen in "better" hotels. When we stayed ther the pool was certainly not dirty or full of bugs, Yannis senior worked hard on the gardens as well as the pool and there are plenty of cleaners.It is not the fault of the hotel that the beach at Tholos is shingle, not sand or that the village is looking rundown! If you want a CHEAP, quiet relaxing break with friendly staff then GO FOR IT! If you want 5 star accommodation and food then PAY FOR IT!!! We met some lovely people - Hi to Margaret and Joe - they are also regulars at the hotel and not complaining youngsters either and the couple from Hartlepool. A good mix of people when we were there. We will go again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaroleR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I hope that as you are reading this you haven't booked to stay here.
This is why you shouldn't consider this hotel:
Rooms - super basic, plugs unsafe, ants, balcony doors don't lock, baths are 4ft long with a shower that doesn't have a holder so you have to hold the showerhead with one hand and try to wash yourself with the other.
Pool - filthy, full of floating bugs, steps out are broken and very dangerous
Food - the worst I've ever had ANYWHERE
Drinks - the beer is disgusting and the spirits are not much better
Entertainment - other than a karaoke on Sunday nights there is no entertainment whatsoever
Locality - very much off the beaten track with wrecked cars on the approach to the hotel; plus an unfinished property
Planes fly overhead literally every 5 minutes
The Beach - all pebbles, hard to walk on even in flipflops or sandles and the tide that comes in is brown water
You really, REALLY need to swerve this place.
The staff are great but rightly moan about their lot.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the new bit - at the back of the pl
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkStGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.7 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
541 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
642 reviews
10.9 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Maritime Hotel Apartments
20.8 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
543 reviews
9.7 mi away
Evi Hotel Rhodes
Evi Hotel Rhodes
#65 of 72 in Faliraki
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Dream Hotel

Property: Summer Dream Hotel
Address: Theologos, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Dream Tholos
Hotel Summer Dream
Summer Dream Rhodes
Summer Dream Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing