We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had listened to the numerous negative reviews before we went”
Review of Georgia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Georgia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I researched this hotel online before we booked , but as with alot of people you tend to wonder what people are moaning about, given the amount paid for their holidays, but I have to say as a general holiday it was awful but as a honeymoon as this was it was utterly heartbreaking.
We arrived at the hotel at about 05.30 to be greeted by a very irate man shouting from the main door that there were no rooms, we got inside to be told they were overbooked, we were bundled (and that is the only way to describe it ) into the owners old BMW ant taken to another hotel out in the middle of nowhere, to be dumped in the foyer with the night watchman as they had no rooms either because the cleaners didn't get there till 08.00
By this time I was in floods of tears and wanting to go home, we waited in the foyer till about 09.30 and we were given a room, which I think was on top of a sewer as the smell was awful, we were then moved to another room, we then had a call to say someone from the Georgia would be coming to pick us up at 6pm, we again sat in the foyer from 6pm to 7pm waiting, we were picked up and taken to the Georgia where we had a drink and went to bed as that was the first time we were able to sleep since 9pm the previous night.
Everything seemed to go ok for a while, but my husband sat on one of the plastic chairs on the balcony and it gave way, hitting his head on the wall on the way down, the owners son accused us of 'playing ' on the chair and charged us 15 Euro's to replace it, please bear in mind that both myself and my husband are in our 50's !
The atmosphere with this family was very uncomfortable, we tried very hard to keep ourselves to ourselves but the incidents just kept coming, we were called liars by the cleaner in front of all the other guests when I very politely asked for clean towels (as we hadn't had a clean one in 5 days)
It became unbearable, so we hired a car for our remaining time, ate our breakfast and then went out for the day, returning for the evening meal and a quick drink and then back up to our room to watch our one and only tv channel.
The island of Rhodes is absolutely beautiful and we travelled all around it, stopping at fantastic beaches and looking round the history laden towns, that part of the holiday was fab.
Shame about the hotels owner and family !

Room Tip: Suck up to the owners son and maybe buy him a couple of drinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChrisAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have never experienced such poor service at a Hotel. Made to feel like a complete burden to the so called 'staff' - I ended up cleaning out ash trays myself - and after politely returning some glasses as I ordered something else was then refused any drinks thereafter until I gave them back a blasted beaker in return. I never once saw any staff collect a glass or empty an ash tray. The TV has no sound, and only one silent channel - and the phone is there, but surprise, surpise it's broken. I asked the miserable owner to fix this and he walked away and laughed. Pretty much sums the place up - a joke. Coffee and other drinks served from a faded (god knows how ancient) Plastic Beaker - which I thought as a paying guest I had moved up the scale since I was erm, about 3 years old. Refused Coffee at 9:20 as the miserable owner looks at her watch, whilst I point out the clock on the wall, which reads 9:20 not 30, the cut off point - but alas I wasn't going to beg her to give me a refill of the frankly disgusting coffee. Food was terrible, pasta, potatoes, beetroot, diced raw onion & processed meat (if you're lucky) as it's cheap carb overload. It was literally the same food day in, day out. Don't be fooled by the much hyped BBQ on a Friday this is exactly the same menu as mon, tuesday, wednesday, thursday, saturday but with a load of fatty, charred indescribable meat thrown in the end tray. My friend and I, decided to indulge in the vinegar wine one night and after returning to the bar to get another couple of glasses was rudely questioned by the Bar Man 'haven't you had enough? as if I was reaching behind the bar and helping myself (would have got better service this way) but of course he was more polite when after 11 we paid for his poor quality 'cocktails' which sadly after a long day of draft lemonade, 'coke', watered down orange juice, mediocre Beer or acidic Wine - seemed like a godsend. As for the poor location if it wasn't for the good company of my friend, I may have tried to swim across the water to turkey. Where incidentally I paid half the price of this all inclusive and received better food, drink and above all hospitality for my money. So my advice to you 'Stay Away'

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacksonboulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We thought the hotel was very nice, clean, although maid only came once in a week. The all inc is as described on other reviews, no drinks outside 11-11, breakfast was lovely, large selection of hot/cold food. Lunch also quite nice, evening meal though was just not substantial enough, the owner does watch you when you come to the meat section (one type of meat that differed each night), whilst he didn't say anything to us for going back for seconds, we did see him shout at a man who went for a second piece of beef. I found the family very pleasant, think the watching is more to ensure everyone gets something, although they should cater for this, can't expect a grown man to just have one piece of meat on his holidays! We would have evening meal for a starter then go into the 'resort' for tea at either Mike's or Billy's, which were both lovely. There are about 5 places in the resort for food and drink, but perfectly lovely. It was too quiet for us, we went to Faliraki by taxi one night which was good. We also saw the butterfly valley and Rhodes Old Town, which were both excellent days out. I just wish the travel agent would have given us the 'truth' before we went, as the hotel was perfectly acceptable, but for all inc, we ended up spending over a grand whilst we were there and we could have budgeted/saved up better beforehand.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephiesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

well we were a bit worried cus of the reviews but took the chance and loved it every 1 has there opinion on places that they stay at but this was just right 4 us was pleased 2 get a room with a double bed lovely and clean towels were changed twice a week the family pete georgia and lucus and all the others were very friendly if we needed anything ie toilet rolls ect we only had to ask we found food was ok 4 what we paid all i can say 2 the people who moan is if u want better book a hotel say in lindos and pay for 5 star the family worked very hard and we will give them 10 out of 10 for there work rate as 4 pete watching every 1 get it right folks we felt some people we taking advantage by getting 3 or more platefulls each session also pete was clearing the tables and making sure they were clean ready for more people to eat at well done m8 the hotel was lovely grounds were nice would def go back mostly sutible 4 couples or familys with small children pool was great considering was so hot while we were there up to 38 , thank you georgia hotel 10 out of 10 well done from peter and jackie

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peteandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Good overall holiday.Accomodation clean and hotel and gardens immaculate. The toilet bins could do with being cleaned more often. Quiet location and not anything to do in the evenings. If you like talking to other guests this will be a great holiday for you. The other reviews are spot on about Luca and facebook. lol .The glasses are a bit of an issue but your not spending a fortune to stay here.Food is okay although there isnt a great deal of choice we did find there was something we could eat. If your fussy or wanting to lose weight go here it will work..If you like icecream then great apart from two evenings thats all you got.Iwouldt recomend going heer with young children or teenagers they will be bored, more for couples who want a quiet relaxing time round the pool and achat or a game of draughts in the evenings. We didnt choose here we were moved from another hotel but we did have a great time, met some fab people will be going back to Rhodes next year just somewhere with more going on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elljay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Lovely hotel situated on a hill above THOLOS,This is a family run hotel its clean friendly ideal for families and couples;
The food caters for vegetarians as well meals are fresh and most produce produced on land they own;
The owners are very welcoming Lucas the son works the bar and is a lovely young man he will take you to the valley of butterfly's for a small fee.
The rooms are nice but simple air con will cost you 5 euros a night good value .
We had a great holiday with temps into 38 degrees ,beach is about 400 yrds down the hill wateris luke warm;
Rhodes is a great place to visit and you can get the bus in 5 euros for two adults but beware on return buy your ticket from the woode hut at the bus station;
All in all a great hotel warm welcome and am sure one will return time and time again thank you so much PAIDRO AND FAMILY

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEV1960_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We are just back from the Georgia Hotel in Tholos. I want to be fair and honest, but this was not the hotel for us. This is not a four star hotel that some sites tell you. Maybe 2/12 at best. he owners were nice enough, but you are watched all the time especially at meal times, in case you eat too much. The program is all inclusive light, the food was edible but just that, and you will get fed up of the same few salad ingredients coming back at you .
every day. The only free alcoholic drink is beer and wine and the wine is undrinkable. God forbid you should wake up late and miss breakfast, you won't be allowed a coffee until 11 am, I know this isn't a big big deal but when you have nothing to drink in the morning, two hours is a long time to wait until you can have a coffee or tea.
Tholos is quite desolate and there really isn't a resort to go into, a couple of supermarkets selling the same old tourist tat, and a couple of bars, but nothing much is happening in them, with the exception of Dundee's which did have live music twice when we were there. The beach is horrible and littered with debris and the beach is so stony you nearly cut your feet to shreds getting in and out. We were quite bored on our holiday, nothing going on at the hotel, resorted to playing dominoes at night as there was nothing else to do!! and believe me I think dominoes is boring!! This holiday is not for people who are semi lively and like something to do in the evenings. If you want to sunbathe all day by a very small pool and have a nice chat in the evenings before going to bed a ten, then you will like it, if not go to another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lycaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Georgia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Our hotel is under new management (from winter 2016) which has fully renovated the hotel.
The Μanagement and Staff invite you to enjoy hospitable surroundings and all the pleasures of Rhodes within easy reach. with a friendly staff and atmosphere
The Georgia Hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.2 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Rhodian Sun Hotel
Rhodian Sun Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paradisi
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#7 of 126 in Rhodes Town
689 reviews
9.3 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Hotel

Address: Theologos Rhodes | Leoforos Kameirou, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Georgia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia hotel is located on the northwest side of the beautiful island of Rhodes, close to the village of Tholos (or Theologos). The beach is 400 metres away and the stunning Rhodes Town is 12 miles from the Georgia Hotel. Tholos is a relaxing and laid back resort offering a taste of traditional Greece with charming tavernas, narrow lanes, a pretty church and a soft, uncrowded sandy beach. Our hotel is ideal if you're travelling with small children. There are comfortable guest rooms at the Georgia Hotel, all have a TV, fridge and air conditioning, which will come in handy during those hot summer months. Other facilities include a swimming pool, children's pool, TV lounge, table tennis and car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Georgia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Hotel Tholos
Georgia Hotel Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing