We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summer nightmare!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Summer Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summer Dream Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“summer nightmare!!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Umm Where do I start,
We were in two minds whether to go to this hotel after reading all the reviews about this hotel. We choose this hotel as its local to all the amenities and it was a very good price that we paid for an all inclusive offer for my family of four.
I will start with the good points first :
The complex is situated in a lovely area of Rhodes called Thasos, it is local to the amenities. You can get a bus to Rhodes the old town for 2.80,which takes about 40 mins,you can also get a bus to the airport which is only about 15mins away. You are also not far from the town called Theologos.The receptionist called Ewa made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her. The cleaners called Lena,Aphroditi and Floresa where very friendly and also cleaned the rooms every day. The pool bar man called yanis was very friendly and he was very good with children too. The hotel is a family originated .
THE BAD POINTS ARE:
The complex is understaffed, there are no fire and safety regulations, the rooms need to be updated, the equipment in the rooms that are not working should be removed or get them fixed. There are lack of meals there should be a children's selection and there's not, there should be wider choice of a vegetarian selection and there was no ice cream served in the afternoon for every one apart from lunch time and dinner time. The restaurant needs to be completely changed around as it got very stuffy and very over crowed.The meals should be all labelled and they are not. There was also lack of air conditioning in the reception area and the restaurant. At the main reception area you should be able to change currency up and there isn't. There was no entertainment for children what so everThe.evening time for dinner should be changed as its too late for children to eat. There was no CCTV. MY FAMILY AND I WHERE ILL AT THE HOTEL TOO..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    80
    73
    45
    78
See reviews for
139
125
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

did not expect a lot and disappointed at the start but made the most of it room was not cleaned regularly and we had to continuously ask for towels also lots of exposed wires not ideal if staying with small children. The food was excellent and the staff lovely but chaotic trying to get a room for a few extra hours as we left at 3.40 in the morning and asked everyday if they would sort it. My tip would be make it very clear you need separate rooms as we went as me myself my boyfriend my daughter her boyfriend and my son all in one room with one toilet needless to say we all saw more of each other than we would have liked! We did enjoy the holiday and it was value for money if they upped the cleanliness and got more organised they would do loads better we did have a great holiday and it is what you make it, the karoake was great fun and not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swilliams04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Summer Dream Hotel and what a great time we had. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view from the balcony of both the mountains and the sea (lovely sunset). Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen supplied. The food was good and varied. Occasionally there was a queue for food, but if everyone bolts for the restaurant as soon as it opens, then what do you expect. We just spaced the timings out.....no problem. As for flies, well, what can I say, except that some people tend to exaggerate. Yes, there were a few but no more than you,d probably get at home if you had windows and doors open. The sun loungers were a bit of a problem at times because some people would leave their towels on them the night before and then not use them until after lunch or they would disappear for the day and not use them until late afternoon (very selfish). If you,re up early enough, again, no problem. The hotel is a 3 star not a 5 star so if you want 5 star then pay up and go somewhere else (it,s not rocket science). This is the second time I,ve been to the Summer Dream and the third for my daughter and we both hope to go there again. The only complaint I have is a couple of other people whining about nothing. Your holiday is what you make it and I would recommend the Summer Dream to any of my friends and family. The staff are brilliant and very friendly and I would like especially to say thank you to Lena, Aphroditi and Floresa (the cleaning ladies who were always smiling despite the long hours they had to work in hot temperatures). Yonni (the pool barman) and Yanni (the gardener and odd job man). Also the staff on reception who are always willing to help and are a mine of information. Thank you, once again for making our holiday very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty1954320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel we were slightly worried, however when we got there we were really happy, Ewa the front of house/receptionist/trouble shooter was so warm and friendly and our room although basic was clean, air condition was great and the ladies cleaned it daily beds were changed regularly and towels were changed when ever we left them in the bath. Food was nice and it was the first hotel I had been too that grew there own vegetables and you could see them growing. The pool and bar was great. Yes you had to queue sometimes but the staff were hard working friendly and could not do enough for you. Yes this is a 3 star hotel do not expect 5. Star amenities but the staff are definitely 5 star and we would go back in shot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karendavidbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingboro Northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Returned from this hotel yesterday and was sad to leave. The staff are excellent and look after you. Hotel is 3* and rooms are basic but were cleaned and bedding/ towels changed for us. I was worried after reading the reviews but went with this in mind as did my brother in law and rest of our family. Don't listen to the reviews food was good and replenished quickly, always hot. Flies weren't a problem as made out. You do need to get up early to get a sunbed if you want a shaded area but we arrived at 14.20 and got beds at that time of day. Entertainment was karaoke on a Sunday and what a fab night that was as we had met friends and we all participated in this. Being a small hotel everyone mixed together, a good morning or good afternoon to others costs nothing and brings people together. There were some people whom I'm sad to say were British that tried to spoil holiday by running down the hotel but avoid people like this, chill out, relax and remember why you chose this place good value. Dundees a must!.

Room Tip: Rooms on hotel side of pool good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Literally just back from 11 nights in this hotel, all good if you go with it in mind you havent booked a 5* hotel and you certainly havent paid 5* prices. Food was good and we actually also ate in a 4* hotel in Faliraki and guess what food was identical with exactly the same drinks suppliers as Summer Dreams, but would of cost us twice as much.
Staff were the most friendliest I have ever met, even the woman who told me off for filling up my water bottle at breakfast still not sure why this was a problem but hey maybe she had a bad morning.
Also to note in the 4* hotel they had a 2 drink policy ALL DAY, Summer Dream was just between 10.00 -10.30 so stop your moaning people.
To summarise Summer Dreams its like the rest of Greece and many other european countries its trying to survive as best as it can in this tough economic climate, its certainly not helped by tourists picking on crazy things just because you cant get a poxy toasty or similar. In fact im a very seasoned traveller often to 5* or at least 4* and never had a toasty abroad.
Go enjoy Rhodes and use this good honest hotel as a base and ignore the miserable people who expect the world for the pittance they pay. Eight of us enjoyed the stay none got sick or came down with anything and the other 30 people we met had no problems. To be honest I was amazed at some of the stupid comments witnessed while there by one or two individuals, just a shame they were said by British tourists who should of probably been Sectioned let alone allowed out on holiday.
Finally, if the rumour is true that a British tour operator hasnt paid this hotel for the clients that have stayed there so far then you should be disgusted by your actions and pay your bills, maybe then they might be able to fine tune and improve your clients stay even more.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just got back from summer dream hotel and had a good time. 2 adults 2 kids room was typical greek . basic although did have sink and fridge and a/c in room (tv but only has bbc world news , and we dont go away to watch tv) PLEASE DO NOT BELIEVE ALL THE BAD REVIEWS some people may have had a bad experience but you can get that anywhere. we met some nice people and the staff work so hard (the hotel is understaffed) as has been said you get what you pay for and i think we did. The food was of very good quality and plenty of choice (1 guest we met was a chef and he praised the meals). yes you had to reserve your sun beds but that happens everywhere and by the way the British were the worst.yes the dining room did get busy but if you timed it right there was all ways somewhere to sit (didnt really notice a problem with flies) everyone we talked to had a good time and thought the hotel was ok no one had any complaints. the beach is poor , very pebbly so we didn't bother with it but were happy to laze around the pool. if your the sort of person who doesn't like to get to know their fellow holiday makers and thinks 3 star means 5 then don't bother with this hotel , if you like people and a drink and a good laugh and don't take yourself too seriously then give it a go. Yes this hotel has a few minor problems but that didn't spoil ours or anyone elses holiday would go back if beach was better .

Room Tip: If you expect 5 star don't come here get your 5 grand out and go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.7 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
498 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
614 reviews
21.3 mi away
Thalia Hotel
Thalia Hotel
#20 of 34 in Pefkos
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Happy Days Hotel
Happy Days Hotel
#6 of 9 in Tholos
167 reviews
9.7 mi away
Evi Hotel Rhodes
Evi Hotel Rhodes
#65 of 72 in Faliraki
386 reviews
20.8 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Dream Hotel

Property: Summer Dream Hotel
Address: Theologos, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Dream Tholos
Hotel Summer Dream
Summer Dream Rhodes
Summer Dream Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing